We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Montezuma”
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Montezuma”
Reviewed 18 April 2007

Great location across the road from the ocean. About a 5-10 minute walk from town, which takes you away from the noise. Beautiful grounds, pool ok with palms, iguanas, great views, shady area. Close to hiking trail up to a waterfull (loved that!). Bungalows were nice & comfortable, in the shade with hammocks on the decks (cost around $70 a night). 2-story building was inexpensive but we wouldn't stay there again. Rooms were small and hot with funky beds. Bare ceiling light bulb. Shared bath. But, if you are a young traveler going cheap, they'd be just fine. Ocean view. After 2 nights in the 2-story building a bungalow opened up and we were glad to pay the extra money for the room, private bath and privacy. I'd stay in the bungalows again and have thought about having a friends/family get-together there.

  • Liked — bunglalows, location, ocean, grounds, place to relax
  • Disliked — 2-story building rooms, sometimes noisy traffic on road
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2-Traveling-Dames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    94
    35
    22
    22
See reviews for
26
88
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We stayed at Los Mangos as part of a yoga retreat and it was very nice. As most reviews mention, the bungalows are the better choice for accomadations. They are beautiful and private with hammocks and rocking chairs. You can hear the waves crashing on the shore below. The bunglows also have a small fridge which is nice to keep drinks and snacks in the room. The pool is nicely landscaped and offers views of the ocean in the distance. The studio is made of tropical hardwood and open on all sides with views of the grounds and the ocean. The hotel is a short stroll to the very enchanting town of Montezuma. Also, the very helpful host, Dagmar will set up a variety of activities such as horseback riding and surf lessons. I would certainly rerturn to Los Mangos.

As part of our package we had lunch and dinner at Playa De las Aristas. The food at Playa da las Artistas was amazing however the service was not very good. I do understand that the pace is different in Costa RIca and relaxing and not rushing through meals is encouraged, however, we would sit without a beverage for over 20 minutes and sometimes over an hour for our food. Perhaps because we were part of a group we were overwhelming but they knew the time we were coming every evening. Nevertheless, the food was some of the best I have ever had including the freshest fish, salads, avocado, veggies and cheeses.

Some people mention in their reviews about only having screens and maybe having an ant in their room and I have to respond. Most hotels in Costa RIca only have screens, unless they have a/c. Bugs.,... well, you are in the middle of the rain forest. If you are looking for a Hilton, stay at one or better yet, just don't travel to foreign countries if you want american hotels and Macdonalds, just stay in America.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yogasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

Was part of a yoga retreat so we may have received more attentive service. Many stayed in bungalows that looked pretty cool but the reviews were that they were dark and buggy. I stayed on the 2nd floor of the main building and thought it was fine. The shower was always hot, rooms cleaned daily, fresh towels always available, great
porch overlooking the ocean with nice leather rockers. Not the Ritz but didn't expect it. Maybe it was the season but the breeze coupled with both ceiling and standing fans provided plenty of ventilation and no bugs. Great location near but not in the middle of everything.

Down side - the yoga pavillion could have used a good cleaning, the lack of any place to clean off dusty, dirty feet made everything dirtier then necessary, the waterfall in the pool was rarely on - minor but noteworthy

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank yogini49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

In Let's Go, this was described as luxourious--it was a FAR cry from that. Our room was in the main building and for a price that seemed expensive ($70), we have one bare light bulb in the room, they never changed sheets or towels, the bathroom flooded each time we showered, and the noise from people walking above was unbearable. Also, the reception staff could not have been less helpful. I'm sure there must be better hotels in town.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

Durango, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Yes, the grounds are very pretty. The pool was super - monkeys added to the fun. BUT - DO NOT , I repeat, DO NOT waste your money by booking a room in the youth hostel style cinder block "hotel". Zero ventilation, except for the ceiling fan which regularly goes out of commission during the night due to frequent power outages. Occasional hot water - lots of bugs, paper thin walls, and God forbid you get a room on the lower floor. The people above can sound as though they are bowling. We spent the first night in a bottom floor room, switched to an upper floor room the next day. After waking up to a group meeting in front of our window at 6 am (talking loudly, no glass on the windows, just screens) we decided to cut our stay short (by 5 days) and move hotels to the El Jardin (which we loved. EXCELLENT place!). Los Mangos did not refund ANY of our money, we should have made a mental note upon checking in that full payment was required up front. Granted, the bungalows at Los Mangos looked pretty cool but beware the ant invasion at certain times of year. The walk to town was nice, the area the hotel is in is peaceful and Playa des Los Artistes is an amazing restaurant. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I wish to remain friends with...

  • Liked — Nice pool, beautiful grounds w/yoga studio
  • Disliked — Cinder block hotel with no privacy, noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Try a bungalow or stay somewhere else
  • Stayed February 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swedern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

I don't know how anyone could complain about the bungalows at Los Mangos. They are gorgeous, inside and out, made of hardwood, and a cool octagonal shape. They have two rocking chairs and a hammock on each porch. Some have a great view of the ocean, and are up a small hill towards the jungle. There were some iguanas living in the 'eaves' of ours; the hotel owners said that is common (it is the jungle, after all). All we heard were their toenails now and then; they were not in the bungalow, but rather in the eaves. There are mini fridges in the bungalows; I don't know why the website doesn't advertise this.

The hotel is on a semi-wooded property, it is really beautiful. The pool is great, and there is a jacuzzi as well. If you are looking for a step up from all the hostel-like places all over Montezuma, this is definitely the way to go. We we charged $65 a night, which I think is great. You can't get anything as cool as a los Mangos bungalow for that price in Montezuma, and the next step up in 'luxury' is bungalows at Luz de Mono for $100-120, then Amor de Mar and Ylang Ylang have bungalows for $170. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Liked — A unique cabin of your own
  • Disliked — Blankets, although hardly needed, weren't provided
  • Tips/Secrets — Remember, it's the jungle - bugs and iguanas and monkeys go with the territory
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhateverPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

We had seen the website and thought this place looked cute. The bungalows were very physically attractive. The wood is nice, but they were very dark inside. There wasn't a lot of light coming in and the grounds are covered by these huge trees. The mango trees were dropping ripe fruit everywhere and so the whole place had a stench going on. The pool was gorgeous and warm, I made it in on the last day. The whole experience was OK. My boyfriend didn't care for Montezuma in general, so that colored his experience even more. If I came back, I think I would stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — The look of the bungalow
  • Disliked — The smell, dark rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CAtravelGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
71 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Property: Hotel Los Mangos
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing