We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montezuma Pacific Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casitas Sollevante(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
97
37
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
37
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownergreat locationin townfree tea and coffeeair conditioninghotel pacificohis friendsgreat manthe perfect place to staysan jose
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've stayed with Carlos on two occasions for a total of 11 peaceful nights in the past two years at the Montezuma Pacific Hotel. My husband and I first met Carlos, the owner, on the ferry to Paquera. We struck up a friendly conversation and after learning that we were headed to Montezuma, he invited us to check out his hotel.
The hotel is simple, very clean and secure. The location cannot be beat. It's right in town behind the church, far enough removed from the main strip to avoid the noise, but easy access to everything. Rooms have strong ac, safes, and hot showers. My favorite is room 5 with its charming private balcony. We saw gorgeous magpie bluejays, iguanas, and even white faced capuchin monkies there. If you're not able to snag room 5, don't fret! There is a large common balcony open to all.
The hotel is a great value for the area but it's greatest appeal for me is Carlos! He is a wonderfully gracious gentleman that shares great conversation over delicious costa rican coffee. Does it get any better? Not that I've found!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coryg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here on recommendation of my daughter who stayed 2 years before. What a great place. Good, clean, basic rooms at a great value. Comfortable beds, good showers and secure; caty-corner to the cute city park and church. Great upstairs balconies--one for the whole place and another private one for room #5 I think. Sweet.

The best feature thou was Carlos who runs the place. He was so friendly and helpful during our stay. We wanted to do Cabo Blanco early on a Wednesday (after it was closed for 2 days) well before the bus would take us there; he arranged for a taxi to take us and pick us up at the end of the day (our plan worked: we saw scads of wild life, including male Howlers; a whole troop of White-nosed Coati's; ant-eaters; white-faced monkeys!). We asked if he thought we could put together a private "tour" for a day that included snorkeling and fishing. He set us up (4 of us) with "Armando" and his crew ("Pato & Franciso). We spent an awesome day on Armando's Pongo: we dropped off Pato w/ supplies on Tortuga Island and snorkeled for a couple hours... returned to a feast of a lunch Pato cooked--it really blew us away; spent a few hours on the island; trolled on the way home; caught a 30" needle fish; saw 2 hump-backs with their calves; basically did whatever we wanted for the whole day.

Carlos is a very nice man. He makes you feel welcome and helped us have a great time. We'll be going back and staying w/ him again when we can.

Room Tip: Look at room 5 or 7... one of them has a private balcony. The other is just off another balcony and it was quiet and nice when we were there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Great value hotel on a quiet street in montezuma, just set back from the noise of the main town. The room we had was nice and big with two good beds, decent air con, and a big bathroom. Also had safe, fridge a cable tv. Good value place for a town which seems to be much more expensive than it really should be. The owner Carlos is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubbURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in March 2013. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in Montezuma you'll be hard pushed to find anything, the whole area is ridiculously overpriced!

Hotel Pacifico has really clean rooms which included a wardrobe, fridge, safety box and en suite shower room (which my partner got an electric shock from) and the sink leaked. The management offered us another room but we didn't bother to change as left Montezuma the following day.

For the area the rooms are reasonably priced and have really good aircon systems (you will need this in the sweltering heat) although you can help yourself to coffee or tea (no milk) in the morning they do not have an included breakfast or restaurant but you can use the kitchen to cook meals if you want to save money. They also had a common area but we never saw anyone using it and did not meet any other guest, which is a bit of a shame if you are looking to mingle.

Montezuma is very small, so the hotel is within easy walking distance to the beach and main strip of shops and restaurants.

If you plan on visiting Montezuma make sure you have exuberant amounts of money with you as everything is expensive i.e to hire a Quad bike for 6 hours was $60 and to get a shared minibus back to the airport was $55 per person or alternatively don't bother wasting your time or money in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in the first room - we thought it was excellent value with two comfortable beds, great air con. The room was large and well set out although the step up the bathroom was a tiny bit annoying. Coffee as reception in the morning and the owner was extremely helpful and accommodating. The location a bit set away from the main centre but still extremely central was a winner for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews