We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Lirio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Lirio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A wonderfull place to stay. It has 2 pools, bar and restaurant with an excellent food. Rooms are just great. Staff was also just wonderfull. We stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We actually had dinner and it was not only excellent but also a very good value. The only thing that they are lacking is an excellent breakfast; breakfast is ok but not that great! There is also a very friendly cat that hangs the reception area. Parking is a little bit of a challenge but staff is very helpfull with that. Looking for the place, just ask for Villas Lirio. Some how people in the area know the hotel by its name than B/W!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aabi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    74
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
71
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The room was ok, we expected something a bit bigger because of the price. There was a really annoying 'beep' sound (we suppose it came from the smoke alarm?) about every minute or so, it just wouldn't stop! We managed to ignore it, but it definitely wasn't pleasant. Also, right now, (June 2013) the hotel doesn't have many parking spaces, so if you don't want your car staying outside, you may park it inside at night, but in a really tight way, and the next morning they'll call you as soon as the other guests need to go! On Saturday we received our call at 7:30am!
Besides those two circumstances, everything was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Found the staff friendly and very helpful. From the moment we arrived the guy on reception couldn't do enough to help us. Room wasn't ready as we arrived early, but 10 mins later they came into the garden to give us a key. We were upgraded to a suite & couldnt believe how wonderful it was! The normal rooms looked nice too. There were works going on in the grounds while we were there but didn't bother us & not much work was actually being done! 2 pools, both lovely with lots of greenery around making it a nice cool sanctuary away from the stifiling heat. Not much to do in the immediate area & too far to walk to the beach, if you have a car plenty of places to park on the road. Don't get bullied into using a car park if there's room on the road! Happy hour each evening - 2 cocktails for the price of 1 - bargain & delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I decided to stay an extra night in Manuel Antonio but my original hotel had no rooms available. I switched to the Lirio because it had rooms. The staff was friend and very helpful. The rooms were nicely appointed and quiet. Some have pointed out that irons dark and the garden appears overgrown. I actually like it. It was a nice respite from the heat. As unmentioned the rooms were well appointed. Much better than the ocean view hotel I stayed at. I would definitely stop by again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierrejosephbradette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make sure that we were happy. The food and drinks were fantastic.The rooms spacious and clean. We were very pleased and I highly recommend this hotel. Manuel Antonio is a steep place and most hotels are not built on flat land, this hotel is not the exception. So if you have a hard time with stairs, I do not recommend it. Manuel Antonio is very crowded during the holiday season, choose a different time to come. We were so overwhelmed with the crowds that this hotel was a saving grace.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirringui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antioch, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

After our stay in a beautiful, outdoorsy resort with views of Arenal Volcano, I felt we were trapped in darkness. The decor was Mediterranean and very attractive but there were no views, the back opened up into an enclosed, hot patio. The front window looked out onto a very pretty porch with comfortable seating, but the outlook was toward a planted "jungle" that surrounded the pool. There was no sunlight in the room and no view of the ocean, which was just across the street. For just a few dollars more, we could have stayed at a resort acorss the street, with views and outdoor amenities. With the exception of front desk, the personnel were typical of Costa Rica... charming and friendly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine-antioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

nice hotel with nice garden and pool, but it is on the main road with lots of buses and cars, and need taxi (expensive) or car/shuttle to reach the beach. I would rather stay on beach hotels next time

Room Tip: enjoy the park and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Lirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Lirio

Property: Villas Lirio
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio School in Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Villas Lirio)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Lirio 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from it all! Tropical gardens adorning two crystalline pools. Villas Lirio offers 12 rooms with two queen-size beds and 12 rooms with a single queen bed. There are also 2 fully-equipped suites. The hotel offers restaurant service. Each room is tastefully decorated with queen-size beds, ceiling fans, air conditioning and private bathrooms with hot water. The area of Manuel Antonio/Quepos offers plenty of activities, including snorkeling, surfing, rafting, nature hikes, mangrove tours, sport fishing, and is known for its hot nightlife and excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas Lirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Lirio Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Villas Lirio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing