We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic once again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
new england
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I visited Tierra y Fuego about 3 years ago on our last trip to CR and have been looking forward to returning ever since. This time we had our children in tow and were there for my wife's birthday dinner. Everything was perfect, just as we had remembered it. Homemade tagliatelle was to die for, pizzas were wonderful and even our somewhat difficult to please teens were blown away. We can't wait to return in a few years!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglandtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great restaurant but it was difficult to find. It took me 3 days. A lot of local people had not heard of it if and if the had did not know where it was. I had Pizza but they did have other dishes. It is Italian so that is what you get. The pizza was great, thin crust and the staff were very friendly and talkative. They speak some English so communication was not a problem. If you can't finish they will put in a box for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmccormick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Real authentic wood fired oven pizza! Very rustic little restaurant that was quite unexpected in the middle of the rainforest.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Top-Notch Food, Service & Ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience worth the drive up the hill! It's up the hill on the west side of Montezuma.

Had locally-made beer that was crisp, complex and delicious! Pizzas were outstanding with wood-fired crusts. Creative toppings and highly attentive service with an attention to detail that is usually found at locations much more "sophisticated" earned our host and chef-owner a hug and three kisses on the cheek on our way out. Excellent!!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Food on a Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This food was worth the journey in the dark! Our family of three arrived well into the Saturday night dinner rush without a reservation. We were greeted enthusiastically and a table was provided in less than 5 minutes! A good sign on what was to come. We enjoyed a moderately priced Malbec with our home-made pizza right out of their stone oven, a shrimp pasta with fresh basil and a garden fresh salad. They were kind to split our dishes in the kitchen for us, too! All food was exceptionally prepared, the service was great and the location was a drive but worth it for the food and almost magical atmosphere of the place. Five star kudos to the owners/chefs! The food was so good that we hugged the chefs before departing ! Brilliant!

Helpful?
Thank Mason43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing