We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon after a road trip across the country and wish we had stayed here the entire time. We were worried that the tent cabin would be too hot, but it was completely comfortable with the ceiling fan and the ocean breeze. We woke and went to sleep to the sounds of the ocean, with no noise from neighbors or anyone on the beach (which is typically abandoned.) They had bon fires at night on the beach that were lovely to sit by. The customer service was amazing with the exception of the pool service- drinks were pretty slow there.
Other than the tent, the restaurant was our favorite. It has a very intimate, romantic feel, and the food is AMAZING. Many great options to choose from aside from the wine menu isnt that great but that seems to be country-wide. As the other reviews say, it can take a while, but you wouldn't want it to be any faster. At least for the tent cabins, I would say that the cost of the room makes staying here very inexpensive when you keep in mind that breakfast and dinner are included.
Definitely do the Tortuga Island tour. We didnt want to do anything more touristy, but it was a really fun and relaxing beach excursion to the beautiful island. The beach by the hotel and in Montezuma are very rocky with rough waves, so I wouldnt recommend swimming there- instead do the tour.
We also went to the waterfalls in Montezuma, which was really fun, and my husband jumped off the higher cliffs.
Great stay! Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The tent cabin lacked nothing, although it did have a rustic feel but still felt luxurious all the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from our second trip to Ylang Ylang and we loved it even more than before. The way that the resort is built into it’s natural surroundings and one with the environment is what we absolutely adore about this resort. From the beach you can barely tell that a beautiful and comfortable resort exists behind the greenery. After staying in two different bungalows (these are definitely the best rooms to stay in) we can say that they are incredibly comfortable, clean and cozy. They have a wonderfully warm charm about them, not to mention the stunning views of the ocean and literally a short pathway walk to the beach. We have never, in all of our travels found such a gem of a spot, that close to the beach with such lovely surroundings.

While you may think the prices are a bit higher than other spots in the area, keep in mind that breakfast and dinner are included and plentiful. The restaurant is beautiful and open and the meals are absolutely delicious. While I enjoy a good steak as much as the next person, people should know that there is no red meat or pork on the menu. However, there are SO many choices, that there’s no way you could run out of delicious and satisfying options during your stay. It is really high quality and classy food. Nothing like what you would expect for a typical “meals included” kind of place. The staff also remembered us from our previous trip and knew us by name. What a special welcome back! We will be back again, thank you Ylang Ylang and staff for such a special trip. It is a true getaway.

Room Tip: We loved the Bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrAm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First the positives: The people who work in the restaurant are lovely and exemplify the easy- going, friendly Costa Rican spirit that one encounters in their country; the eco-driven, solar energy implementation concept is commendable and the manicured grounds at Ylang Ylang are nicely maintained with beautiful tropical gardens; the pool is refreshing - though small; and the restaurant food is quite good, especially the organic rainbow salad. The front desk will book a variety of tours for guests. Ask which ones Eduardo Sanchez leads. He's a cool guy.

Now the negatives: I am sorry to say that I found the accommodations to be really unacceptable. Traveling with a friend, we stayed in Dome 5 ( Colibri) and it was smaller than photographed on the website. Very tight quarters for 2 people and no place to store luggage except on platform inconveniently located above the two queen beds. There is only open shelving with a rod to hang clothes. There were various lizards or salamanders crawling over the walls, over our clothes and personal hygiene items. I found a 2" plus black scorpion beside my pillow - grossed me out !! The last day/night we were there, the first rain had brought the black and orange land crabs out, and they were invading the dome under a large gap in the front door ...We had to stuff it with towels.

The owner made light of the scorpion incident by saying it's Costa Rica, it's the jungle. We have bugs. Well, sure. But I don't expect them to be in my room, at the prices they charge! The bathroom at Dome 5 is undesirable. Lashed together bamboo walls with a plexiglass roof overhanging, wide open areas for any small critters to slither in.

Unfortunately for us, we had booked our stay with this place for 12 days, but after 3 days there we decided it was too cramped and buggy so we gave them 5 days notice that we wanted to leave early. We asked for consideration of a partial refund for the last 4 nights of our booking, and on the day we left we were told that we would have to go back through Anywhere CostaRica to ask for one... In other words, we were given the run around.

Based on this experience, if you expect a place with amenities or a little luxury, I cannot recommend this place except as a nice place to dine one night if you're visiting the Montezuma area. PS, the nearest NICE swimming beach is Playa Grande and it's a bit of a 25 minute hike to get there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Aloha8420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uumatter, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thanks for your positive remarks regarding our Restaurant, Staff and Ambiance.

I am very surprised by your negativity and in response to your review, would like to mention a few very important points:
Your visit with us was during a very busy time, over Easter week. Likewise, the green season began during your stay and with the first rains brought out some of Mother Nature's little creatures. I had the pleasure to speak with you personally regarding the issue you experienced and unfortunately, was unable to move you into one of our other units like a Suite or Room as we were completely booked solid. I found you to be friendly and reasonable.

After speaking with you, I understood what two venerable women traveling in the tropics might experience. I allayed your fears and you decided to stay the additional nights.The next morning, I made sure to look for you and find out if you had slept well and were content. You both gave the distinct impression that all was fine and you were enjoying yourselves despite your personal trepidations. My staff confirmed my impression and remarked that you both were all smiles and with no further complaints. Enjoying yourselves so to speak.

Let me clarify that since you made your reservation through an agency, we did not communicate with you directly during your reservation and you knew from the beginning that since a travel agency was involved a refund was very unlikely. To say that you gave us 5 days notice is misleading as we had you reserved for 12 nights total. We in no way gave you "The Runaround" and, in fact, Jeffrey, our front desk manager, let you know directly that we would not offer a refund. I take issue with this remark. You decided to stay 8 nights total arriving on the 16th of April and departing on the 24th. According to you, your decision to leave early had nothing to do with your incident but rather that you were looking to explore more in the area.

It is our policy to be upfront and honest with our guests. I spoke with you directly and gave you my full support. Our staff treated you kindly and pleasantly. I understand you experienced discomfort during your stay and we were given the impression by you that we rectified the situation in your room.

I apologize that we were unable to offer you another accommodation due to lack of space and will learn from this experience that not all of our guests let their feelings be known in obvious ways.

Let me conclude by saying that we respect all wildlife at the resort and do our utmost to keep outside the little critters that can be annoying. However, we do not poison all of our environment just for the sake of making everything sterile. We live in an intricate network of nature and our purpose is to live with it in a sustainable way, not annihilate it.

Sincerely,

Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great place!! The service and food was spot on. The rooms were perfect! The sound of the waves crashing on the beach at night was awesome. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to go to Costa Rica for a vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdavis257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We made or first (hopefully of many) travels to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and this was the second, and favorite, stop of our trip. I honestly looked around for probably 2-3 hours in awe after we arriived just trying to figure out how we were lucky enough to have stumbled onto this place while booking. Everything was amazing. Small, quaint, natural, unamericanized town and resort with amazing staff, amazing amenities, and everything within walking distance. The rooms were simple yet homey and always very clean. The beach was literally right outside your front door with only a few crabs, monkeys and maybe a hammock in between. Spa was also right there, but was so quiet and serene. No complaints. Will be back one day soon. This place definitley made the entire honeymoon. Just make sure you come before the rainy season!!

Room Tip: Id say for rooms, the beach front huts seem to capture the most of the place but there really isnt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank AngelaVanyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose Ylang Ylang beach resort for our wedding and it was the best decision we could have made. Everything was perfectly organized and we were very satisfied with everything. Although the prices are European/American the service and quality has Western standards as well. The resort itself is hidden between the jungle and the beach and has a very charming atmosphere. It's the best place if you want to relax and enjoy nature. You can either go to the beach (rent a buggy board at the reception and ride on the amazing waves), relax at the pool, take a trip to Tortuga island (great experience) or hike at the nearby Mano Blanco national park. The staff is very friendly and they all speak English very well. Staying at Ylang Ylang is not cheap but definitely worth every cent!

Room Tip: The beach bungalow has an amazing view on the sea and an A/C, which you might need because even at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank melony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and this was our best stop. We stated at the beach bungalow for two nights...a little pricy but worth every penny. The beach is beautiful, it was quiet and clean, everyone was ridiculously nice and helpful (Eric, Geoffrey, Christine, Rafael, and Esteban...the fact that I remember their names shows how awesome they all were!), breakfast and dinner included and delicious, and the massage my wife and I had was like the cherry on top. Loved Montezuma and loved ylang ylang!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ramy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
420 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £172 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing