We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place for dreamers.”
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Such a nice place for dreamers.”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed for three nights with friends and family in the two beach houses. They are so incredible nice and we all had an unforgettable time there. You can see how much love people put into the rooms and every single detail.
The quality of service depended on the person that was there, but all in all helpful and friendly.
And they have selfmade delicious bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gedankensnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    93
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
58
226
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights in one of the private homes. While the location and views were great, the house needs some serious, deep cleaning and maintenace. Termite droppings were all over each morning, surfaces were dusty, the drains clogged. Also, the bed was hard as a rock with a cheap, musty blanket. We had breakfast one morning. I was so looking forward to their famous banana pancakes. However, mine was served burned to a crisp! Why would you even serve that to a guest when it was obviously blackened? We checked out 2 days early and found much better accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

From the moment we walked into the outdoor lobby of Amor de Dios, with its breathtaking view of the ocean and the soothing sound of the river rushing by, we were smitten. The owner and her staff were nothing but friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Our simple but attractive wood-paneled room with its own balcony was the perfect retreat at the end of a long, lovely day at the beach or exploring the countryside. Between the hotel and the ocean is a broad sloping lawn with ample chairs and hammocks, providing the perfect context for enjoying a good book. In the event of a storm, the open-air patio/reception/breakfast room on the first level offered protection from the elements without forcing an early retreat to the room. Every day the kitchen staff prepared delicious, healthy breakfasts--served al fresco at burl tables adorned with hibiscus blossom--that were comparably priced (about $5) to those available in town and impeccably presented. In a nutshell, we will never stay anywhere else in Montezuma.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canilupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is not worth $95/day. It might be if breakfast were included, but it is not. Breakfasts ran $16-$20 each morning for two. The owner, one morning, even asked me how many cups of coffee I had had. Coffee is self-service here and I refilled my cup once so my response was "2 cups." She charged me an extra 500 colones ($1.00) for the refill. This was a petty and inappropriate thing to do to a guest.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungle_dude12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I stayed with my brother at Amor de Mar in June. We planned to stay 3 nights but once we arrived at the hotel we decided to stay for only 2 nights.

- Location is great, a lot hammocks just in front of the ocean and 5 min. from town
- Room 10 is just in front of the street and is very dark but there was AC which was a big plus
- Staff wasn't welcoming, they didn't care about their guests

I would not go back at Amor de Mar and I would suggest travelers to look for other options in Montezuma.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Amor de Mar was in a wonderful location with an immaculate lawn and awesome hammocks to soak up the evening air and view. We stayed in room # 2. It was very small, just enough space to stand our backpacks up and sleep. We shared a bathroom and did not have air conditioner. However, with the windows open and then fan facing the bed it was extremely cool and you were able to hear the roaring waves crash on the rocks. The breakfast was delicious and cheaper than anywhere in town. The Montverde Tomato Sandwich and banana pancakes are to die for. We spent $40 a night and it was worth every penny. If you are looking for a place to relax in the afternoon, sleep and shower and take in the beauty of Montezuma this is a great location. If you think you may spend a lot of time in your room or around the hotel, it might be a little cramped. Make sure you take a flashlight to walk into town at night. The walk took about 10 minutes if you are leisurely walking. In the opposite direction of town there are some beautiful deserted beaches you can sunbath. The waves were pretty rough when we were there and we were advised not to go swimming. The staff wasn’t super outgoing, but if you ask questions they have great advice and are relatively friendly. We definitely will come back to Montezuma and would stay at Amor de Mar. Maybe next time we will stay in their GORGEOUS villas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanaStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Spent two amazing weeks in hotel Amor de Mar. It is absolutely lovely in every regard. The rooms are charming, the breakfast is super delicious, the garden just beautiful. It's a short walk outside of the busy Montezuma center, so it is calm and relaxing, like a 'retreat'. The owners and the staff are so amiable... I felt like living in a cosy family house. There is another nice hotel in town called 'Ylang Ylang'. I spent some time in Ylang Ylang at night to have delicious dinners - but didn't regret having chosen Amor de Mar as my hotel. Because while Ylang Ylang has a very beautiful setting too, I felt that Ylang Ylang was more like an anonymous 'luxury resort'. I love that Amor de Mar is so personal.

Amor de Mar has rooms of different categories. I stayed in room #3 which has a view on the street - and still is absolutely quiet. I have seen room #5 too - it's a bit more expensive than room #3, but I think it is the most beautiful; it is large with 2 queen-sized beds, has a stunning ocean view, a personal veranda to sit outside, a refrigerator etc.

There are also two houses part of the Amor de Mar estate. They are stunning!!

If you go to Montezuma, don't miss out eating at my favourite restaurant here, 'Las Artistas'. It's very close to Amor de Mar and has the best food and atmosphere... candlelight at the beach :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleophandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Property: Hotel Amor de Mar
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing