We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, not at all great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay, not at all great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Had higher expectations based on reviews. We have three children 10 and under and the largest suite was tiny. No room for the kids, us and bags.
Dirty beaches, and service at dining area was poor.
Beautiful gardens, wild life including monkeys outside the room....but not a family friendly or quality resort.
Also had a facial and a massage and both were disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mercedesct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    82
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
164
434
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at Ylang Ylang for three nights while in Monezuma, and wished it could have been longer. The walk into "town" was pleasant, and it was nice to be somewhere free of cars.

The grounds were beautiful, we had the ocean right outside our door, the room itself was spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and professional, and we say all sorts of animals on the grounds.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, and found all of the (vegan) food very tasty. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanSW16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Oh, I’m so jealous that you are reading this now and about to go to Ylang Ylang and we’ve just come back. We went for our 10 year anniversary and picked this resort specifically for the vegetarian food options, the yoga, and the private bungalows. It certainly exceeded our expectations! The pictures do not do the resort justice! Our ocean bungalow/dome was surrounded by so much lush greenery; it was completely private. From our lanai, all we could see was jungle and ocean. The food was mind-blowing (every single dish!), the yoga room was epic, the grounds were magical, it was such an amazing rainforest/ocean experience all while being at a peaceful and beautiful resort.
The customer service and staff is top notch. I was blown away by the warmth of the Costa Rican people in general and Ylang Ylang certainly employs the best of the best! We are delighted with the front desk, particularly Alejandra and Jeffry. Eric, your driver who picks you up, is the happiest guy on the planet, possibly, and really starts the trip off right.
And then the restaurant staff! You will get 5 star treatment from Christian, who has the best beer pour ever and belongs at any fine dining establishment in the world. Irvine, who was brand new from El Sano Banano to Ylang Ylang was wonderful and we hope he stays at Ylang Ylang! And then last, but really at the top of our list, is Rafa, who we now really consider a friend. Rafa’s warm spirit and hospitality and customer service, really shined! He is so much more than a great server, such a great human being. We were lucky to become friends and also have him as our private waiter for the romantic dinner on our last night at the resort…what a memory!
The spa is unlike any spa you will ever visit. Being up in the rainforest almost made me want to trade my ocean dome for a jungle dome….amazing experience, you HAVE to get a spa treatment!
On a logistical note, we chose to fly, which all went very smoothly, since luckily weather permitted, but did slightly delay our take-off. Then we rented a car and kept it at El Sano, we were happy about both those decisions. Also, when we went the waves were huge and beach out front was not swimmable, but that didn’t take away from our experience. We explored other beaches, did hikes, zip linlining, and loooooved their pool.
As another review I read said, stop your search here and just go to Ylang Ylang. Assuming you are like us and don’t want some high-rise, jam packed with people, long buffet line resort, and prefer private bungalows and a peaceful resort with amazing people and food, then this is your place…epic, epic, epic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our family has visited Ylang Ylang many times.....it is our favorite vacation spot. It has everything for the entire family. Your can spend time on the beach, swim in the beautiful pool, and view the lush gardens and wild life. You can also arrange for surfing, horseback riding, and atv rentals. Nearby is a beautiful waterfall and zip line. This place is paradise found!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vincelittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you want to get away from it all, if you want to experience, a fantastic time in the jungle, on the beach and watching wild life, Ylang Ylang is the place for you. We have stayed at Ylang Ylang many times and it just gets better every time. The rooms are lovely, the food is excellent, and the staff the best. We love the beautiful views....every where you look is like a picture post card. It is just the most wonderful setting for a hotel possible. We love walking to town on the beach, even walking back at night is delightful. What more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I work a 60+ hour a week job in an extremely taxing investment management firm where noise and chaos reign supreme. Needless to say, when researching where to spend my precious (and few) vacation days, I was extremely careful to choose somewhere that would provide me with the comfort, relaxation, and quiet that I was desperately in need of.

I found paradise at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort in Montezuma, Costa Rica. Not only was it extremely affordable, but the view was spectacular. I woke every morning only a few steps from an absolutely stunning Costa Rican beach. The resort was so easy to navigate, with paths laid out to the restaurant, spa etc. Never once did I feel lost or overwhelmed like I have on trips to other locations. It was a family-friendly resort, with an atmosphere that welcomed all but provided a peace and serenity that you do not always find at most warm-weather getaways that have become jammed with spring-breakers.

I tried every dish that I could on the menu, all of which were delicious. The staff was so kind, introducing themselves to me, learning my name, and always saying hello anytime I stopped by. I have never met a friendlier group on any other vacation I have been on, they were a joy to be around.

I was so reluctant to leave at the end of my trip, Ylang Ylang provided me with the comfort of a home away from home. I will most certainly be going back very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Remote paradise only accessible by 4x4 or walking. All the charm of montezuma without the 20something hippies beating down your door. This was luxury with a smile! Rooms are 4 star but the views are 5 star. Most have direct access to the beach. The pool is beautiful with waterfall, hammocks, both sun and shade. Poolside drink service during happy hour. Meals are served from 7am to 10pm and are high quality, but not much variety. Lots of vegetarian options. The spa is one of the best I've ever visited. So good I went back on the second day. The deep tissue was just that and the next day the Thai massage was a perfect complement. Open air tent in the jungle with the waves crashing against the rocks, no music needed mother nature provides! The beach at the hotel is small, but the 15min walk away provides an expansive beach. At times we were the only ones there (usually in the morning). At most there were 15 people on this almost half mile beach! Secluded paradise off the beaten track!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 20 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 20 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 3 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing