We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arcadia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed here at the end of our vacation and what a fantastic way to end our Costa Rican experience. The entire staff are all so friendly, ready to serve you with a smile in what you need. The food in the restaurants was fresh with healthy options. The room was very clean & quiet with a wonderfully large shower. The monkeys appeared one day and were a delight to watch, amazing views, clean & quiet private beach. We were sad to leave, the staff truly made this trip extra special. Highly recommend Arenas del Mar Resort

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcadiaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    180
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
532
939
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Normally when we stay at hotels we books the same rooms for us and our children. This time we decided to spend a little more on ours. After a stressful drive we arrived and saw our children's fantastic ground floor room. We went upstairs eagerly anticipating our fantastic room with sea view. Doh. I had booked the "inferior" sea view room. Sea view, yes, fantastic room, not really (possibly if we had not seen the children's ground floor room first). The room was exactly as described on the website and I had booked it myself, but I was really disappointed. The hotel agreed that we could pay the difference and move to the one available better room (and moved all our stuff whilst we were on the beach !). Fantastic fantastic. Best room ever. We were in 703A. Uninterrupted views over Manual Antonio national park from hot tub on balcony. Grinning now just thinking of it. Very friendly staff and thought the lunchtime food at the beach was great, possibly surpassing the evening restaurant but most of all I was impressed with how they professionally dealt with me being a difficult guest ! Oh, and the fruit smoothies - so good I stopped drinking beer (almost). Next time, fly in, stay in 703A, fly out.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view and a fantastic room you need to splash the cash, otherwise decide which is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Amazing staff, service, and view! Everything about our stay was perfect! From the transfer from the airport provided by the resort to the transfer back to the airport was an amazing experience! The drivers were amazingly friendly, caring, and patient! I was truly sad to leave this place and cannot wait to return !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leighmac86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My fiancee and I decided to take an "engagement moon" and head to Costa Rica for vacation. We picked Arenas Del Mar based on trip advisor reviews. It was a wonderful place, and looking back on it, a few things stood out as particularly fantastic.

1) The Property - Arenas Del Mar is spread out on a beautiful property, with three separate areas to enjoy (lower beach with pool, open air lobby with pool, larger beach). Each area is uniquely beautiful. You can go back and forth from these three areas to keep things interesting, either by walking or by golf cart (which are available immediately upon request). Arenas Del Mar is set within the rainforest in the middle of a cliff overhanging the beach. It is a perfect setting, regardless of which area you are in. Watch the monkeys hanging out in the trees or on the roof of the restaurant while lounging poolside or lay on the beach and watch the local surfers. Sip a cocktail in the pool, or watch the ocean from your table at breakfast and dinner. Wherever you are, and whatever you are doing, you will be struck by the beauty of the property at all times.

2) The Beach - The resort has two separate beaches, and both are fantastic. Most of the hotels in Quepos and Manuel Antonio do not have exclusive, private beach access. There is a small, private beach in the lower portion of the hotel property, and a larger beach that stretches toward a public beach that is about a 10 minute walk from the private area of Arenas Del Mar. The beach itself is pristine (soft sand and few rocks), the water is perfect temperature, the waves are big enough to surf and have fun with, but not too big that you can't enjoy relaxing in the water.

3) The service - I have stayed in some of the fanciest luxury hotels in the United States and around the world, but I have NEVER seen the kind of service that they provide at Arenas Del Mar. The biggest difference here is that the people working at the hotel aren't just nice because they have to be, they are nice because they truly appreciate that you are spending your vacation with them. There is a lot of interaction with the staff because of the golf carts taking people around from each of the three main areas (the property is hilly enough to make this a necessity), so you start to get to know the people who work at the resort. Each member of the staff seemed to make is their mission to make sure we were comfortable, happy, informed about what the resort had to offer, and happy to accommodate any request or answer any question. Thanks to Andres, Raymond, Bryan, Sergio, Ania, Alex, and the rest of the staff for making the experience even better than what the property itself provides.

4) The activities - Aside from hanging by the pool or on the beach, there are tons of activities that the staff can set up for you. They aren't cheap, but they are well worth it. We did the Zip Line through MidWorld, the company was very good and for those of you that are adventurous, definitely make this part of your trip. My fiancee and I are afraid of heights, and actually were terrified the whole time, so for us, it was a bit of a disaster, but still, we are glad we tried it, and survived. We did the Manuel Antonio park tour, which was great - just the two of us and a guide, and we saw all kinds of animals, including three types of monkeys, sloths, lizards, etc. I surfed at the rest with Alex, and that was wonderful. Great lesson, fresh fruit, awesome time.

Final Thoughts/Tips: Breakfast is delicious and complimentary, so make sure to take advantage of this. The coffee is spectacular, have as much as you can without compromising your sleep and stomach. Even if you don't get the room with the best view, request to be high up (second or third floor). It's nice to be high up for any view from the balcony, and to feel secluded from the rest of the people walking around the resort. The rooms are nice, clean, and definitely do the job. Not a major highlight of the trip, but met our expectations (we had an ocean breeze room, was perfect for one couple without kids). Lunch and dinner are good, a bit pricey, but tasty. The fresh fruit is excellent. We ate every meal at the resort, as we were concerned about the water situation (we knew the water at the hotel was filtered and save to drink, or to each something that had been washed). From what other people said about the restaurants in the area, I don't think we would have eaten anything much better than what we had. One suggestion for the restaurant would be to have some specials each night so that there is a bit more variety. Overall we were satisfied with the food, but it wasn't a highlight (except for breakfast, which was delicious, and was the best meal of each day, and not only because it was free!!). Lastly, the resort is three hours away from San Jose, and the ride to and from the resort is not cheap, so be prepared for that!

Overall we had a great vacation. We would recommend this to anyone that wants a beautiful beach and rainforest combo!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kantor011015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel, and this was our best stay in Costa Rica so far! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our family felt very welcomed and comfortable,and all staff members from receptionists to the cart drivers were nice, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. They made our stay very special. The food at the restaurant was very delicious. The staff at restaurant worked hard to make everybody feel special and happy. Our special thanks to Luis, Pedro, Angel, and William.

It was very convenient that carts were available at any moment we need them to transport us throughout the hotel's territory.

We expected to see some wildlife at the hotel, and we were not disappointed; on the contrary, we were absolutely thrilled! We went on the early bird watching tour, which we would highly recommend. The guide was very informative and spotted many birds we wouldn't have noticed otherwise. We saw toucans, groove-billed anis, tanagers (including the golden-hooded tanager), parrots, parakeets,flycatchers, a toucanette, and a three-toed sloth. We would also recommend the night walk tour, during which we also saw much wildlife. The guide, again, was very informative, and showed us wildlife which we wouldn't have noticed otherwise. We saw rain frogs, a bullfrog, Halloween crabs, a tree crab, a cat-eyed snake, a sloth, and much more. While simply walking around the property and the beach, we saw 5 types of crabs, lots of iguanas, sloths (2 and 3-toed), some intriguing insects, hummingbirds, cara-caras, and so much more! If you are a nature and wildlife lover, then this is definitely the place for you. In addition, we saw all three types of monkeys on the hotel property alone -- white-faced, howler, and squirrel monkeys. The beach also had a large variety of wildlife, and also the sounds of the waves were very relaxing and soothing. We particularly enjoyed spending our time there. The hotel offers variety of the off-site tours. We decided to take a tour to a spice farm, which turned to be very interesting and informative. We have learned about spices that grow in Costa Rica, vanilla and cocoa beans and their processing. At the end of the tour we tasted vanilla ice cream and cookies that were prepared with the vanilla and cinnamon grown on that farm.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves nature and would like to have a relaxing and pleasant vacation in Costa Rica. If you are planning to stay in the Manuel Antonio National Park area; do not hesitate to book your room at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marynat7352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was my husband and my first trip to Costa Rica and it was unbelievable! My husband's family had been to Costa Rica before and stayed at Arenas del Mar and have talked about it for years! After spending 8 days there, I can definitely see why they still rave about it!
The property, staff, rooms, and cuisine are outstanding! We stayed in room 403B initially which is one of the smaller rooms but for the two of us, it was perfect. We had a great balcony overlooking the ocean and a nice sitting area to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. They ended up moving us to a larger room (601) on our second day which was equally as fantastic! On top of having an enormous balcony complete with hot tub, there were two other separate sitting areas. I spent a lot of time reading out on the balcony listening to the wildlife and enjoying the beautiful view.
I think service always plays an important role in the overall experience guests have and Arenas Del Mar hands down, had the best service of any place I have been. By the second day of your stay the golf cart gentlemen, concierge, bartenders, and wait staff know you by name! There is never any request too big for them to fulfill. Once we got to the resort and started to unpack our belongings, I realized my saline solution had leaked everywhere and I wouldn't have enough to last me the whole week. Following breakfast one day we inquired to Jorge, the GM, if there was a place in town where we could pick up some saline solution. He said not to worry about it, asked our room number, and said it would be in our room by 10:30. It was there by 10:00! That is first-class service! Our trip coincided with Costa Rica's first game in the World Cup and it was so fun cheering along with the staff for the Tico's! They set up a big projection screen in Playitas and the entire staff got the guests engaged with face painting and teaching us the cheers! It was so fun!
The resort has two restaurants on property, Mirador and Playitas. Mirador is a more formal setting and is only open for breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts there are amazing, as well as, dinner! Playitas is open for lunch and closes at 5 but also serves as the pool bar. We had lunch our first day on the beach surrounded by beautiful palm trees and the sound of crashing waves. I remember sitting there thinking that this was absolute perfect day! You must get the ceviche and a Tico Sour!!
I must say a big "thank you" to Angel, Ersel, Jorge, Bryan, Allan, Yahiera, and Estibaliz for an amazing trip! There are so many other staff members who made our trip memorable as well! We will definitely be back to Arenas del Mar! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

In addition to great food and lodging the service is perfect. The staff is helpful, knowledgable, and very friendly and patient making the whole experience most pleasant. Our family was made welcome and comfortable. I would have moved in had that been possible.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort

Property: Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
Address: Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of Manuel Antonio National Park, Arenas Del Mar is an extraordinary beachfront and rainforest resort catering to travelers looking for more than the typical luxury hotel experience. Stunning, luxurious, and sustainable, our hotel has 38 rooms with exclusive beach and nature views, nestled in eleven acres of rainforest with private trails and two tree-shaded white sand beaches. Unique among the hotels in Manuel Antonio, our carbon-neutral property offers sustainable, luxurious lodging. As well, we are proud to be the first Costa Rican luxury hotel to have been awarded the Five Sustainability Leaf Award and a Five Star Award. With this stunning location and a myriad of personalized services, on-property activities and land and water-based tours catered for honeymooning couples and families alike, Arenas Del Mar is the perfect base for exploring on your Manuel Antonio vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing