We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about our stay here was memorable and enjoyable!”
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Mangos
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Worcester, VT USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything about our stay here was memorable and enjoyable!”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The owner of the hotel and bungalows overextended himself to us with service, friendliness, and helpful tips about restaurants and activities. The staff here was available for questions and made us feel at home here. Our bungalow had all the amenities and an incredible porch with comfortable rocking chairs and a hammock. The location is a short walk from a noisy town so it was nice to have that space. The sound of the ocean was lovely throughout the night, too! I would stay here again and recommend it to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    94
    35
    22
    22
See reviews for
26
88
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I was in Montezuma recently and stayed at Los Mangos. It was just perfect and I absolutelly recommend it to anyone heading that way.
We stayed in one of the bungalows, which was very nice, clean and confortable. While sitting in the balcony, we often saw geckos, monkeys, hummingbirds and other small animals just a few meters away.
The owner was super helpful and friendly. The swimming pool is quite nice. The yoga area is great.
The hotel is located close to town, but still very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unna, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Hotel Los Mangos is located in Montezuma, Costa Rica. It is 100 m to the beach, and since it is locaed on a hill, you have great views of the Pacific ocean. There are two swimming pools, and the Hotel consists of Stadnrt rooms, which I persdonally did not find all that interesting, and bungalows for 4-5 persons. These bungalows are located within a wood of Mango trees, which allows you to regularly watch monkeys eating mentioned mangos in the trees.

The place is great with a real peaceful atmosphere. It is easy to reach both by car and public bus and has decent prices for the quality you get.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alemantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We recently spent a week at Hotel Los Mangos in their bungalow and LOVED it. We enjoyed the views and our porch with two rocking chairs and a hammock for reading. The beds are comfy and bathrooms/rooms are clean. The pool is amazing and there are always iguana's hanging out too. You have a two amazing restaurants minutes away...Playa De Los Artistos for dinner and Amor Del Mar for breakfast. It's about a 5 minute walk to "town". We saw lot's of monkey's as well. The staff is friendly/helpful. Check out Montezuma Yoga while you are there as well.

Thanks,
Jennifer & James

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jhasche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We are currently on an around the world trip and are traveling now already for three month. In the hotel Los Mangos we found a perfect place for a little rest and staid here for about a week. The los Mangos is perfectly located. It is quiet and just 5 minutes walk away from the village center with all the restaurants. In addition it is cloth to the waterfalls and the best beaches. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In the los Mangos you can find an accommodation for all budgets, there are nice bungalows on the hillside but smaller clean rooms are available too.
We definitely enjoyed our time in a relaxed and quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

As soon as we got in, the place looked like a dumpy, dreary motel. There were ants on the bed which we discovered less than an hour later, but the owner still would not return our money. We headed over to La Cascada next door, where it was much nicer and the same rate. When we came back to talk to the owner the first (since he was absent the whole first day and threatened to call the police when we tried his cell), there was a line of disgruntled customers in front of us. STAY AWAY, not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losmangos1, Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear ymor1, we are very sorry about your experience at our hotel. Please be aware that we are in low season and middle of a heavy rainy season, so it can happen that there are ants showing up and i am sorry to tell you that we cannot refund money for a reason like that. If you ever come back to Montezuma, please try to come in the sunny season if you mind the jungle creatures and we will be very happy to offer you a nice and clean room. We do care about our customers and how we can create a beautiful experience for them. Best regards Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hotel Los Mangos is primarily made up of individual bungalows in the middle of a mango orchard that lies about ten minutes by foot south of town. Some of the bungalows appear to have been built recently; others, are much older. We were assigned to number 15, one of the original ones. As we approached it from the outside we could see a black plastic tarp that had been employed in a fruitless effort to patch the roof over the porch (one of the two rocking chairs was perpetually wet as a result of the leak). Inside, the bungalow was clean enough, but generally in dire need of more than just the "patch it up" attention that it had been given of late. In the words of my companion, "the bathroom is gross." Typical of the state of disrepair was our room safe, which closed like it was designed to do but was not securely fashioned to the shelf upon which it was mounted, thus encouraging us to take everything that was valuable with us at all times. Not fun. The deadly bedposts that seem to have captured everyone's attention are indeed deadly; all the more so because the lighting level (even with every light in the room turned on) is so low. Forget about reading at night. On top of all this, the staff's attentiveness to our concerns was, at best, grudgingly efficient. We got the distinct impression that we were annoying the women at the reception desk. This stood out all the more in Montezuma where the people, both locals and ex-pats, proved to be, without exception unusually friendly and accommodating. There were some bright spots over the two days we spent there before changing hotels: 1) the raucous regular visits to the orchard by howler and white-faced monkeys especially at dawn; 2) the pool, which was a great way to cool off before bed; and 3) the open-air yoga pavilion (which is, as it turns out operates independently of Los Mangos and is accessible from any hotel in the area).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canilupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losmangos1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Canilupe, thank you for your honest review, we are sorry you didn't have the best experience at our hotel. I would like to explain to you, that we are doing a lot of maintenance at the hotel to improve it, but there are also a lot of regulations from the government right now which do not allow to make any changes on any property until the so called plan regulador is out and new regulations for building. Because of this we cannot fix the roof at this moment and need to put the black tarp on top to protect from the rain. we also don't love the look! . We are also refurnishing the existing bungalows to have them ready for next season with new reading lamps and blankets, shower curtains etc. The safes are actually very safe and we are proud to report that we have no problems with safety or theft in our property, because we also have a security guard at night. We are happy to hear about the good things you mention (yoga,pool and monkeys) and wish you a wonderful time. best regards Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
71 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Property: Hotel Los Mangos
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing