We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Hide-Away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Children and adults alike LOVE this hand-crafted ultra-comfy bunk bed Enjoy the changing colors of the sunset from this romantic bath for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Children and adults alike LOVE this hand-crafted ultra-comfy bunk bed
Enjoy the changing colors of the sunset from this romantic bath for two
Every rustic detail in this home makes every ordinary experience a delight
The perfect place to drink your morning coffee and get a good look at the brilliantly coloredbirds
Awe-inspiring sunsets from your back proch... amazing miracles of light
Watch the hummingbirds outside the window and this amazing view while you do dishes
Spacious, one-level, open floor plan is safe and easy to get around
A family of toucans live on the farm... we hope you see them!
Discover natural wonders all around the many trails on this 5-acre wildlife safe haven
100% of proceeds go towards animal welfare, social & economic justice, and environmental protection!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StableLif...
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hide-Away”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Inspiracion is a roomy Costa Rican style home-away-from-home tucked in the mountain side with beautiful walking trails throughout the property. The house is well supplied with dishes, kitchen utensils and organic local coffee. It is comfortably furnished, including nice beds. My favorite were the large screened windows in the bedrooms that were shuttered with rustic-looking wood.

The place is very private and secure. It was the perfect mix of a Costa Rica style house with North American amenities in it, including a large soaker tub. We saw several tropical birds on the property, and if you walk the trail to the pond at night you can see several large toads playing in the water as well as witness leaf-cutter ant highways travelling across the trails.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a tasty local snack. We made arrangements for the same cook to deliver a supper to the house one night, she is an amazing cook and I'm afraid to say we way over-ate because it tasted so good!

The house is located just a few minutes drive from Santa Elena where you can access all kinds of tours and sight seeing, as well as several restaurants. Or, you can just hang out at the house listening to the cool breezes and the birds. We did a couple days and each!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the comforts of home
Liked least: Roads were closed for construction, but once it's done the roads will be better.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and nature, as well as the warm welcome we received.
Liked least: Some of the road conditions were a bit challenging at times.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
veerleWau...
Aalst, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“charming interior but basic building, feels like living in a Tico house”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Veronica gave us a really warm welcome. the house itself is 10 minutes drive (including a very steep hobbly road) from the nice centre of Santa Elena. If you arrive in the dark like we did, keep your torch ready to walk down with your luggage. The house is cosy, but the walls and roof are so basic that it was hard to sleep: first night, lots of rain on the roof, and the second night the wind blew so hard that a candle inside went out!!! we thought the roof would blow off if it continued like that. if you like the feeling of living in a house of the locals, quiet and in the middle of nowhere, but close to Santa Elena, stay here :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large bath for the children
Liked least: thin walls and windows that cannot be closed completely
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiangSae...
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

One of the best vacation places we have ever visited. The experience really felt like staying in the guesthouse of good friends. We spent several days at Casa Inspiracion, right after having spent a few days at Veronica and Alexander's other property, Rancho el Rio, which is farther from Monteverde, but also heavenly. Casa Inspiracion is comfortable and secluded, with phone service, a very usable kitchen, a laundry room, lots of sleeping space, and a gorgeous backyard garden full of flowers, fruit and hummingbirds, and the occasional sounds of monkeys. Veronica is extremely helpful, and has a neighbor as caretaker who was friendly and even took us to see her farm and let our kids feed her tilapia in the fish pond. We found mangos and bananas ripe for picking right outside our window, and befriended the neighbor dog, Shnooky, who met us at the top of driveway every evening to guide us down to the house with our flashlights. The owners have an artistic vision for their properties, with numerous unique and delightful design touches throughout, using local artisan's work and sustainable materials. I doubt one could find a more enjoyable and relaxing place to stay in the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The driveway is very steep, and a bit difficult in the dark. But it is the mountains!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishscrib...
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Casa Inspiracion was great. It is isolated and offers a wonderful view of the Gulf of Nicoya. The house is charming in a rustic sort of way and very unique. The owners made us feel like we were distant cousins who had come to visit. We were treated to a tasty snack on the day of our arrival. By the way, Veronica who owns this house, earned several college degrees in the USA and speaks very fluent English. It is a short drive into Santa Elena and Monteverde. We spent a day in those towns and enjoyed the orchid garden, the cheese factory, and the Don Juan Coffee Plantation tour. There were lots of birds right at our cabin including hummingbirds and parrots. There is no air conditioning, but at that altitude, you don’t need it due to sweet smelling mountain breezes. The house is set on 5 acres of forest and has numerous walking trails and a little pond. If you would like a taste of local cuisine, the neighbor lady can cook an authentic Costa Rican meal and deliver it to your door for a reasonable cost. The only negative comment I can make is that the roads in this part of Costa Rica are generally not good. However, the beauty of the mountains make the drive worthwhile. When we go back to Costa Rica, I would love to spend a week at Casa Inspiracion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Great views!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT USA
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tali_B38
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay near Monteverde!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Casa Inspiracion, a short drive away from Monteverde. It was a magical place to stay. From the warm welcome we received from Veronica, Alex, and Stuart to the beautiful surroundings, we could not recommend this location more highly! The house itself is perfectly located a short drive from Santa Elena and Monteverde. The house is on a beautiful property, with lovely neighbours who are more than happy to provide services cooking meals for a reasonable cost. Of course, the house has a fully equipped kitchen if you prefer to cook on your own. We did both. Our hosts were incredibly helpful and wonderful to deal with. They helped us arrange a night hike with Graven (a fantastic tour guide). We also received an amazing tour of their property from Stuart, who is so knowledgeable! All in all, we highly highly recommend this place and hope to return again some day.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing