We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to Arenas Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Sometimes one romanticizes a vacation and the resort to which one visited...over the course of a year, I had hoped this wouldn't be the case...and indeed, our return trip to Arenas Del Mar,was nothing short of spectacular! The staff welcomed us as though we were family! Our suite was just as I had remembered and loved...facing the Pacific and glorious sunrises! We were treated to the best breakfasts poolside...with a side order of Spanish lessons,compliments of Ricardo! We had amazing dinners prepared by Chip Roman,of Blackfish and Mica,here in the states ...we had informative and fun filled cooking lessons,rum tastings,and coffee tastings from the staff!
My spa experience with Priscilla was just as I had remembered,only better...if that is possible!
This trip, we spent an afternoon on the resort's private beach and were rewarded with a show of dozens of Pelicans...hawks...and a staff member presenting us with freshly harvested coconuts whose milk and fruit was delicious.
At one point in the afternoon,we were approached by the security guard who asked if we would like to see a Boa Constrictor consuming an Iguana....ah,Yes! High up on a cliff near the ocean, there was this awesome sight! That was truly a once in million chance to see something so extraordinary. But, this we have found, is typical at Arenas Del Mar...the staff is always on high alert to show their guests amazing things!
At breakfast by the pool we were alerted to a huge Sloth up in a tree,there were White face monkeys, and a Squirrel monkey....but on the last day,right before we left for the airport, Erzel pointed out an Aracari...quite rare and what a wow!
The bartender,Juan Diego, delighted us with his delicious tropical infusion drinks....pairing herbs with Rum was a particular favorite.
The staff from the front desk to the waitstaff to the naturalists to the wonderful crew who shuttles you back and forth to the reception center...to a person, they are welcoming,friendly, informative,and eager to make your stay memorable.
Arenas Del Mar is truly Pura Vida!

Room Tip: All suites and rooms are excellent...we found that the 3rd level suite afforded the best privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsharnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just returned from a terrific family vacation at this property over the Thanksgiving holiday. This was the perfect compromise location for myself (who tends towards more budget, independent travel), my husband (who would rather stay home on vacation), and my eight year old daughter. The place felt luxurious without being snooty. The staff were incredibly attentive and thoughtful. They were simply amazing with children....all of the children we saw while we were there were welcomed very, very warmly. Overall, their hospitality seemed totally genuine, which I don't think I've ever experienced outside of a homestay setting. Unexpected bonus: We happened to be there on my daughter's and my own birthdays, and each day we were given in tasty birthday cake and greeted with balloon-festooned golf carts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 945KellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We selected Arenas del Mar based on its oceanfront location and Cayuga property affiliation. We were not disappointed! The property is beautiful and set naturally into the rainforest and along the ocean. The rooms are beautifully done with dark woods and simple furnishings. The bathroooms are not as sleek as what we might have expected, but were very clean and consistent with the property location. The covered balcony had amazing views and was perfect for reading during an afternoon rain, or to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening.

Having said all of that, the staff is extraordinary. They went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. It was by far one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. It would be hard to imagine a better place to stay in the Manuel Antonio area.

Room Tip: Building 3 is halfway between the ocean and the main building, with amazing views. Also, we booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is an outstanding hotel with excellent staff and some fantastic rooms.
Not much to add to existing reviews other than to say that whilst the Resturant
produces some excellent food the quantities are on the low side and may leave you wanting more.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the jacuzzi on the balcony.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidSut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

There is little that I can add to the last fabulous review, other than to state again that what makes Arenas del Mar stand out is the joyous ambiance that fills the place. Everyone who works there is happy, smiling, welcoming and greets you by name. You have to be careful what you express aloud, because the people who work there feel that it is their responsibility to make your wishes come true. From Marco, who works at the beach, Diego in the bar, Ricardo at the beach restaurant, Yahaira and Kener in the restaurant, to Alan at the front desk, Ercel, the naturalist, and most importantly Rodbin who was like a fairy godmother to us while we were there. You are taken into their embrace and you can have a perfect holiday, if you know what you want. If you want a room up on the hill, it can be yours. If you want to be down by the beach, there are accommodations there as well. We found the only weak spot to be the dinner menu, which did not have enough variety in quantity or price. We know that they are working on improving this area.
If you are driving there on your own, be forewarned that to get there you have to drive over a very steep incline. We were not sure, arriving in the rain and at night, but this is the correct way to go.
While we were there, 2 of the owners were present for the chef events , of which we attended three evenings. Jeremy Allan, in particular, could be found at all hours, talking with guests, seeking suggestions to improve the resort, and overseeing the general well-being of the guests. The staff follows his model.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The location of this architecturally outstanding resort is terrific with its unique private beach (technically public but difficult to get to if you are not staying here), proximity to Manuel Antonio Park and nearby canopy walks, zip lines and other activities. But the true value is the staff who go way beyond expectations to make every moment as pleasant as possible. This includes the concierge, the bar staff, the wait-staff (especially Yohaira), the golf cart and van drivers and even the security staff.

The breakfasts on the deck by the pool overlooking the beach were a delightful treat, with fresh rolls, fresh fruit and delicious main courses. The Guest Chef Event that took place during our visit gave us an opportunity to sample delicious upgrades proposed for the dinner offerings but we also enjoyed other area restaurants suggested by staff and others.

Since there were four in our party, we had a two-room suite with a sitting room. The moderate size bedrooms extended outdoors by the patios off each room as well as the sitting room with an additional large patio and a breathtaking view of the Pacific beach.

The only cons for us were the weak lighting in the bathrooms which made it difficult for the ladies to apply their makeup and a couple of disappointing dinner entrees but these minor issues do not justify a rating downgrade and it is obvious that the resort is working hard to resolve these minor issues.

Again, it is the warm and friendly staff attending to our every need that made our vacation so delightfully unique and we will not hesitate to return when we have the opportunity to re-visit this beautiful country and its wonderful people.

Room Tip: The view from the ocean view deluxe suite 702A was breathtaking and helped make the vacation for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed for a week in October. What an amazing place to visit. The stark contrast between the spacious accommodations and the "jungle" that was as close as your balcony door supplied an unending stream of wonders. I could spend an afternoon with my head buried in the sand or wander about the grounds to study the wildlife. The food and service is beyond compare. You need to visit. You need to make sure your kids have the experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JoeyD927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £271 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing