We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location at the main entrance to the moteverde cloud forest reserve”
Review of La Casona Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casona Lodge
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

we really enjoyed our time here. Rose was extremely nice and willing to help with anything we needed. Laundry service rates were very reasonable. Slightly expensive for what you got but it was partially a contribution to the cloud forest reserve. The restaurant at the lodge was very good. Dinner option was an Italian restaurant only and that could have been expanded a bit. Overall would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLT12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

I would call La Casona a hostel, not a lodge. It was pretty plain and not that comfortable. There was no hot water (which would have been ok in a place that had hot weather, but Monteverde is at a high elevation and is--surprise!--cloudy a lot of the time, so it's quite chilly). We asked for a private room. The bed was comfortable enough, but the room was on the ground floor underneath the restaurant. At dawn, all the Monteverde guides and workers, and the restaurant people, all arrive for work. There is lots of tramping past the windows (and the curtains do not quite cover the windows, so forget about privacy!) and the scraping/thumping of furniture or whatever being moved overhead.
Food is provided in the little cafe overhead, and it's better than you would think--plain but tasty and plentiful. However, the cafe/snack bar closes after lunch. The lodge has a deal with a restaurant down the (dirt) road a bit--you get a basic dinner for free as part of the package. However, the road is not great and there are some confusing crossroads. Our first night there it was pitch dark and raining cats and dogs, and we had quite a difficult time finding that restaurant.
It was a little weird being up at the forest at night. Everyone except the night watchman goes home. There's no nice outdoor space you can go to enjoy the outdoors, in the evenings. It's quite isolated. We thought we would like that, but it was inconvenient. And yet, all in all, it wasn't all that inexpensive!
If I did this again, I would stay at one of the lodges nearby that offered a little more civilized comforts.
Pluses: The cloud forest is absolutely beautiful and very interesting. The guides are great and can really help you see a lot. This is not a review of the forest, though, but you are right there at the entrance gate first thing in the morning. The fee for the lodge also gives you free entrance to the park, which saves you $24 a person each day. Also, your lodge fees help support the park, which is a unique and ecologically important place.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much choice. There are group rooms and private rooms. I think the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We visited Monteverde on 2001 which was our first trip to Costa Rica.
After that, our trips to Costa Rica counts to 11th and this is the 12th trip to Costa Rica.
We could know the wonderful nature in Central America and that the birding is interesting when we came to Monteverde on 2001.
We decided to come to Monteverde again because this is the first place we could study the importance of the nature. Because of rough and long road reached to here, we did not come here for 10 years over, but we were lucky to know this lodge situated in the reserve.
This time we only stayed in this lodge, La Casona, and did not go any other places in our trip.

We stayed here for six nights and could enjoy Monteverde so much enough. While our stay, we only stayed in this reserve and not to go to other activities.
The advantages of stay in this lodge are:
We can walk the trails before the day tour guests come here.
The entrance fee is included in the price of room (USD17 per person), but total cost is cheaper than other lodges nearby.
The three meals are delicious and included in the price.
If we had rain, we can soon be back to our room.

The room is not luxury but clean and comfortable. Hot water for shower is always available. We like this room with no problem for stay. Our room has private bath and situated in the first floor. We only think if the room was higher floor, so we could see the birds more.
The most important for us was to enjoy the nature by ourselves. If we needed help, the staff were all kind and friendly to help us.
We surely would like to visit and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tama97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

While the actual lodging was extreme in its simplicity, it was the forest we were there to see. Sleeping and waking right inside of the park was an amazing experience, sounds unlike any I had ever heard before, an indescribable symphony. The cost included our park entrance and our meals, which at first, I thought would be mediocre, but were excellent, especially the dinner at Tramonti, which we had to travel to, but worth the trip, not much else to do at night anyways... we went for dinner after our night walk, which was fun, but of course, we did not see a ton. Everyone sees different things. We were not disappointed with any of this experience, being right in there allowed us to get a few hikes in. We would go back, and would definitely recommend. A highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shasta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This lodge was indeed as described. It was rustic. Ourselves and another couple stayed two nights in Feb/2013. The cost of each room included 3 meals and entry to the reserve - a very good value.
The dining area and the dining manager were fantastic. The breakfast and lunch meals were very good. The included dinner at Tramonti (a 4 km drive over a very poorly maintained gravel trail up and down a few mountains) was exceptional. There is no transportation provided by the lodge for the trip to Tramonti. We did have our own vehicle, but we did not want to drink and drive. We did arrange a cab ride for both nights.
Our problems were with the 'private' rooms. At one time this would possibly have been an impressive lodge, however we do not think it has had any renovations since it was built. Our room had two lights - one in the bed area and one in the shower. The overhead room light must have had a 40 watt equivalent bulb, the shower light was exposed to the shower and flickered on and off. We were provided two smallish and two smaller towels for the room for 2 nights. Since the bathroom had no fan, it and the towels remained wet. We asked for additional towels, but they did not arrive.
We did the night tour the afternoon we arrived. Our guide tried very hard to make the tour interesting, but once you have seen a few tiny frogs, some interesting insects and flora and fona the walk becomes tedious. Obviously from the positive comments made by others, we are not true nature lovers.
We took the morning tour the next day in bright sunshine and where totally underwhelmed. Again our guide tried very hard to find something to look at, but was mostly unsuccessful.
After returning from the morning walk we realized this was not the type of tours/place we wanted. We tried to get our money back for the second night, but where told it had already been deposited. In the afternoon we took a bus to downtown Santa Elena and had an enjoyable walkabout.
Overall it was a positive experience, just not what we where looking for.
We recommend staying in Santa Elena and taking the tour buses to the various attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NET-N-JST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here one night inbetween stays at Arenal and Manuel Antonio, so wanted to maximize our time at the Reserve. We stayed in a room with a private bath. The room was small with 2 beds, and a large bathroom/shower. It had large windows looking out into the lush forest (with curtains). These rooms were on the bottom floor, and there's a small stairway that leads up to the restaurant so you don't have to go outside to get there.) The staff is so incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived as they were closing after lunch, but they held the restaurant open for us and served us yummy sandwhiches. Dinner was at a nearby Italian restaurant - very good. Breakfast was filling. We had a 1 and 4 year old with us and they were super accommodating with fruits and more kid-friendly foods. We went on a great night tour, and signed up for the morning tour but it was so crowded we opted to go it alone. However, spending the extra time in the evening and morning on the trails when others weren't there was really nice. Paula and Inez were some of the nicest people we met on vacation. And, Luis was also a lifesaver when I locked myself out of my room (thank you again!) The staff kept the hallway leading in from the (wet) outside very clean with a lot of mopping. I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

After a warm welcome by Paula we enjoyed to be right in the nature of Monteverde Cloud Forest. Being a guest here allows you to enter the park ahead of the day tourists, which we did at 5:30 in the morning. Afterwards a hearty, healthy breakfast can be ordered in the restaurant.
We picked this lodge for being close to the nature and you can experience it all day and very late in the afternoon as well.
The lodge offers next to private rooms also rooms for up to 6 people. The lodging satisfies your basic lodging requirements together with a very friendly,helpful staff.

If it´s the nature you come here to visit this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Karl2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos H, Gerente at La Casona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Hi, thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review and for sharing your comments with everybody, as you mention, defenetely this is the place to stay if you are a nature lover, you take advantage of being there so you can go ahead into the forest before everybody and as many times you wish, also you sleep within the forest, this is the only lodge that offers that in all the área of Monteverde, we hope you can come and visit us again son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona Lodge

Address: Carretera a Reserva de Monteverde, Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At "La Casona" there are 6 spacious private rooms available, all of them are equipped with private bathroom, hot water and closet. These options are perfect for families, small groups or couples who prefer privacy. Check our room rates, all include 3 delicious meals, entrance to the reserve and taxes.These options are perfect for families or couples who prefer privacy. Check our rates with room rate, 3 delicious meals and entrance to the reserve included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casona Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing