We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean views and a great atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Amor de Mar with friends (4 adults, 5 kids altogether). Our friends stayed in room 5 in the main building and we stayed in Casa Sol just next to the main building. The house is very open to take advantage of the ocean view and breezes. There is a nicely appointed kitchen, large couches for lounging, a beautiful stone porch facing the ocean and a bathroom on the first floor. On the second floor there is one very large room with 2 beds and another porch with a single bed.

The house was a perfect gathering place for our 2 families with plenty of space for everyone. The woodwork inside the house is beautiful. And because the house is at the end of the short path leading from the hotel, it is very private. There is also a lawn in front of the house leading to the ocean that has several hammocks set up under the palm trees for lounging. Because there is a line of trees between this lawn and the lawn of the main building we pretty much had it all to ourselves.

The tidal pool used for swimming was perfect for cooling off during low tide. The kids really loved it and the adults too!

The breakfast served in the hotel was very good. Banana crepes were the best!

The town was lots of fun. Stop by Proyecto Montezuma on the main drag for surf lessons and other tour options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibli0phile25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

What an amazing place! We had just come from the marvellous Playa Santa Teresa, which we thought was amazing, only to land here and find the previous place was topped. The 'best breakfast in Montezuma' was heard many times whilst we were there. The owners were fantastically helpful, especially when it came to helping us organise trips and our movement to the next location. They had free wireless too, which enabled Fran to download a whole series of something (which then took three days to download!) and me to check how low my bank account was running. The views from the hotel were fantastic as it was literally a few steps from the Ocean, with its own tide pool as well. The approach to Montezuma is a dizzyingly steep road, worrying especially in a van with 10 other people, only one of whom speaks good Spanish! Montezuma itself is very small, but nice with many places to eat anything from Middle Eastern to the never-ending pizza of Costa Rica to some very good Mediterranean food. Not many sodas for typical costa rican food. The yoga classes are good as was the trip to Tortuga Isle. The highest praise we could both heap upon this place is that we could easily have stayed in Montezuma at this hotel for an extra two days and skipped Liberia and Playa Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Caipirinhiasplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very nice place just outside the Montezuma center, a 5-10 minute walk to the south. They have many different options depending on your preferred standard, from 40 USD w/o AC up to over 100 USD for cabinas with view. Front lawn faces the ocean and there is a natural tide water pool for cooling off. The town beach is in the village center, further northwest are other beaches, around a 20 min walk away. Breakfast is not included but available "a la carte" in the morning.

Friendly and helpful staff - especially the night guard!

Don't miss restaurante a las artistas about 5 min. walk from Amor del mar. Beutiful views and lovely food.

Would definitely stay at Amor de Mar again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jossan_karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely, simple, nice atmosphere. Amazing views! Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

What I loved about this hotel was the view, hammocks and chilled out feel- the ou. Only thing I wasn't impressed with some of the staff.. Some were ok but others could be really offish. They would be stood for ages chatted and then look annoyed that you interrupted them to ask them for something.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmanusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I have to concur with previous reviews that this hotel is on a great property- right on the ocean (though you can't swim there, too rocky). Lots of chairs and hammocks complete the beachy scene.

However, we were in a nicer room (#9) and even though we checked in late so plenty of time was allowed to set up the room, the sheets on both beds felt "wet." Gross. This is probably due to the lack of windows- there are only wooden bars with chicken- wire screening over them to keep out bugs and it is super humid. The towels in the bathroom smelled like mold and there was an awesome sewage- like smell coming from the shower drain.

Price does not include breakfast, which is about $14pp. Love the location, but the smell of the room and the wet sheets definitely soiled our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lleClerc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I love this place, spent 4 nights in one of the two beautiful houses.

Pros -
Absolutely beautiful location with gardens, ocean view, and an awesome tide pool for swimming.
Price is quiet fair for what you get.
Tasty breakfast.
Houses are wonderful, spacious, with great decor, and amenities.

Cons -
Staff is pretty good, but at times a little overbearing. A security guard asked us to be quiet one night at 10 PM, but the night before I heard loud people at the hotel around midnight. This also happened to me the last time I stayed here.
AC would be nice, it gets hot here.
Breakfast not included, and the $15 Sunday breakfast buffet seemed to be overpriced.

My cons may seem a little harsh, but they are kind of nitpicking, I really love this place, and was a bit sad when it became time to leave.

Room Tip: If you are with a group, consider the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £49 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing