We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amor de Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Mar y Cielo(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
282
96
36
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
96
36
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolscosta ricadirectly across the streetpalm treesnatural woodthe ownerocean viewroom numberminute walkmontezuma fallsin townfirst floorhuevos rancherosmosquito nettingdirt roadeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

After visiting several of the hotels available in Montezuma, my posse and I settled into Amor de Mar. Since there were no regular rooms available at the hotel, we ended up staying in the tree house, which was completely spontaneous and an excellent surprise. Most of my review is based on Amor de Mar exceeding my expectations on several occasions.

The Good:
The customer service was incredible. Upon arrival, the front desk was quick to do everything they could to get us to stay – not with a sales pitch, but with making every effort to accommodate the weary travelers that we were. Once guests, they always were quick and enthusiastic to help.

The tree house was spacious and close to the beach. The house had two levels holding a total of four beds, a kitchen and a shower that was open up at the roof line. The second level could also be opened up completely to the shoreline and offered great views of the ocean. It was great just hanging around up there.

24 hour security. I would describe Montezuma as somewhat of a gypsy town. Inside the town there were quite a few people that I would call wanderers. In any case, it was nice to have security walking around all night, just in case. Also, the house dog didn’t take b.s. from any one. He was tough as hell - missing an eye and ate nails for breakfast. It was very nice to have him our side.

The Bad:
You have to pay for breakfast. I typically just like to have a few things to pick up for free as I run out the door, but you don’t get that here. You have to sit down and pay for a meal. Its average price but good and there is the same view of the ocean. And free refills on coffee.

There are only a few parking spots out front for your car. We didn’t have a problem getting one every night, but I noticed a few people had to park on the dimly lit street.

Overall, this place was fantastic and I would not hesitate to book them again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My friends and I rented out the casa de sol house and it was gorgeous. Definitely the priciest place we stayed in costa rica but the house and grounds were amazing. You are situated about ten mins walk from town which is perfect. When your done in town you are glad to be walking away from the loud music and not having it blaring in your ear in the middle of the night. The hotel is right across from one of the great waterfalls of montezuma. Just a fifteen or twenty minute hike and you are there. The staff was really great and answered all questions. The hammocks strung around the property make you never want to leave the grounds!! Was just a great spot and hotel! THe photos are of the house we stayed. There is no AC but they have fans strategically placed around the room! Would for sure stay here again!

Fyi the beach you want to go to is right past town about ten minute walk away. The beach in front of the hotel is kind of rocky but gorgeous.

Room Tip: casa del sol is a great choice but no ac. Fans placed everywhere!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccerchic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent 16 delightful days here in January, 2013, mostly in room #5, which deserves all the accolades it receives. The room has a great view from the porch and a wonderful cross draft during the day. Rooms #4 and #7 have been renovated since our visit in 2011 and are good for those who need more space.

We enjoyed walking to town along the road and/or the beach; we enjoyed the wonderful convenience of the nearby waterfall and cascades for picnics. For $2, the guy across the road will machete open a coconut for you to drink, then carve out the meat.

Crashing waves on rocks, blue sky, a mild breeze, and a warm sun often led us out onto the grounds to sit, or lie in a hammock, after the day's outing. Next to the property a stream meanders into the ocean, creating a fresh water pool with a short connection to the beach for a quick salt/fresh water double dip.

While not in the midst of Montezuma, Amor Del Mar is certainly nearby -- you don't need a flashlight to get back from town at night -- without the long walk or ride that Ylang requires. Along the way are some of the restaurants most worth trying as well as an inter-town bus stop.

Ammi, the hostess, bubbles charm and laid back efficiency. The maids warm the day by taking pleasure in their tasks. The hotel -- actually somewhere between a bed and breakfast and a hotel in size and operation -- is full of delightful little surprises, such as the blue jay (officially, a "white-throated magpie jay") that hopped from rafter to chair to floor to reap the peanut I'd dropped, the resplendent, wandering rooster with only a vague sense of when to crow, the quiet but potent AC, the at-cost bottled water refills, the buttery crepes, the bench by the rocks perfectly positioned to look at stars while listening to the oncoming waves, and the waitress who knows local real estate.

If you want something to complain about, I'm sure the dust along the road and noisy ATVs will do.Not a problem for us. Nothing was.

Room Tip: #5 is ideal for a single or couple -- view, porch and draft , #7 is shady, #4 has a good view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have ever seen! The staff was really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was asolutely perfect. The rooms were nice and clean, the hotel garden wonderful (I loved their hammocks!).

The hotel don't have a swimming pool, but a really nice tide pool instead.

Also the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The grounds for this hotel are truly beautiful, and the bungalow we stayed in (Casa Luna) had a quirky charm. But staying over Xmas, we were charged nearly $400 for a place that had several major flaws. Chief among them were the mosquitoes. I passed the worst night of my trip eaten alive because the mosquito nets above the beds did not have clips to seal the area (bitten on the eyes, lips, and every other part of my body). You will need nets. After complaining, they gave us the nets and a 70$ reduction (but it turned out at the end, only for the first night). Moreover, the bungalow is not as large as they make out: it has three super-tiny rooms with a/c, but upstairs, the master bedroom is also a living room, and has no functioning windows. This means that mosquitoes, bats, and other creatures can come in freely. It also means that there is no security against theft from adjoining bungalows. Somebody could simply walk from his or her roof to yours unimpeded. They left a mattress tipped on one side, which we had to ask them to remove. Yes the staff is nice, but this place is charging rates for a place that does not deserve such prices. If you are fussy (like some members of my family), stay away!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms (not the bungalows) have screens on the window (so they told me).
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your response. We are really sorry that you had such a difficult night with mosquitos at our Hotel. We did definitely take responsibility for the fact that there were not enough clips to close the net properly. That oversight got taken care of immediately and according to your own response you were fine the rest of the time. For that reason we gave you a discount of $70 for the first night plus a free breakfast for 4 people the next morning.
Regarding the security of the upstairs room, we'd like to point out that the windows have wooden shutters and can be closed up. However we have never found it necessary to guard against theft from our own guests. This is an intimate and trusting environment.

Kind regards,
Ori Braun
owner of Amor de Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews