We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing resort.. Great customer service, the 3 level pool was incredible, rooms were much bigger than expected and even included a jetted tub. free DVDs that were available to borrow from the office, even the gym had great equipment including free weights. I would definitely return and recommend this resort to anyone

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank almorgan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are so thrilled our recent guests were happy with their stay with us. Happy indeed also to hear they wish to return.

Having been open now for 8 years, we have countless return guests year after year.

And we certainly would love to count you among those special people in the Gaia family.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
162
1,038
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What an interesting hotel on a reserve on top of a hill with beautiful vistas. We upgraded from a small studio with no view to a 2 room Suite 232, which was beautiful, including its own balcony with fan and a view. Staff we're very helpful. The shuttles up and down the hill were convenient. The restaurant was excellent, including the a la carte breakfasts. Even the 3 person musical group was friendly and fun.
Be careful with taxis and get the rate beforehand. One guy charged us $20 for a short ride and the return taxi charged $8.
The pool and outdoor food/ drink service, overlooking the ocean was also relaxing. And breathtaking. Say hi to the iquana.
Disappointed they did not add points to iPrefer acct with first stay enrollment, as promised.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view if possible. Negotiate rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanking our recent guests for choosing our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Needless to say we are thrilled with their comments and look forward to their return visit.

Rest assured, we are looking into the iprefer points as requested.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What can I say but thank you to the staff at Gaia for a wonderful experience. Fabulous staff, wonderful and reasonably priced meals and my husband and I enjoyed our complimentary spa treatment. Beautiful pool and views! We will be back!

Room Tip: the superior deluxe room is worth the extra money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
The entire staff thanks our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and we welcome you back in the future with open arms.

Let us once again share the magic we have created.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was going out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. That could unfortunately not make up for the disappointing state of maintenance of the premises. Room had recently had a paintjob, nut linen was worn, bathroom is a bit of a DIY make-shift thing behind not so well sliding doors. Everything has a fatigued look, from the concrete entrance to the staff's polo shirts. Kitchen needs a good spring cleaning, all breakfast tasted of old fat. Restaurant as a whole os just mediocre. I cannot understand this venue is marked #2 in the area. If Gaia sets the standard, there must be a major business oppporrunity for another hotel entrepeneur. Prices were comparable with other hotels we stayed in CR, but the quality difference is huge, if only comparing the state of the garden

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank robertvb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are totally taken back by our recent guests posting here on this forum. During the stay, there was nothing but praise for our facility, staff, gardens, rooms, restaurant etc.
A posting like this is quite out of the ordinary based upon countless reviews and we are mystified as to the reason it was written.

I can say that the owners personally inspected the room and all the references made to the room in question was in perfect condition without flaw.

We wonder why if indeed there was any issue whatsoever it was not addressed during the guests stay. The time period of the residency would have afforded them an upgrade to a different room category.

A sad posting indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We enjoyed our room, the pool, The Spa, the included daily breakfast and the convenient shuttle to the beach. The service is very attentive and personal. We liked it, but if you like more privacy or feeling more anonymous at a bigger hotel then this might not be a great fit. While we thought overall food on Costa Rica was only so-so, the food at Gaia was excellent. So don't feel bad about eating in! The view from the restaurant is the best in the entire property. One more word of advice - do some shopping around when it comes to tours/excursions off the property. We got a better deal using a zip line that wasn't offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are very glad you chose us and we are delighted that your stay with us met all of your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you once again and thank you for sharing your experience with other readers of this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

a beautiful and restful hotel..outstanding property and wonderful people. excellent spa as well. I would stay here again --great view also. the pools are very nice and not crowded. a good deal also for spa and food

Room Tip: all of them are very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We would like to thank our recent guests for their 5 star review of our hotel.

We acknowledge that there are choices for accommodation in the Manuel Antonio area and we thank you for having chosen our 5 star Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Costa Rica. It was an adventure by day and then to return to our oasis called Gaia at night was just what we wanted. Clean, cool, luxurious and relaxing! The wildlife on site was great to see.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite and absolutely loved it. The infinity pool was incredible. It's the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARJACK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanking our recent guests for having choose us for their vacation in Costa Rica.

We are leased that your experience with us was relaxing with a twist of luxury. We certainly pride ourselves on being able to accommodate all of our guests needs and desires and it appears we succeeded with you.

thank you for taking the time to share with others your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,406 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
516 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing