We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mandarina
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Plaza Yara(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)
US$231
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Faro Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$356
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Colina(Manuel Antonio)
US$67
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$582
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
123
139
37
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
139
37
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadnational parkpool area and breakfastno wifi in the roomscosta ricabus stopthe location is perfectbreakfast was deliciousmanuel antonio parkrestaurants within walking distanceel avionevery morningsmall poolcapuchin monkeysmandarinelorenaquepos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a very good hotel: few rooms, swimming pool, snookers and fitness equipment (a little bit old, yes), breakfeast outside surrounded by trees, very clean rooms and calm... and not very expensive for the area. + the supermarket just in front open every day AND best restaurants around. You really need to go there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel was decent but nothing extravagant. Lorena, the receptionist/clerk, was very welcoming and helpful. I have to admit, even though the place was a little run down, I found that I grew to like it. It had a bit of a quirky feel with the odd setup of stairs in our room. Grocery store right across the street, good restaurants withing walking distance, and bus stop just across the street. Beach is a 5 minute bus ride away. Went to the national park in the morning and by 1pm it was getting crowded and too hot. We headed back to the hotel to enjoy the afternoon by the pool. We had the pool to ourselves and were able to watch a sloth climbing a tree for over an hour. Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank key0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

After a bad start to our stay in Manuel Antonio...we went to the tour desk next to Mandarina to ask for some advice for a new hotel. The tour desk took us to reception and we were so happy to have stumbled to a cute boutique hotel. We found the rooms to be modern, comfortable and clean. The staff were super friendly with great recommendations of things to do and where to eat. It was a great location...great places to eat within a short walk, supermarket and atm across the road and bus stop just outside. The pool and recreation area was great after a day of activities and we even saw a sloth! Breakfast was yummy and served till late. We thought this was a grest hotel and excellent value for money. Ps..for those reading about Lots of steps...we didnt have a problem. There are about 20 in total!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good location- close to amenities, several restaurants and the bus stop.
Room was very clean and good size. We had some difficulties operating our shower.
Nice roof terrace with good sized pool
Good breakfast as long as you don't want a buffet
Friendly staff who speak good English. Made excellent recommendations for activities. Definitely recommend staying here
Near a busy road but no problems with road noise at all

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBritton2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you want to sleep under ground - our room "K" was under ground, had a dehumidifier and AC - but here is the problem: You can not run these when not there, so when you do come, it takes hours for these to get the room near to being comfortable. Awful awful, they are so loud you can not sleep, but it's too humid and hot to turn them off. Steps (many) to go down to your room, the pictures online are really a stretch - I tried to see where they took them but couldn't. This place is old and run down. WITH IN TEN MINUTES OF BEING THERE OUR FRIENDS HAD THEIR CAMERA STOLEN FROM RECEPTION: They went to tell the driver good bye and the camera was gone.... of course no one knew what happened to it. Breakfast is average but late served, steps all the way to rooms, into rooms, choose another place than this We traveled here from the US and was very disappointed - after two nights we left and went to another hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, don't stay here, remember pictures do lie, and in this case the pictures don't even come close to what your room will be like.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margie70745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tangerineTangerine, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mandarina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We would like to clarify this: The camera was not stolen in the reception. The people who lost their camera told members of the staff that on the way to the hotel they made several stops and could not remember if at some point they lost the camera. They only realized that they did not have it when they went to the room.to settle amd unpack. By then the driver that brought them to the hotel was already gone.
The receptionist had to tracked down the driver (who was booked directly by the clients) and ask him if the camera was in the car. The driver said no. The receptionist searched everywhere in the reception office and the camera was nowhere to be found.
He also called the supermarket where the couple said they made a stop and the staff there said no one had found anything.
The actual owners of the camera never said that the camera was stolen here ( because they knew there was a chance they lost it in one of the stops they made) but the friends travelling with them took upon them to do so.

Also upon departure the owners of the camera told the receptionist how grateful they were for the help they received in searching for it.
We were all sad that we could not help them even more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews