We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed, fabulous location but dated hotel with grotty, smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed, fabulous location but dated hotel with grotty, smelly room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our arrival was exciting, drove over a lovely beach with huge waves (not very environmentally friendly but fun) and were delivered at reception. The restaurant / bar looked lovely and we were happy to be there. The reception staff were charmless however and launched into a sales pitch for 'extras' -trips, yoga, dancing. We were then led to our rooms via the concrete fake waterfalled swimming pool and I was delighted to see the room was indeed beachfront. The view facing the beach was lovely, its always good to be situated on the beach, however the view facing the room was immediately disappointing, an ugly three storey block, burgundy plastic chairs, table cloth and ashtray. We entered the room and were hit by a drains smell. The room was small and dark, painted with yellow ragging giving it a hue of nicotine stain. No wardrobe just a few plastic hangers complemented by a plastic waste bin. So disappointed I could have cried. It wasn't cheap but looked so cheap and as though it hadn't been refurbished since the early 80s. After some difficult negotiation my husband was able to persuade the management to reduce our bill by subtracting the drinks bill ($80 a minimal amount - we have a small child so were early to bed) to compensate for the horrible smell. The first option we were offered was to move to a tent. I don't think so, thanks. We were made to feel uncomfortable and we were thrilled to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRobinson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YlangYlangManagement, Manager at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
In response to your recently posted comments, we are very sad you did not have such a wonderful time with us! Your family seemed so nice and we are surprised to receive such a negative review.
To clarify we do have a special permit for traversing the beach and only do so minimally (i.e. for guest check-ins and check outs.) We are very environmentally aware, we are great contributors to Nicoya’s largest Natural Reserve Karen Morgensen, etc.

Our Reception staff has been mentioned in other Tripadvisor reviews as being superb and any receptionist anywhere in the world has to inform its guests of possible activities one may want to enjoy.

Our well adorned pool set in the midst of natural jungle is a constant crowd pleaser, we never advertise or say that our waterfall is real.

Our 3 storey Jungle King building is indeed beachfront and greatly appreciated by all our non oversensitive guests. We provide outdoor tables, table clothes and chairs as well as an ashtray for our clients comforts (all our rooms are non-smoking).

We always have impressed the importance of cleanliness. Upon inquiry, we kindly informed you that in our tropical humid beach front climate a room may have a humid smell, this was told to you very clearly. You never spoke of a drain smell, which we have never had any issues about. We immediately addressed the issue by dehumidifing and scenting your room. Your husband agreed that this was helpful and thanked us for our courteous attention.

We carefully select our colors and painting techniques to provide an artistic and natural atmosphere to our dear guests. Yellow is a happy color.

We constantly maintain, repaint and refurbish all our units on a seasonal and need be basis, which is challenging in a beach front tropical humid environment. We do our best to keep everyone happy, we are sorry you could not enjoy it accordingly.

You were so disappointed yet you never spoke to any of our staff about any of this. You sent your husband to mention that you thought it smelled of humidity in your room and wanted a $145 discount per night- paying only $80 a night for 3 people (which is basically free since we provide included Breakfast and Dinner a la Carte). We offered to transfer you to our other only available unit which you refused (we have a high occupancy rate as we are a very popular place). We also offered to refund your money completely and help you find another hotel, which you also refused. You proved inflexible in a moment where we did everything possible to accommodate your every wish.

We strive on making our guests feel welcome and comfortable!

Our resort prides itself on the fact that the best customer service is achievable at all moments.

We sincerely apologize for the parts of your stay that you deemed unfavorable but are happy to hear that you enjoyed other areas, like the lovely beach, our restaurant/bar, the views from the room, and proximity to the beach. Thank you for those comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    83
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
172
437
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Ill.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Service is top notch. Every single staff member was always friendly and pleasant, attentive to needs, and served us quite well.

We loved our beach bungalow. Much attention to details like beautiful bedspreads, soft cotton sheets, tasteful and original art on walls, windows and doors opening onto lush gardens and oceanfront.

This location in Costa Rica is not so easy to get to but that's what makes this place so special for us. We don't mind the 5-6 hr transport to get there by shuttle and ferry (there are flights offered, too). It's a 10-12 minute walk on a beautiful beach to get to our bungalow from the "town center" which is tiny, tiny yet colorful and fun and there we would usually find whatever we needed.

Amenities are everywhere: small but lovely pool; beautiful open air restarant with healthy and deeee-licious cuisine; excursions/massage/yoga/salsa classes offered; small "tienda" for artsy purchases and little items one might need ; daily maid service; and everywhere you look there are incredible flowers and plants and nature surrounding. Monkeys, iguanas and other animals are numerous and often hang out in plain sight.

We like the beauty and quiet privacy best, as well as being surrounded by the enchanting sounds of the ocean, and the howler monkeys, too!

What we liked least was trying to get to or from town at high tide or trying to find an empty lounge chair at pool side during the heat of the day.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

This was our second visit to Montezuma and Ylang Ylang. We were so thrilled to be back. The staff are friendly, helpful, and we really felt part of a family for our three week stay. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing environment and resort you will not be disappointed. We will certainly go back again. The bungalows on the beach are private, and have a lovely outdoor shower which is great after coming out of the ocean. The views and beach walks are spectacular. Be aware that the waves can be quite high so you have to be watchful of currents with children. But there is a lovely pool so this may not be an issue. Food is amazing!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippersOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed in the "Colibri" Dome and it really was a unique experience. We could hear a lot more nature that we could actually see but 2 nights in a row the monkeys actually passed directly over our heads as we sat on our deck. All the employees from the security guards to the front desk to the restaurant were absolutely wonderful. The menu is quite extensive and everything we tried was absolutely delicious. The property itself is hilly and steeper than it looks in the pictures and the walk on the beach is 10 minutes but it is soft sand so it is a hard walk. We went to the waterfall in Montezuma and it was a very enjoyable morning. We found the other guests to be quite friendly and it was a great experience. THANK YOU! Any questions, please feel free to e-mail me.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flycatcher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

My family of four (children age 3 and 9) booked a six night stay after reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor. Ylang Ylang did not disappoint, despite the fact that we traveled there immediately after two nights at Finca Rosa Blanca, right outside San Jose, one of the nicest (and most expensive) hotels imaginable. Here is what I loved about Ylang Ylang: the property is large, fabulously landscaped, and full of wildlife. Several guests said they saw more monkeys, birds, lizards, and so forth hanging out by the Ylang Ylang pool than they did at national parks. The pool, by the way, always has shade, which makes it perfect for relaxing in the heat of the day (lots of shade around the pool too). The beach is great- I got stung by a jellyfish one day, but otherwise had a delightful time body surfing and swimming. The staff is fantastic, from the cleaning people to landscape crew to front desk staff. Particularly deserving of praise is the staff in the restaurant- who went out of their way to make us happy and comfortable, and were particularly kind to my children. Mario and Edwardo, who drive and lead tours, respectively, are fabulous individuals. The food in Ylang Ylang is incredible, and our standards are high. Even if you aren't vegetarian you should try one of their tofu dishes. It is also great that you can easily walk into town, buy groceries, and stock your tiny fridge for lunch.

There is very little I didn't like about Ylang Ylang. There were hardly any other kids there, which might be nice if you don't have kids, but wasn't perfect for us. We were in Colibri dome- next time I will book Coco Joe's, because Colibri felt a little cramped for four people, and is set back from the beach (this isn't obvious from the website). In general I didn't find the other guests very friendly. And it sort of bugged me that yoga was $12 a class.

Overall this is just a stunning resort- as nice as anything you could find in Hawaii, and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

We have been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort several times and it is an ideal place to spend our vacations. The cabanas are charming and creatively decorated with fresh flowers when we arrive. The grounds are a sweet combination of manicured, exotic plants along with wild jungle. We found all of the staff very friendly, accomodating and professional. Several activities are offered and the receptionist will happily organize everything for you. The setting is simply elegant and peaceful. The bar and restaurant offer delicious, healthy food along with an assortment of exotic alcholic and non-alcholic beverages. What more can anyone ask for?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthRubyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Our Accommodation (Coco Joes) was located right on the beach and, whilst a little on the small side, was clean and tidy. Housekeeping was exceptional - with fresh coffee, flowers and towels (folded in the shape of various animals) provided each day. The food was good, although service was a little on the slow side on occasions. The hotel had a lovely pool area, and plenty of hammocks to shelter from the sweltering heat. The hotel itself was very good, however I did feel it was somewhat overpriced. We stayed here for a week, which was probably a few days too long.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.5 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing