We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect end to our trip!!!!”
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Montezuma was our last stop of our costa rica adventure. We randomly found this place while eating lunch on our way down there. They had rooms available and were happy to hold them for us. After a long long day, this place was like heaven on earth. The view is stunning and the rooms are super clean and fun. We stayed in room 8 which is on the end. The room is gynormous with 2 double beds. The bathroom has a stunning rain head shower that had hot hot water. These beds were also probably the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Either that or I was just exhausted. The property is so well taken care of. I sat out at night and rocked in a chair and watched the world go by. My friend fell asleep in one of the many hammocks they have on property.

The food here is great too! I had breakfast and lunch and both were great. Reasonably priced and delicious. Ammi was so sweet and genuine. The whole staff really was amazing. After our long and exhausting adventure of costa rica, this was the perfect ending. It's a walk from the center of town but the quiet was welcomed. It's just at the base of the road that takes you up to the popular waterfalls. We paid $80/night for a Sunday night. Even after we had to check out we were welcome to stay on the property, use the shower and store our luggage which we did all of the above until we needed to leave at 3pm.

I wouldn't hesitate coming back to montezuma just for this hotel and the gelato in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean, you'll thank me for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

The only thing to say is “Amor de Mar is Absolutely Perfect” The grounds and views of the ocean are breathtaking. The staff is friendly and helpful and always wearing a smile. We were fortunate enough to have a tour of the property with Ori, the owner, and every room we toured had its own unique character including the two casas. After reading all the reviews about room number 5 we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. It is private, has a great balcony with spectacular views and is so comfortable and clean we didn’t want to leave. I seriously think it was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The tide pool was a favorite of ours as we enjoyed it privately many times during our 9 days in this jungle paradise. Don’t miss the waterfall which is across the street from the hotel. If you are interested in any tours then Ammi, Carla, Ori, or any of the office staff can set that up for you. Ammi was kind enough to take care of making arrangements for us to go to Isla Tortuga and what a perfect day that was. The town of Montezuma is so close that we walked into town many times a day. If you are planning on visiting Montezuma then Amor de Mar is the place to stay. Thank you so much to the staff at Amor de Mar, especially Ammi, for making our visit to Montezuma a very special one. We will be back to Montezuma and Amor de Mar very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hookedontraveling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here and fell in love with this place, and Montezuma in general. The ocean view from our balcony and room on the 2nd floor (room $5) was amazing. Room was very nice, spacious and cute (kind of cabiny, dark wood). Lots of windows for the backyard/ocean view letting in lots of light but curtains provide darkness and privacy when you want it. A/C and wifi was also a nice touch. Sound of the ocean is prominent but very peaceful. Big, beauitiful grassy backyard with plenty of hammocks anc chairs and if you walk up to the water there are some rocks with a calm tidal pool that is swimmable (the Pacific seemed a bit too rough to swim in when we went, unless you're a surfer!) You'll effortlessly take amazing photos, even right at the hotel. Directly across the street is a path that will lead you to the Montezuma waterfall which is also beautiful and you can swim there as well. Ori at the hotel is very cool, friendly and helpful - along with the rest of the staff. Good security at the hotel late at night too. They serve really good breakfast (and maybe light lunch but don't believe they serve dinner) on the ground level. Short, walkable distance to the center of town which is also great and you can keep walking along the shore for hours as there are beautiful beaches after beaches (and a little forest). Definitely one of the best places you can stay, great deal for the $ and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: room #5 (1 queen) is very nice for a couple with a great view but has an older bathroom. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Amor de Mar is an excellent hotel in Montezuma. The location is amazing, and the hotel grounds are impeccable. Every morning, we sat on the patio and ate breakfast as we watched the ocean waves. This was such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. All of the workers at the hotel were very helpful. I was surprised by how nicely the room was decorated, and the woodwork throughout the hotel. The only warning I have is for visitors to be careful when visiting the Montezuma waterfall during the rainy season. We visited last week, in late June and got caught in a flash flood. It was terrifying, so be careful if you plan to visit the waterfall.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Raquel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were travelling a couple of friends and were actually supposed to be on a budget backpacking trip. When we stumbled upon this hotel somewhere online we decided to spend a little extra money than planned to treat ourselves (even though I know it's still a fairly cheap place to stay).

The room was spotless and the green hotel grounds were very beautiful and idyllic. Lots of hammocks and lying chairs for relaxing. The place has no pool but the small tidal pool was way cooler and there's also a small river kind of pool next to the hotel.

The staff was incredibly nice. Ami was great and very helpful in recovering our bags which Delta Airlines lost. She made sure they were sent to our next location on our trip.
The night watch (I forgot his name) was the best! Even though he didn't speak any English and my Spanish is pretty poor, we had some nice conversations about Elton John and other music when he wasn't doing his rounds :) He just seemed like such a nice guy.

Small tip: Don't try to hike both waterfalls in flip flops, if you take the long way to the top one... :) Wear shoes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteffanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We intended to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying 4 - this is how much we loved the place. Charming interiour, great ocean views from the upper rooms, a private little balcony, comfy hammocks in the beautiful garden, and the best breakfast we had on our trip all made us wanting to stay forever. This is definitely a little oasis worth recommending!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-mariechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Amazing!! We rented the house Luna Casa and wished we never had to leave! The staff are so helpful and friendly. The views can't be beat. The food is top notch. My boys loved the tide pool. I loved the hammocks! We seen monkeys across the street. When we checked out my boys left their ukulele in their room. When we reached our next destination I wasn't in the room 5 minutes when I received a call saying they had found it and we're sending it on a shuttle to us. The next day when we checked in to another hotel the ukulele was at the front desk, no extra charge. Talk about great service! We love you Amor de Mar!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petalartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
2.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £59 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing