We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,979)
Filter reviews
1,979 results
Traveller rating
1,711
193
43
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,711
193
43
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartplayitas beachocean breeze suitetortilla makingprivate beachsustainability tourlocal snackshalloween crabsmirador restaurantcosta ricacart driverstortillaslunch restaurantlower poolnational parkpura vidamain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,979 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My Grandchildren talked about going back to Arenas for vacation this year, and they didn't have to twist my arm. Arenas del Mar is the most amazing resort hotel in Manuel Antonio that you could choose, from the beautiful beaches, delicious meals, yummy drinks (Tico Sours are a must), well appointed rooms with great beds and pillows, and the walk in showers are huge, you cannot find a better resort/hotel than ADM. The golf cart drivers, bar tenders, wait staff, front desk staff and tour guides are extremely friendly , knowledgeable and knew our names and room numbers within 2 days.

There are two restaurants at ADM, Mirador for a more formal setting and Playitas for lunch/snacks and romantic dinners. Both are open air in keeping with rainforest setting.
This year I celebrated a milestone birthday , my family, friends and most of the staff knew there was going to be A BIG SURPRISE birthday party/dinner planned for me at Playitas and executed with the utmost care to detail. I had no idea. The restaurant was decorated with soft lighting and lanterns around the perimeter, a long table set for 19 (big family and friends) was beautifully decorated with containers of fresh wildflowers setting atop a bamboo runner. Hors d'oeuvres were passed and guests could choose their own meal. What's a birthday party without cake? The pastry chef created a three tier chocolate cake with white fondant icing and handmade floral petals that was so magnificent it could be chosen for any wedding. Not done yet... Estibaliz from the staff created a memory book with many early (no wrinkles) pictures of me , mounted on recycled paper (her idea) which could be signed by well wishers. Those children who wanted to go back to ADM put on a song and dance routine to: "It's My Party and I'll Cry if I Want to", that was awesome. Yep I cried !!!

I know this was a long review although I needed to let everyone know if you are planning a honeymoon, a romantic dinner for two or a party for a group, delicious food, beautiful beach, amazing resort, superb staff or a fun place for children, book your vacation at Arenas del Mar. The staff can book tours or teach on property the importance of sustainability, local animal habitat with night tours or learn to spin a Trumpo it can all happen at this 5 Leaf Resort.

A very BIG thank you to: Gabriel, Jorge, Orlando, Ersel, Brian, William, Rodbin, Hedmi, Adrian, Alexis, Allan, Julio, Christian, Juan Pablo, Estibaliz, Yaheira, Pedro, Kener, Alex, and the entire staff for a great vacation and birthday party.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem request a first floor room. Room 301 is great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 9 nights, 10 days at Arenas Del Mar and had the most incredible experience we could have asked for! Not only was the weather superb for green season (raining only at night or early early in the am with beautiful sun during the day) but the location of this hotel is perfect. There's access to two beaches while you're in the heart of the rainforest. I had numerous friends who've been to Costa Rica tell me they did not see half the amount of wildlife I did just because of where our hotel was situated. We saw dozens of sloths and monkeys just on the grounds of the hotel (and the staff, specifically, Rodbin was amazing with helping us find the wildlife!!). Most importantly, as I'm going to reiterate other reviews, the staff were beyond friendly, helpful and amazing. They were so warm and welcoming and truly made the experience the best I could have imagined. It was also great because the hotel can set up all daytime tours for you and they have a list of activities to choose from. We did not book one activity before getting there and would do it the same way if we went again. All in all, we cannot wait to go back one day to this fabulous resort and would not stay anywhere else in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great, friendly, helpful staff. Always attentive to our needs. Very professional! Rooms are very clean. Need mosquito repellent at night. Even though there is no gym, the staff was very willing to train us in the morning with a great workout. There are inclines on the path so it is a great place to do lunges etc for a great quad and glute workout. Night hike around the hotel revealed a lot of neat critters. Red-eyed frogs were abundant. The waves are rough until after 4:00 pm. The lifeguard on the one beach was very observant. Brought my 2 boys here ages 12 and 14 and they can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Arenas Del Mar is an ideal venue to enjoy the beauty of the Pacific Slope rainforest of Costa Rica! This eco-friendly hotel is truly amazing! We flew into San Jose International at around noon and hopped a Sansa flight to the Quepos airstrip, where we were met by the Arenas Del Mar van. It was only a 15 minute ride from Quepos to the hotel, where we were greeted with a tropical cocktail and the incredibly friendly staff, then taken to our room by golf cart. Our gorgeous, ocean view suite featured a large bedroom, living room with wet bar, two full baths and a wonderful wrap-around balcony. When we walked out onto the balcony we could see and hear the waves crashing. Our suite was beautiful, with all of the personal touches, including a hot tub on the balcony that one expects from a great hotel. The view was nothing short of amazing! We sat on our balcony in the mornings, drinking great Costa Rican coffee while watching capuchin monkeys, Fiery-billed aracaris and a large variety of other local birds in the trees, with the Pacific ocean in the background.

The 12-acre hotel grounds were simply beautiful, so natural, and the wildlife was abundant. We saw Squirrel, Howler and Capuchin monkeys, both Two-toed and Three-toed sloths, agoutis, iguanas and a variety of other lizards, and being birders, were amazed at the incredible 84 species of birds (21 life birds) seen over the course of the week on the hotel grounds and in the nearby Manuel Antonio National Park! The food at the hotel restaurant was out of this world, and there is a great beach bar with full restaurant at the hotel’s private beach, a great place for lunch. The calamari is outstanding here! Oh, and the massage at the hotel spa was great!

Surprisingly, for a rain forest it was not very buggy , but do pack a can of bug spray. The weather could not have been more perfect - beautiful in the mornings and afternoons. Our visit being in late May/early June, at 4:30 in the afternoons a cooling thundershower rolled in like clockwork and was usually over with by dinner. The hotel is only a 20 minute stroll down the beach to the town of Manuel Antonio and the National Park, plus, there are a variety of superb restaurants in town. Victoria’s Italian Restaurant is not to be missed!

We cannot overstate the friendliness and professionalism of the Arenas Del Mar staff. They are a truly special group of people. Being surrounded by this kind, friendly staff made our visit quite special, and we were sad when it was time to depart Arenas del Mar.

Pura Vida, "pure life." is the law of the land in Costa Rica. Ticos, the self-proclaimed nickname for Costa Ricans, follow this lifestyle and are some of the most wonderful people on earth. We are planning a return trip, hopefully in April. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We we in room 402A and the view was stunning, but as near as we could tell, all of the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff was exceptional, the restaurant was very good. The view from the rooms was beautiful. We stayed for four nights and did not leave the property. Plenty of activities on the beach and lots of wildlife in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews