We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring valuables!”
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 7 March 2012

the hotel is nice enough (pool and yoga a plus) however, these people do NOT care about Customer Satisfaction! I forgot a pair of tiny, sentimentally valuable earrings in the room and after NUMEROUS attempts to get them back, even offering to pay for Shipping back to the US, the owner just plain told me that it was impossible, and that they would hold onto them for 3 months so that I could personally return to the property to retrieve them! I gave them several opportunities, tried my best to negotiate with them, but to no avail. They simply cannot put a pair of studs in an envelope. Very annoying and not how I wanted to remember this place...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zaley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Hola,
this is Dagmar from Los Mangos, I just saw your post and spoke with the owner again. Please understand that people forget things all the time and hardly any hotel in the world has the service of sending those items back. However we are sorry that you are so upset and obviously these earrings mean a lot to you, so please provide us with your mailing address and we will make an exception and send them to you. Hope this will make you happy and thanks again for choosing to stay with us on your trip. Please email info to homangos@racsa.co.cr
all the best to you, saludos los mangos hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our first night at hotel los mangos was a little bit scary getting used to sleeping in the middle of the jungle without ac or windows. However, the owner was very reassuring and there was a security guard that walks around at night. The pool there was my favorite thing about this place. I spent most of my time swimming in it. I also loved the hammock on the porch. One lazy afternoon I sat in that and read for hours.

The location of this hotel was perfect. It was far enough away from the loudness of the central portion of town but still close enough to walk to everything. It is also right near the waterfall. You could walk to everything. We stopped at the supermarket in town and used the fridge in our room to hold beer and water.

In the mornings we saw a lot of monkeys. We saw a pack of white faced monkeys on our second day and howler monkeys on our third day. I would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megj0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Los Mangos turned out to surpass my fantasy expectation of rest and relaxation in the jungle on the Pacific Ocean without giving up comforting amenities such as a private bathroom with hot water and daily housekeeping! Not only is the complex extremely inviting for those looking for a retreat but still a stones throw away from downtown Montezuma. The staff left me with friendships that I will revisit through the years especially the owner who was available everyday and was extremely accommodating. I rented a bungalow in which I could watch the monkeys feed in the morning from the porch hammock and fell asleep to the waves crashing in the pacific at night. You can walk to the best restaurants around for breakfast lunch and dinner as well as hike to breath taking waterfalls in which you can jump, swim, sun bathe and zip line. If that sounds to active then taking a yoga class in the morning (which are offered on the campus and taught by a local legend) and cat napping at the pool is always an option.

Room Tip: The bungalows are private and isolated enough were other visitors aren't an issue. You can read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My friends and I rented a bungalow for 8 nights. The bungalows include bathrooms with hot water and a porch with a hammock. You could hear the Pacific ocean from the room. The pool was great with a view of the Pacific. We stopped by once a day after our hikes to the waterfall. The best part of the hotel was visiting with the owner, Costas, every morning on the porch of the office. He would give us great advice on restaurants and activites to do every day. By the end of the trip, it felt like we were visiting with an old friend rather than staying at a hotel. The location was perfect. It was right around the corner from downtown so you didn't hear the bar noise at night. The hotel is also across from one of the best restaurants in Costa Rica, Playa de los Artistas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIAdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved Hotel Los Mangos. When we come back, we will definitely stay here again. With that being said, this hotel is not for everyone. Know in advance what type of place you want to stay in before you book here. Hotel Los Mangos is, simply put, camping. There is no air conditioning, no wifi, no tv, and no radio. Instead you get a very rustic bungalow with two rocking chairs and a hammock on your own front porch. The bathroom is simple and basic, sink, shower w/ hot water, and they supply you with two towels. Additionally, you do have a mini fridge. If you are not high maintenance, then this place will suit you very well. Some of our fondest memories are sitting in the rockers, reading our books and watching the plethora of wildlife meander around through the trees and on the grounds. As an additional bonus, they have yoga on site. AND, the yoga is good, real good. Since I am a yoga teacher, I am very picky about the classes I take, and I have to honestly say the classes were good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I've stayed at this location on two separate occasions for 2 yoga retreats. The place is absolutely spectacular. Of course the rooms are small and don't have tons of amenities, but it's in the middle of the jungle with iguanas on the roof and monkeys in the trees. It's absolutely fantastic. If you're ok with leaving your first world expectations behind and ok with just enjoying being in a magical place, this is it.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are very similar, some of them are very high up on the mountain though. The ones c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineRondeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent 2 nights in a standard room because everything else was booked. We paid around 90$ a night. The room was beachfront (beach is across the street). The first thing that surprised me was the fact that there were no closet or any place to put our clothes. The most basic room in any way. I found it pricey for what we get. Outside, the landscape is very nice, so is the pool. We saw the bungalows, they looked very beautiful and a couple who was renting one of them told us that they were very satisfied. The rooms are near the street, so, closer to the rocky beach. Bungalows are farther behind the roms section, among the trees, very nice and quiet. You are very close to the falls. As you exit from the hotel, go right, and the entrance of the falls are about 100 meters. A nice restaurant is right there, you can enjoy a tastfull breakfast (american, tico style) for about 5$ and you have the soud of the nature around you. I noticed that this restaurant has also some rooms on the second floor.

Room Tip: Pay an extra and rent a bungalow or look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minamtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
425 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £53 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing