We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Manuel Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Vista Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great stay in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had a great stay in Manuel Antonio. The sunset was spectacular on the pacific ocean, there's hammocks and cooking tools and 2 freezer. The staff was super great! I f you want to go the the beach (or the Parc) there's shuttle for 1$ every 30 minutes, pretty convenient. Know that haft of the Parc are now close for renovation, there's only the main track open.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    108
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
22
104
118
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Wow, by far my favorite hostel in Costa Rica thus far!!!
Such good vibes!
The place has a great location on the hill just a bit away from the downtown/central craziness and it only cost c300 to take the bus downtown to the beach or the main restaurants/ park. The hostel is situated in a place where you can see the sun setting perfectly at night. Its great to just relax in one of the hammocks and take in the spectacular views surrounded by really chill people. I also loved waking up to a rooster crowing in the morning. Very Costa Rican style.

They have Free coffee all day and Toast with Jelly in the morning for breakfast. I just added some peanut butter to mine and also had lunch ready for that day.
Good people stay there. You don't have to worry about your stuff getting stolen.
Great WiFi and super clean rooms with Fans! It was just perfect for my time in Manuel Antonio.
The hostel is only a 5 minute walk away from the bus stop/ the local mini mart. The mini mart has fresh fruit, bread, alcohol and other necessities.They have a great restaurant on site with really tasty affordable food also.

If you want a chill relaxing place with good energy and really good people I would say this is the best place to stay. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and would HIGHLY recommend this hostel to anyone going to stay in Manuel Antonio!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the whole place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very clean, extremely helpful staff, extremely peaceful view with hammocks and common area where I met incredible friends from all over the world. Staff had amazing recommendations, the bus stop is only about a 5 minute walk away, awesome security, and even a smoothie bar! Loved this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caldwraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great place for backpackers!
This place has the best sun set view ....
Cheap and easy bus transportation to the park and to quepos town!
My favorite part was to have sunset beers with home made nachos at the hostel! But they have a restaurant also!

Room Tip: They have different options, privates have ocean view like balcony, but the dorms have a comun area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was there with my daughter and had a great time with other customers, music, good healthy drinks, great food, fish, burritos, and casados. I took my niece, her three children and my daughter for dinner twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at Vista Serena in Manuel Antonio Jan 31st-Feb 1st with 10 of my friends. I booked this location a few days in advance and I could already tell I made the right choice when I spoke to Jemila. She was very sweet and so accommodating to my large group. We arrive earlier than check-in and they allowed us to lock up our things while we hit the beach. The vibe was perfect there; music playing constantly, views were spectacular, and the employees were as sweet as can be. We stayed in a large 18 bed dorm ($11/night) and despite the amount of people in the room it was very clean! We were given towels to shower with free of charge. The beach/national park was only a short 10 minute bus ride (285 colones). At night there was a security officer on premise and we were given wrist bands to ensure no unwelcome guests could walk in. I felt very safe there. In the morning there was coffee, toast, and jam. I wish we had stayed another night!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Manuel Antonio. Vista Serena has a very very friendly group of staff, almost all of which are English speaking which is convenient. The hostel organizes plenty of tours around the area and even exchanges USD. The facilities are fairly clean, but not the best. What you pay for is the view and atmosphere. Plenty of young backpacker guests and perfect for meeting people. The view is simply amazing. From 3 places: hammocks, eating Area or one of the private rooms, which is what we had ($60/night with shared bathroom and kitchen with one other 3 bed private room). It was a little on the pricey side for us travellers but the view from atop the mountain overlooking the jungle and ocean (facing west for sunsets) was worth it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vista Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vista Serena

Property: Hostel Vista Serena
Address: Mts North Of the Manuel Antonio Public School 150, Manuel Antonio 00011, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is nestled into the heart of the jungle in Manuel Antonio center with a breathtaking ocean and sunset view over the green canopy. From very affordable dormitory bunk beds to slightly more luxurious private rooms with ocean view- we have it all and it all comes with a free continental breakfast in the morning! The common terrace area has hammocks for lounging and reading a book or just taking a snooze amongst the squawks of scarlet macaws and the touch of the ocean breeze. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen and TV lounge with cable and dvds to watch. The spread out set up of the cabins allows us to be both family friendly and also party friendly, bringing together a unique combo of the two. Just remember at Hostel Vista Serena we host the fun!! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Vista Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Serena Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hostel Vista Serena Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing