We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Killer view”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a lovely and good value backpacker option in Manuel Antonio which is filled with options but can be quite expensive if you're on a budget. The dorms are nice, if a little pokey but comfortable and clean as are the bathrooms. The great thing is that there's only four people to a dorm so small is good. You have options with and without air con as well as privates. Breakfast of toast and jam is included and in the high season the restaurant is open which is run by the son of the owner who is a chef and apparently makes great pizza. We were there in low season and unfortunately didn't get to sample the the pizza. The view is hard to beat and great for sunset beers. Location wise it's also perfect. The owners are lovely as is Conrad, their son who runs the joint well. They can also hook you up with a fantastic local (bilingual) guide, Henry, who can take you through Manuel Antonio and you will see so much more wildlife than if you just walk through it yourself. A great option in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    107
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
104
118
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wow... What can I even begin to say. The view is what completely sold it for me. Manuel Antonio was actually one of our very last stops (I was traveling with a close friend of mine) on our trip to Costa Rica but my goodness can you say, we saved the best for last? Oh you beat it! We spent two nights in Manuel Antonio, one at the other hostel right next door and Vista Serena because we wanted to be able to get the full experience. The location is incredible, settled on a hill where the sunsets tend to be killer. It was a bit of a distance from the actual beach but we would walk into town and then catch the 35 something cent bus back up to the hostel. Completely worth the money, very reasonable, close to a super market, the staff was very welcoming and friendly. Allowed for us to keep our bags in a safe location even after we checked out while we went to the national park.
We were a younger crowd (early 20's) and the night we stayed at the hostel happened to be a much older group but that didn't bother us any because it was our second to last night of a 3 week trip and we were winding down so it was a perfect calm, quite, night. We stayed in the 18 man bunk room and actually had it all to ourselves which was awesome. Everything was clean, there was hot water, and it supplied a very relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

One of my favorite hostels!
The location is great, just 250m downhill from the bus station. If you dont mind the hills, you can walk everywhere from here or just catch the bus to the beach, Quepos or the park.
I stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom (with one other double room) in a separate bungalow with its own kitchen, living room and terrace. Very comfy and clean, water was always hot. The best part of vista Serena is definitely the view from the large common area terrace though - its spectecular especially in the evenings for sunsets. The terrace had lots of tables, chairs and hammocks and you just wanted to relax their all day and chat with others in the evening. almost no need to leave unless you dont want to cook (like me) but then you can easily walk to the countless restaurants in the area. Also booked a kayak trip thorugh the mangroves with Jason (who is friends with Andres from reception): a great afternoon trip with lots of animals.
stay here if you are on a budget in Manual Antonio: great rooms, great location, great people!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Okay this was my second time in a hostel; my first time was in central costa rica and that hostel was 5 star so going into this I expected something similar since this was so highly rated. Well, we went inside and the staff was quite pleasant and when they took us to the room there was a SNAKE in the living room! He got the snake out and offered us $10 off a night for the scare. I went into the "air conditioned" bedroom and no cold air come out! That was not AC! So they offered to let us stay up the road for the same price in the house. We obliged and I asked for a mattress or something since it only had one bed. He agreed but never brought it so I ended us sleeping on the couch. Other than that everything was good. There was no AC here unfortunately but it was a house and much much roomier. The other people never came so we had the entire place to ourselves. The water pressure was quite low but this is a hostel not a 5 star hotel so it was acceptable. Still, not near as nice as the other hostel we stayed at which was cheaper. Next time I will DEFINATELY be paying extra to stay at a resort, especially since this is the best hostel in town they say. For a hostel tho, this is pretty decent, if you dont mind ants crawling all over the floor LOL. Sorry, not a Ritz Carleton or even a motel 6 for that matter LOL.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just wanted to say if you are looking for a a nice relaxed chilled environment, stay here. The owner conrad was a awesome guy and extremely helpful. We stayed here with a party of 6, and we were suppose to only stay for three days and go to jaco for a few days but we loved it here so much we stayed, rooms were very clean and nice, and it had a amazing view of the ocean and the sunsets were incredible. Also we meet some amazing people form around the world, even though it rained alot in the evenings we would all get together and play games and drink, so dont overlook this place, you will have a good time here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I missed out on seeing several sights on my Costa Rica itinerary because I couldn't leave this place. It's truly a budget hostel consisting of simple bunks in ordinary rooms but it comes equipped with the most welcoming staff, best view and atmosphere of any hostel you'll ever find. I'm so beguiled by this wonderful hostel, I'm returning in a few months to stay for a week or two.
The bus stop is close and fare to the beach is about 65 cents U.S. There's a great little restaurant called Soda Angel at the top of the hill that's affordable, local and very tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyc169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Located about midway between the town of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park, Vista Serena is a wonderful great value lodging option. The place is clean, the kitchens well-equipped, and it is perched on a hill overlooking the ocean with a perfect view. This is a great place to enjoy the sunset and meet other like-minded travelers from all over the world. The staff is friendly and helpful and offered us plenty of tips and ideas for how to spend our time while we were visiting.

Room Tip: Keep your door closed to cut down on the amount of bugs in your building, this is Costa Rica after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Property: Hostel Vista Serena
Address: Mts North Of the Manuel Antonio Public School 150, Manuel Antonio 00011, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing