We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf drinks, private beaches, and amazing service! pura vida is alive and well at arenas del mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a long weekend and stayed in the ocean view suite. The luxurious feel of this resort is unreal! From the beginning of the golf cart escort to the welcome lobby (greeted with delicious and healthy smoothies) to the amazing staff who was very attentive yet respectful to privacy. The breakfast was the best meal I have ever had (get the breakfast burrito). I thought the pool overlooking the ocean was the most beautiful view I have ever seen until we went to the private beach, it was something out of a Dicaprio's beaches- truly isolated and peaceful. If you are looking to relax in luxury then arenas is the place for you. Absolutely coming back!- thank you all to the amazing staff and David for such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: ocean view suite is totally worth the extra money- includes a terrace with a mosaic hot tub overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 451mariahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We returned again to Arenas del Mar for a milestone birthday/family vacation celebration. It was a truly fabulous experience. Having never done a function there, we were thrilled with the outcome that the staff produced. The party, including the menu selections, cake, decorations, floral displays were outstanding. While our family and friends were there, they also had a sunset beach wedding. It was unbelievable. The property is so beautiful it looks like a Hollywood set.

If you have never been to "ADM", as we call it, you need this on your personal "bucket list". Once you have been there, I know you will return. We have been there many times and still have not completed our list of "to do's" as there are so many activities and and sites to see in the area.

The people of Costa Rica are friendly and very happy. Once you have met the staff at Arenas del Mar you will understand what I am saying. They are the most knowledgable, best trained and downright friendly people we have incurred during our many travels. We will be back as this has become a truly family favorite spot. If you are a fishing fan, be sure to see the reviews on the Big Eye fishing boats out of the Port of Quepos. There is something to do for every member of your family.

Room Tip: The rooms viewing the ocean are spectacular, as are the ones that face the rain forest and the monke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldWandererIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The resort is really the only one on the beach...2-beaches actually. 1 of them is private for guests only. The other beach takes you all the way to Manual Antonio park where can walk and enjoy the park, another private beach, and tons of great wildlife.

The staff is really, really awesome. I think that the resort has the best wildlife tour guide in the area. if you go, ask for Ersel...he is awesome. The resort also offered work out sessions every morning...I could barely keep up but it was definitely awesome. It beats the traditional treadmil, etc. We were there during the World Cup and we wanted to get a Costa Rica jersey. A member of the staff (Rodbin sp?) offered to take us in his personal car to the Quappos to get one before the game!

The resort often has monkeys swinging from the canopies that you see during breakfast overlooking the pacific ocean and also when you are relaxing in the pool...really cool to see them so often.

WIth less than 40 rooms this resort is a great couples getaway, relaxing, and quiet

Room Tip: Go with the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJC195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent two nights here as an introduction to Costa Rica. Our delightful experience started right from the airport, where we were picked up by Jorge, our driver. He was so much more! We learned about life in Costa Rica, their chances in the Football World Cup, and Jorge helped us look for wildlife and flora.

The welcome at the resort was warm and, despite being very early, our room was available so we could check in immediately.

If you stay here, definitely take advantage of the tours the resort offers. Hannia took us on the 'Green' tour and the 'Make tortillas' tour with Mama Ellie. It was relaxed but there was no doubt that Hannia knew her stuff and was passionate about this place.

Then, we did a night tour with a truly extraordinary guide - Ersal. Our tour was 'interrupted' by a downpour halfway through. We carried on (because it was great weather for frogs and because, well, we were in a rainforest - of course you expect rain) but Ersal invited us back to finish off the tour the night after so we saw everything over two nights, including a relatively rarely seen kinkajou. Ersal had a perfect blend of humour and passion. He brought the flora and fauna of the resort to life. We couldn't have wished for a better guide.

One day we spent an afternoon in the spa having massages and treatments. The services there were excellent and we both left relaxed and refreshed.

Our only suggestion for improvement was for the resort to make clearer that their guides are available to guide trips in the Nacional Parque. We would have gladly taken a tour with Hannia on our second day!

Thanks Arenas del Mar. We wholeheartedly recommend you.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the map so you can decide if you want to be closer to reception or down the hill c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aiakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My Grandchildren talked about going back to Arenas for vacation this year, and they didn't have to twist my arm. Arenas del Mar is the most amazing resort hotel in Manuel Antonio that you could choose, from the beautiful beaches, delicious meals, yummy drinks (Tico Sours are a must), well appointed rooms with great beds and pillows, and the walk in showers are huge, you cannot find a better resort/hotel than ADM. The golf cart drivers, bar tenders, wait staff, front desk staff and tour guides are extremely friendly , knowledgeable and knew our names and room numbers within 2 days.

There are two restaurants at ADM, Mirador for a more formal setting and Playitas for lunch/snacks and romantic dinners. Both are open air in keeping with rainforest setting.
This year I celebrated a milestone birthday , my family, friends and most of the staff knew there was going to be A BIG SURPRISE birthday party/dinner planned for me at Playitas and executed with the utmost care to detail. I had no idea. The restaurant was decorated with soft lighting and lanterns around the perimeter, a long table set for 19 (big family and friends) was beautifully decorated with containers of fresh wildflowers setting atop a bamboo runner. Hors d'oeuvres were passed and guests could choose their own meal. What's a birthday party without cake? The pastry chef created a three tier chocolate cake with white fondant icing and handmade floral petals that was so magnificent it could be chosen for any wedding. Not done yet... Estibaliz from the staff created a memory book with many early (no wrinkles) pictures of me , mounted on recycled paper (her idea) which could be signed by well wishers. Those children who wanted to go back to ADM put on a song and dance routine to: "It's My Party and I'll Cry if I Want to", that was awesome. Yep I cried !!!

I know this was a long review although I needed to let everyone know if you are planning a honeymoon, a romantic dinner for two or a party for a group, delicious food, beautiful beach, amazing resort, superb staff or a fun place for children, book your vacation at Arenas del Mar. The staff can book tours or teach on property the importance of sustainability, local animal habitat with night tours or learn to spin a Trumpo it can all happen at this 5 Leaf Resort.

A very BIG thank you to: Gabriel, Jorge, Orlando, Ersel, Brian, William, Rodbin, Hedmi, Adrian, Alexis, Allan, Julio, Christian, Juan Pablo, Estibaliz, Yaheira, Pedro, Kener, Alex, and the entire staff for a great vacation and birthday party.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem request a first floor room. Room 301 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 9 nights, 10 days at Arenas Del Mar and had the most incredible experience we could have asked for! Not only was the weather superb for green season (raining only at night or early early in the am with beautiful sun during the day) but the location of this hotel is perfect. There's access to two beaches while you're in the heart of the rainforest. I had numerous friends who've been to Costa Rica tell me they did not see half the amount of wildlife I did just because of where our hotel was situated. We saw dozens of sloths and monkeys just on the grounds of the hotel (and the staff, specifically, Rodbin was amazing with helping us find the wildlife!!). Most importantly, as I'm going to reiterate other reviews, the staff were beyond friendly, helpful and amazing. They were so warm and welcoming and truly made the experience the best I could have imagined. It was also great because the hotel can set up all daytime tours for you and they have a list of activities to choose from. We did not book one activity before getting there and would do it the same way if we went again. All in all, we cannot wait to go back one day to this fabulous resort and would not stay anywhere else in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great, friendly, helpful staff. Always attentive to our needs. Very professional! Rooms are very clean. Need mosquito repellent at night. Even though there is no gym, the staff was very willing to train us in the morning with a great workout. There are inclines on the path so it is a great place to do lunges etc for a great quad and glute workout. Night hike around the hotel revealed a lot of neat critters. Red-eyed frogs were abundant. The waves are rough until after 4:00 pm. The lifeguard on the one beach was very observant. Brought my 2 boys here ages 12 and 14 and they can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £284 - £797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing