We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an exquisite place to experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gaia for four nights in early May and had a fantastic stay. From the initial contacts through email with Geo and Sandy, to the nature tours with Saul (he's amazing!), to the 2 hour spa treatment with Milton, to the personalized concierge experience with Alcides, everything was purely and simply excellent!! Gaia was kind enough to pick us up from the airport, drop us off at the Saturday morning farmer's market in Quepos, bring our luggage back to the hotel for us and then return to Quepos after lunch to retrieve us so we could check into the hotel at the time they state in all of their information, all for a very small and reasonable fee.

Because this was the beginning of the rainy season, we got a deal by using our Amex card for one night free with the purchase of three nights and stayed in the smallest of all rooms, which actually was not all that small. At no point in time did I ever feel like we were treated as a "discounted" customer due to the deal we took advantage of. As everyone comments on in their reviews and we can attest to as well, the service is extraordinary. We ate at the restaurant on site (all but the last night we were there) and each meal was delicious and well-prepared. The steep, but very doable walks from our room to the restaurant were actually a welcome way to stretch and get my body moving after eating such luxurious meals. The view of the sunset from the dining area was stunning! My only one small complaint was that the live band, who were fantastic, were just a little bit too loud for my tastes at times.

We were hoping to run into one of the owners as many people mention in their reviews. I wanted to let them know just how impressed we were with what they have created, but unfortunately, we never got to meet them. However, we did meet one of the owner's mothers with her cute dog, Tarzan, at breakfast which was really very sweet. They were great ambassadors for Gaia!

I have done many trips were I wanted to keep in perpetual motion, which is very possible with your stay at Gaia because they have activities galore to choose from. However, due to serious health issues, this trip was more about relaxing, storing up energy and creating positive memories. No one at Gaia would have any way of knowing just how important it was to me to have a luxurious time on this short getaway for me. I'd like to thank everyone mentioned above as well as Alexander, Carlos, Fabio, Alber, Jesus, Jeffrey, Randall, Joshua, John B, David, Efren and Jose for making this a wonderfully memorable trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Wow....what a wonderful review by some wonderful guests.

We are truly humbled by the kind words you have said.

The entire staff thanks you and misses you!! Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

Please come back so we can once again share the magic we have created here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was perfect. The staff was so helpful and friendly! All the food was amazing and the rooms very nice! We saw lots of wild animals on the property each day, and the views from our room, the pool, and the restaurant were spectacular! I couldn't see us having more fun anywhere else! We picked a great place and we will definitely be back! We would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We with to thank our recent honeymoon guests for choosing our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We now there are choices out there and we thank them for allowing us to show them an experience of a lifetime.

Thank you for your kind referrals and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Loved it! We will definitely be back.
The restaurant is amazing, the service is super attentive, the experience ia totally wonderful.
My wife and I have visited several top-tier hotels in our three visits to Manuel Antonio, and this is the best.
The superlatives abound! Cocktails, restaurant food and service, views, pools, accommodations, cleanliness - everything is excellent. Seriously, just fkucing fantastic. Be sure to book the nature tour.

This is perhaps an overused phrase, but... HIGHEST POSSIBLE RECOMMENDATION. seriously.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SinCabeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so very much for your superlative review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are truly blessed with our staff and they ore our best kept secret. Without them our mission at Gaia could not be achieved.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing resort.. Great customer service, the 3 level pool was incredible, rooms were much bigger than expected and even included a jetted tub. free DVDs that were available to borrow from the office, even the gym had great equipment including free weights. I would definitely return and recommend this resort to anyone

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank almorgan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so thrilled our recent guests were happy with their stay with us. Happy indeed also to hear they wish to return.

Having been open now for 8 years, we have countless return guests year after year.

And we certainly would love to count you among those special people in the Gaia family.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What an interesting hotel on a reserve on top of a hill with beautiful vistas. We upgraded from a small studio with no view to a 2 room Suite 232, which was beautiful, including its own balcony with fan and a view. Staff we're very helpful. The shuttles up and down the hill were convenient. The restaurant was excellent, including the a la carte breakfasts. Even the 3 person musical group was friendly and fun.
Be careful with taxis and get the rate beforehand. One guy charged us $20 for a short ride and the return taxi charged $8.
The pool and outdoor food/ drink service, overlooking the ocean was also relaxing. And breathtaking. Say hi to the iquana.
Disappointed they did not add points to iPrefer acct with first stay enrollment, as promised.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view if possible. Negotiate rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanking our recent guests for choosing our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Needless to say we are thrilled with their comments and look forward to their return visit.

Rest assured, we are looking into the iprefer points as requested.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What can I say but thank you to the staff at Gaia for a wonderful experience. Fabulous staff, wonderful and reasonably priced meals and my husband and I enjoyed our complimentary spa treatment. Beautiful pool and views! We will be back!

Room Tip: the superior deluxe room is worth the extra money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleneBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The entire staff thanks our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and we welcome you back in the future with open arms.

Let us once again share the magic we have created.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Staff was going out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. That could unfortunately not make up for the disappointing state of maintenance of the premises. Room had recently had a paintjob, nut linen was worn, bathroom is a bit of a DIY make-shift thing behind not so well sliding doors. Everything has a fatigued look, from the concrete entrance to the staff's polo shirts. Kitchen needs a good spring cleaning, all breakfast tasted of old fat. Restaurant as a whole os just mediocre. I cannot understand this venue is marked #2 in the area. If Gaia sets the standard, there must be a major business oppporrunity for another hotel entrepeneur. Prices were comparable with other hotels we stayed in CR, but the quality difference is huge, if only comparing the state of the garden

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank robertvb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We are totally taken back by our recent guests posting here on this forum. During the stay, there was nothing but praise for our facility, staff, gardens, rooms, restaurant etc.
A posting like this is quite out of the ordinary based upon countless reviews and we are mystified as to the reason it was written.

I can say that the owners personally inspected the room and all the references made to the room in question was in perfect condition without flaw.

We wonder why if indeed there was any issue whatsoever it was not addressed during the guests stay. The time period of the residency would have afforded them an upgrade to a different room category.

A sad posting indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £172 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing