We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great view”
Review of Hotel Coco Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coco Beach
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really great view”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The hotel itself is not the greatest, but the views it offers are very nice. The great thing about the hotel is that its within walking distance to the beach and pretty safe. We woke up to some monkeys which was great. The owner Anita let us use her kitchen which was neat,but everything else was just average. The pool was not that great, but then again you are walking distance to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIPAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    55
    42
    48
See reviews for
33
104
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Dirty, rundown place, swimming pool a swamp, overpriced rooms. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

It was one of the cheapest places available - maybe the cheapest - at the time we were there. We had a reservation at a nicer place, but we couldn't find it in the rainstorm and just went with whatever place we randomly chose on the street.

The staff was nice, but mostly didn't interact with us unless we talked to them first, which is totally fine and everything. Anita - the owner - was pretty good with advice about where to go and what to see. When we met other locals who knew her, the reaction was usually the same, that she's very interesting and memorable. It's clear she works hard and it seems she treats her staff well.

It's walking distance to everything you want to see there, so that's great. It is not the place for travelers who want to be pampered, but if you're in Manuel Antonio, you're going to spend every day on the beach - not in your room, so it was perfectly fine for me and my wife for that purpose.

The cleanliness rating is fairly low not because of any problem with cleaning staff, it more has to do with the fact that these kind of old buildings that lie between the rain forest and beach are hard to keep spotless.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jylze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Do not be tempted, as we were, by the hotel's proximity to the entrance to the beach at Manuel Antonio, nor by the attractive appearance of its exterior. I would give this a "1" rating except that the staff was very friendly and very considerate of our need for a room at the last minute, and that "terrible" is probably too severe. They also allowed us to keep the room beyond check-out time, without an extra charge, to coincide with our bus departure. The bed was comfortable enough, the shower was clean and there was plenty of water, the room seemed clean enough, and there was air conditioning. We were told there was TV, but the upper building apparently has no cable service. There had been a refrigerator in the room (it had been removed for some reason), but there was a small, and very dangerous looking gas stove (?). In addition, the property is simply not safe. There were large cracks in the door and only one pathetic lock. We had to keep all our money and passports with us when we left, as there was no safe; what an inconvenience at the beach! The area around the hotel is poorly lit at night. The upper building (with great views of the ocean, by the way) is accessible only by an incredibly steep and dangerous series of steps up through the jungle (unless you have a car and can drive around to the back entrance). There is a very small pool behind the upper building, but it needs a serious scrubbing. The only people to whom I can recommend this hotel would be surfers looking for an inexpensive place to crash - - but there are cheaper cabins along the beach for that.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition of room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Be careful of this hotel!!!!! The owner is a very unpleasant lady!!!!!!!!!! She treated us very badly (and that is an understatement) on our honeymoon, so just think how she would treat “regular" customers. We rented a room there and got stuck in the room because of the bad maintenance of the place. The handle of the door was stuck and there was no way to get out (the room is isolated). I managed to break out of the room after 2 hours and fixed the lock because I'm very technical (even though I didn't have to). Then we went to the owner and instead of compensating us she started screaming and shouting at us without even understanding what just happened.

To make a long story short: DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty hotel.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank screengigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We booked the hotel pretty well in advance of our trip over Christmas and New Year. It was a busy time for Manuel Antonio. The staff was very friendly, and the owner, Annette, picked us up from the airport. We got a nice room with the basics - hot water, a TV, AC, a bed, cleanliness. It was fine. We also opened our door to a fantastic view. You should definitely request a room on the hill, on the second floor, if possible. Those are the rooms with the views. The rooms at the bottom of the hill don't have views, but they looked nice inside.

There was no breakfast included in our package. The restaurant there is ok, not the greatest. We ended up eating 3/4 of the time at Soda Sanchez in Quepo, which was AMAZING. There really is NO reason to eat anywhere else in Manuel Antonio than at Soda Sanchez - breakfast, lunch or dinner. We even ate at one of the chicken places near the big grocery store which was good and cheap.

Hotel Coco Beach was nice, and it was very close to the park, the beach, and the bus stop. There are so many places along the road in Manuel Antonio that you could shop around. We didn't see the other rooms, and if we go back, we might check out somewhere else. But for $90/night in that area, on a hill with a view of the ocean and the Park, it was a good deal.

  • Liked — Budget, great location to the beach and Park, easy access to the bus to Quepo, nice staff
  • Disliked — Not too much - just a budget-option hotel.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justyndm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2007

Their website is in complete contrast to the real thing. We felt awful staying here.
When we made reservations on the phone, We were told rates included taxes, hot water, breakfast and ocean view. When we got there, we were given a pitiful room (this was all they had) with promises of a different room in the morning. The room had no view, no TV; Lumpy beds with stale sheets & towels. Worse, stashed away in the bathroom were someone's soap and shampoo. This should never have happened because we had RESERVATIONS!
The next morning, we moved to a different room, which was more expensive and worse. The room had no walls. Only glass from floor to roof, covered by curtains, so we had no privacy. To get the 'ocean view', you had to stand on the narrow balcony outside ur room, which is where all rooms open to.
The bathroom had glass walls covered with curtains (on one side only, so we could never have anyone else in the room). The shower was the equivalent of a tap mounted 7ft high on the wall. No hot water. Again the sheets and towels were stale.
The person who made took our reservations had miraculously disappeared for the weekend, leaving us his mother to negotiate with. Everytime we tried to ask her why we were promised something and given something very different, she would get all distressed and say she did not want to fight!
The hotel grounds were messy. We got an unreasonable bill for the simple breakfast. And at the end, taxes were extra! We felt cheated and stayed at different place as soon as we could.
We would not recommend anyone staying there. Not even for $20 a night (we paid 70.) Awful experience.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank RaveNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#42 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Beach

Property: Hotel Coco Beach
Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coco Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Beach Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing