We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

What a wonderful place made only better by their staff! Wonderful surroundings and exceptional servcie. We would strongly recomend Ylang Ylang to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveS7922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

Ylang Ylang was perfect and exactly as advertised. It was beautiful, isolated, and the food was great. I'm trying to think of something we didn't like and I can't. The kids had a great time at the pool and at the beach. The waves got very large while we were there and they couldn't go in the water on the last day, but that's just the way it goes. On other days they did bogey board. A troop of monkeys hung out by the pool on one day and we loved that. We did three tours and all three were great. Snorkeling at Tortuga island was a little rough. I wish I would taken meds before I went, otherwise great. We went horseback riding inland to a waterfall with Deana, an american expatriate vet. She was a joy to ride with. The horses are not brain dead trail horses and you actually get to ride. The kids loved it. The canopy tour was also alot of fun, but if you're not in shape the hike to the waterfall in the middle could be a trial. Ylang Ylang is a wonderful experience and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandMark812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This is a really lovely hotel, lots of wildlife and lovely setting. Is in a very secluded location, no road to get there. You drop your bags of at a bar in the centre of Montezuma and leave your car there, you either walk about 15 mins along to beach to get there, or wait for a lift when the tide is out, and the concierge takes you along the beach in a 4 x 4. Different experience!
Restaurant is good food, nice grounds and helpful staff.
Definitely recommend it for a secluded stay (no tv and can't really go anywhere in the evening)
This time of year the sea is rough so didn't really go on the beach in front of the hotel but very picturesque.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyMasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

After arriving in San Jose, Ylang Ylang resorts took over everyting. 7 of us took a great flight from SJO to Tambor where we were met by YY staff who took us to a private boat from Tambor to Montezuma. At the beach we were greeted by Mario who took care of our luggage and served us cold drinks. We decided to stay in town for a bit while the luggage went ahead to the resort. We ate at El Sano Banano cafe and had some of their famous frozen lemonade ginger drinks. The resort was impeccable and the views from our rooms was outstanding. The kids had a blast at the waterfall at the pool and we ate like kings and queens for 8 days. The resort took care of all our day trips and extra adventures. The staff was too nice throughout our entire stay. Leaving was hard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Ylang Ylang is the kind of place you see on TV shows about tropical paradise locations. You can easily spend a week here lying next to the pool or on the beach, and the perfectly manicured lawns and beautiful natural foliage would be a great back-drop for a romantic liaison. Outstanding views, crashing waves visible from your room, wonderful food and fruity drinks, make this a great, secluded, wild and beautiful place for a honeymoon or anniversary. This place has a sort of Disney-like perfection - from its friendly and cheerful (but not overbearing) staff to the gorgeous stone carvings, landscaping, flowers and animals. However, unlike Disney, it's all REAL! And prettier.

We had actually visited five years prior and loved it, but I was a little worried that now with my son being a teen, he'd get bored with a slow-paced "beach vacation". Such concerns immediately disappeared - I had forgotten how much adventure is to be had here. I read somewhere that this is an "adventure hotel", and that name is fitting because of its superb location near all kinds of activities. We climbed up two different waterfalls, hiked in the hills, rode ATV's to the other coast (gorgeous views), walked the beach, went into the quaint village, went canopy gliding (what a thrill!), etc.

I read some of the other reviews on here, which are mostly raving. I think one honeymooner complained that it wasn't what they wanted (though the resort web site is very accurate in describing the type of place it is). You simply have to know what YOU like. If you want to be in a hermetically sealed tower, and take the elevator down to the pool, then you're better off in overdeveloped Ft. Lauderdale or Miami. If furry little animals freak you out (we saw cute agoutis, coatis, squirrels, raccoons, iguanas, lizards, butterflies, dragonflies, all kinds of birds, bats, crabs, even a boa, a family of little monkeys - mostly in the bushes next to the resort's paved walkway), then really, there's no reason to come here - or to Costa Rica, for that matter. Because this is a country that is relatively undeveloped and has one of the greatest diversities of animals on earth. And the resort has done the best job I've ever seen of incorporating the great outdoors into a luxurious hotel experience. I've never seen a place like this.

So, in other words, you can go into your room and turn on the A/C, in a very romantic setting, and you're going to see and hear the waves crashing and you'll probably see a family of monkeys outside your balcony. And a crab or two might sneak into your room.

If you go, please have a blackberry honeymoon milkshake for me. Outrageously delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JupiterFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

It would take a book to tell what an unforgetable vacation we had at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort. From the impeccable yet all natural surroundings to spotlessly clean accomodations, this was truly a vacation to remember.
We never had to use the Air Conditioning with the sea breeze, and this was in mid-June.
And the food..... simply magnifico, from the fresh fruit salad in the morning to the best darned blackened Tuna that I have EVER had. We were there for 8 days and I had a different entree' every evening and was never disappointed. And the Pina Coladas were to die for.
And so much to see & do -- all arranged by the impressive staff.
My hat is off to Patricia, Lenny, Mokie, Syska and all the staff at Ylang Ylang. You can be sure that we WILL be back.
Thanks for an unforgetable vacation

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The service is outstanding, food is amazing, rooms are beautiful, spa treatments are wonderful, great swimming pool, beautiful beaches (miles of beach), i could go on and on. The staff is amazing, friendly, fun, and prompt to help with what ever your needs are. I really cant say enough about my experience at Ylang Ylang resort. If you are thinking about visiting Costa Rica, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CShort74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £176 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing