We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amor de Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Cascada(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucy(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moctezuma(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel El Tajalin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
282
96
36
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
96
36
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolscosta ricadirectly across the streetpalm treesnatural woodthe ownerocean viewroom numberminute walkmontezuma fallsin townfirst floorhuevos rancherosmosquito nettingdirt roadeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely grassy garden area overlooking the ocean. Tide pools you can swim in at low tide which are like bath water. Had breakfast every morning at the restaurant and it was delicious. Great location to walk to town for dinner etc. Room was very clean with AC and realistic price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltheworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We showed up in the evening after taking a boat from Panteraneaus to Tambor, they were so friendly and welcoming. We ended up staying 3 nights. We would have stayed longer, but we wanted to head to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Would recommend! If you can get a room upstairs the view is amazing, however the rooms downstairs have chair hammocks, great to hang out in at night!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Sorry for the late review, had log in problems with Trip Advisor

Montezuma was the 3rd stop of our 22 day trip. It was our first time here.

We were driving from Dominical to Puntarenas and took the ferry to Paquera and then drove to Montezuma. Roads were in good condition compared to Osa!

Friends of ours in Brasalito have stayed here and recommend it. Just on the edge of town, about a 5 minute walk to town. Beautiful wood built, the rooms are made entirely of wood. Very clean, mini fridge, beautiful washrooms. Eugenia greeted us, explained everything about the hotel, then showed us to our rooms. We had the rooms closest to the road, brother in law on the ground and us on the 2nd. You could here the 4 wheelers driving by but it didn't bother me. Our window looked out onto the waterfall parking lot. (there are a lot of 4 wheelers in Montezuma)

I think it was the only hotel that had grass backing onto the ocean. The grounds were full of hammocks to just lay and chill and listen to the waves. We would lay on the chairs at night having competitions on who sees the most falling stars, it was so dark. It didn't have a pool but there were tide pools that you could soak in and have a drink. It was very refreshing after hiking all day. We had a blast in them!

The town is very small and compact. Lots of restaurants, Chicos Bar, cafes, very chilled!

The staff were very friendly, they would all sit and have breakfast in the morning before starting their shift. You could tell that the hotel treated their employees very well.

Breakfast was not included but very good!

Eugenia & Ammi, was very helpful in recommending restaurants to eat at and recommending places we should visit. Thank you to the both of you! I must say Montezuma has some pretty good restaurants, we ate like pigs all 4 nights that we were there! We were only a 5 minute walk into town, we always felt very safe everywhere we walked. You must do the Tortuga Island tour (snorkeling) with Zuma Tours(see Tito) and if you have a car, drive to the Cabuya Cemetery (low tide) and visit the El Higuron de Cabuya (Giant Banyan Tree). The hotel will tell where to go. Santa Teresa was only 40 minute drive away. Playa Grande is a good 40 minute walk past Ylang Ylang, nice big beach all to youself

The entrance to the waterfalls are directly across the street from the hotel and is about an 15 minute walk along the river which will take you to the first set of falls. A great place to go and cool off from the hot sum all day!

We will definitely be return to Montezuma next year, A big Thank you to our friends Simon & Hilda from Hotel Conchal in Brasalito for the hotel recommendation!

Can't wait to go back to to Hotel Amor de mar next year

Nick & Jo

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean if you can get one
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickPOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Amor De Mar in Jan'14 for 4 days. We loved the place. A perfect location in Montezuma, right next to town and by the beaches. You can walk into town in exactly 5 mins, an amazing town with very good restaurants and a lively vibe. The hotel itself is tastefully designed, all the design elements r sourced from the surroundings, the hotel overlooks a cool lawn which overlooks the sea, a few hammocks and beach beds on the lawn is a nice touch. The restaurant is a nice spot and good menu also, not cheap!! The room was wood panelled like tree top living, similar to the whole property. Nice new modern bathroom!. We had a balcony which kinda overlooked the lawn. The room on the whole was nice, i would recommend this place totally. Friendly staff also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryissacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were on vacation in Montezuma for 6 days and had only 2 nights booked here. We loved our room (#5), it had a great view, private balcony, a refrigerator, safe box... etc. It was very clean with great decoration.
We planned to stay at another place for the other 4 nights but it didn't have A/C or a fan so we decided to come back. We got room #8 this time and it's also great.
Eugenia, at the reception desk, was very helpful and had good suggestions on where to go.
We also really enjoyed the food both for breakfast and lunch.
The "pool" isn't much but it didn't matter to us since the beach is so close. It's a great space outside with hammocks and beach chairs.
We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great! Ocean view and a private patio.
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anutka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews