We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!”
Review of Agua Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Vista
Helena,AL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PARADISE!”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 days. What I would give for more time there! It was heaven. The house was perfect. The views were amazing. We would wake up to a gorgeous sunrise with the sounds of the jungle, make a cup of coffee and lounge in the hammock. In the morning we saw a variety of birds and Monkeys! This was just the start of our day there. Alex and Khalida were so personable! They had great advice for where to eat or go for the day. Every place they suggested was perfect for us. After we had explored the beaches (some so secluded that it would be forever before your saw someone) or come back from hiking along the river and swimming in the pools by the waterfalls, we would come back take a dip in the pool and get ready to go to one of the great restaurants they suggested. We would usually walk to town but then get a cab home. We will be back!!! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moemoes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Alex and kahlida where really friendly with us, the casa morpho was a dream, wild animals just in front of your pool, monkeys crying in the night, amazing sunset with sea view , chill out watching hummingbird, comfort respecting the jungle, beautiful garden (good job Alex!)...I will be back there...now! Crazy, my best hotel ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I just returned from a full week at Cariblanco with our 2 friends, and loved it. The house is clean and comfortable, a perfect set up to enjoy indoor/outdoor livng. Alex and Khalida's hospitality and helpfulness made every difference. We saw white face money's daily, and heard the howler's barking every morning. The pool and beautiful tropical grounds were amazing. Heaven! You will probably need a car or cabs (cheap here) if you plan to visit town frequently, since the walk down to town is downhill and would be a challenge coming back up, especially after dark. If you love the remote, rugged beauty of Montezume, this is a wonderful way to enjoy it. We'll be returning, next time for longer than a week!

Room Tip: All the houses at Aguavista are great--there is no one better than the others--the only difference i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Our family of 4 with two boys ages 4 and 9 stayed at Agua Vista this past December at Casa Morfo. The cabin was beautiful and was only upstaged by the stunning natural beauty surrounding the place. Alex and Khalida were helpful and friendly. The path to the waterfalls from the property was one of the highlights of our trip (even though we did get lost for a bit!). The only negative was that we only stayed 3 nights. We will be returning to Costa Rica again in March and if we end up in Montezuma again, this will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

The bungalow we stayed it was beautiful, with stunning views of the ocean and rainforest. You could hear the waterfalls from our room. The place was very clean and very nicely laid out. The family that ran the accommodation were so lovely and extremely helpful. And it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnashleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmot, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We're back from a several week tour of northwest Costa Rica, and Montezuma and Agua Vista were our favorite part of the trip. We stayed in Casa Morpho, and it suited our family of three perfectly. We couldn't have asked for anything more. The outdoor living space was wonderful--I enjoyed reading morning and evenings on the outside couch, we ate our dinners on the outside dining table, my daughter fell asleep after busy days in the hammock, and the plunge pool was amazing. Despite the heat and humidity, the fans above the beds kept us perfectly cool at night. Our day at the waterfall was my husband's favorite in Costa Rica. The wildlife around our casita was abundant--we had to shut our door one morning to keep the coati out! Finally, better hosts couldn't be found than Alex and Khalida. Our trip was originally planned for June, but when my daughter broke her collarbone several days before our trip, Khalida responded quickly and was so thoughtful and helpful in allowing us to rebook for dates a month later. We enjoyed chatting with them daily and they made us feel perfectly at home. Our daughter loved swimming in their big pool, too! Even though it was our first stop and we were anxious to see more of Costa Rica, we couldn't help but extend our stay by another night. We highly recommend Agua Vista!

Room Tip: Casa Morpho was my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed in Casa Morpho and had a great time. The view is amazing, the house is perfect, and the hosts are warm and welcoming! We spent more time than we expected just sitting in the hammock or couch on the porch enjoying the view, playing cards, and laughing. And the price can't be beat... would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.7 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
4.7 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Vista

Property: Agua Vista
Address: 1 mile from downtown Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agua Vista is located in the lush hills above Montezuma, at the bottom of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. We offer stunning views, convenient access to town, and abundant wildlife. Each house, unique, tastefully designed and nestled into the jungle, is clean and comfortable and comes fully equipped. Agua Vista provides the perfect combination of seclusion and accessibility. We look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agua Vista Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing