We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with tons to do”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay with tons to do”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This ended up being our last stay on our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the beach and the boogie boards and kayaks that were available to all of the guests. The water was fairly wavy, at least compared to our previous stops, so it made for some fun time in the water. There are animals all around the property so it made walking around this fairly steeply inclined property more entertaining. Upon arriving we met Danny who would be our personal concierge. He gave us his cell phone number and told us to call him with anything we needed. We ended up using him to set up an ATV tour, spa treatment and various restaurant reservations. He was incredibly reliable and seemed to genuinely care about our stay at the villas. Be prepared for a good amount of uphill/downhill walking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Nick P. Thank you for reviewing and staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. I’m glad Danny on the spot was there to provide everything you needed while you stayed with us! Yes, as we get deep in to our Green season the waves do tend to get larger none the less our cove is relatively calm and Dave is always there to watch over our guests! Congratulations on your wedding! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    120
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
622
334
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The property is one of the best I've stayed in - the staff is fantastic and they can organize an amazing trip. The villas are spectacular and every view is stunning. Wildlife is everywhere - all 3 species if monkeys in Costa Rica (in large troops), both two and three toed sloths and iguanas and birds everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you Mary A for review and staying at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar! Glad we were able to organize a “fabulous experience” for you! Future guests coming to CR for the first time we are happy and very able to create your experience from landing to take off just ask us, Lisa is the best! Thanks again Mary and we hope you come back! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unfortunately this place has several different names - I just reviewed it under "Tulemar". At any rate, it's an awesome place. Best thing about it is the amazing service. We stayed in a two bedroom place that was pretty epic. The beach is lovely too. If I go back to Costa Rica, I'm basically going to base everything out of here. About the only thing they could improve on is the Wi-Fi which is pretty hit and miss during normal waking hours. Works fine in the middle of the night, but...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing us Jack R and thank you for staying and enjoying with us! We have no control over the Wifi as that is a service we contract for in order to provide for our guests. Admittedly infrastructure here in CR is not the same as in the US- anyway WiFi is so bad for your health, better to be outside with us away from you mobile devices. Thank you again, Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We finished out our honeymoon here and cannot say enough good things. From the moment we arrived on the property, the staff took amazing care of us. Our personal concierge Danny made us dinner reservations and gave us his cell phone number to use 24/7. Viviana at the front desk was so accommodating and friendly. The shuttle drivers (woo Joshua!) will pick you up and take you anywhere in the expansive property--which is good because the hills are huge.

The restaurant and infinity pool overlook a beautiful view of the Pacific, as did our villa number 303--the best one! It was so spacious yet cozy, luxurious yet homey. The maid did an amazing job, even doing our dishes if we didn't get to them.

The private beach is so much fun with boogie boards and kayaks to borrow. The beach bartenders even bring you drinks and set up umbrellas for you. Again, phenomenal service.

There is no shortage of monkeys here. This was awesome.

If we were rich we'd hands down buy a villa here. I genuinely miss the staff now that we are back in the states. We loved Buena Vista! Go here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larkin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Well Larkin K after a review like that I’d say you definitely have to come back! Kids next time? Congratulations too! Thank you for reviewing and staying with us and to answer your review after I just added to the last review that we are perfect for love birds, Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited with two kids (10 and 13) and we all loved our time at Tulemar! Service, accomodations, grounds, food and staff were all incredible!! Really a great place to take kids, lots of wildlife and beach was really nice. Several pools were also clean and inviting. We have traveled a lot and both kids said Tulemar and Quepos were their favorite destination:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBecker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you CBecker23! You covered the bases and we thank you for reviewing and staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. Only thing I would add to your review is we’re great for love birds too! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are a family of four. We spent 8 nights here and it was spectacular. It's a very small place with only about a dozen villas. You get to know most of the other people in the villas when meeting at the main pool & restaurant/bar. The view from the room windows is breathing!!! Not to mention all the wildlife all over the villa grounds! Howlers, Sloths, Spider Monkeys all over! The property landscaping alone would be reason to stay here! You are literally living in the middle of a rain forrest! Manuel Antonio State Park is literally 15 minutes away. The walk to the front entrance is only 5 minutes away where you come to a street full of restaurants and even 2 supermarkets. I probably didn't need more than 5-6 nights there but I wasn't complaining on the last day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is lower down to the ocean. I was in Room 114 which was perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PositivePest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you PositivePest for reviewing us and staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar! Little explanation for future guests- the hotel is Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas and we are roughly a little more than 40 units comprised of Standard rooms, One Bedroom Villas, Bungalows and two and three bedroom Premium Villas. We are set in the 33 acres of Tulemar Gardens where there are a number of private homes. Those 33 acres are meticulously maintained which both guests and wildlife appreciate. Beyond that we are perfectly situated in the heart of the hotel zone on the prime road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio making us moments from tours, beaches, stores and restaurants. Thank you again and Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the moment of arrival until signing out and heading to the airport, everything was spectacular. Our concierge Danny happily greeted me upon arrival and gave me a tour of the beautiful property. He had Luis the driver handle all my luggage and then walked me thru resort, introducing some staff members.

I must say walking thru this spacious property I couldn't get over the cleanliness and the other wordly views.

Danny took me to my room and informed me he would be escorting the rest of our party's arrival later in the day and that he would be there for us all week 24/7 for any needs. He definitely came through on that promise. He even went so far as to buy a cake for one of our group's 40th birthday dinner. A positive energy and resource throughout the trip.

Danielle and Arlen the bartenders, Luis and Joshua the drivers along with many other staff and reception were out of this world. Danny set up our water rafting and zip line tours which were both awesome as well.

The view from our room 206 Buena Vista suite was amazing. The beach was wonderful, secluded, tropical and just took your breath away


Thanks again for a bucket list trip that exceeded all my expectations and made me want to come back again. Next time I plan on spending some time at Arenal and Fortuna hot springs at Tabacon and more time at Tulemar. Hopefully all the same wonderful staff will be there. Pura Vida!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
ChrisHarte, Thank you for the review and for staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. We strive to make each guest feel welcome and “on vacation” when you stay with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed Buena Vista del Sol! Thanks again! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Property: Tulemar Resort
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Tulemar Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing