We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok”
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
sask
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We spent a couple of days in Montezuma and stayed at the hotel one night, overall location was good within walking distance to everything, pool and the grounds were excellent, the rooms were just ok. They could use new beds for they were wore out and very uncomfortable, The rooms were clean, good showers, and the fridge was keeping items cold. Dollar value was high for what you received however your chioces are limited in a small town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    102
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
46
161
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are dark and small. Beds are old and noisy. We paid $95USD/night, and $65 would have been more reasonable for what you get. Pool is nice, and our room overlooked the main road. I didn't think I would appreciate the a/c, but it was pretty nice to have the white noise. Our patio area was much more relaxing when the room next door was vacant due to the close proximity of neighbours.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bufnbufr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We loved our week at El Jardin. For us it was a luxury stay. The grounds were amazing as were the cabins. The two pools and jacuzzi were awesome. The only drawback was it was a little overpriced. The location was perfect. We could see the town from our patio and hear the awesome music during the evening. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: We like number 5 with a view of the downtown but I think all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location, you can walk to the waterfall, beach and town. Get a room behind the pool, we had a great view of their beautiful pool and great personal hammock. Room are big and clean. Hotel is luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katebossaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Came to Montezuma vere early in the morning and got a room for one night. The lady in the reception was very helpful.
The room itself could have been cleaner and the fridge didn't work.We got a room with two quenn size beds and we had enough space.The pool area was nice and worth a try.
The location was perfect, 3 minute walk to the beach and 2 minutes to everything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingCrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The pool and location were the saving graces of this place. Whatever they're not spending on cleaning this place they're definitely putting into keeping the pool looking like something that should go on a postcard.

Maybe I'm getting soft in my 30's, but this place is fairly dirty. We found one monster cockroach (3+" long) in our room along with ants on the bed at various times during our three night stay. There was also another monster roach trying to make it's way into our room but we ended up shooing it away. The rooms are sort of dark and dreary even with the curtains open. I'm not too picky about beds, but as a bunch of other reviewers wrote, they're old and pretty busted. Bathrooms were old and dirty, stains of different sorts on the floor, mold in the shower, etc.

Overall noise wasn't a big problem except one Saturday night when everyone was having full moon parties in town and the techno going until 2am (?). Other than that noise wasn't much of problem given the location in town.

We paid $95 for the night during high season which felt very high for what we got, but our other hotel made a mistake with the reservation. It's probably a $60/night hotel, $70 max.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We split our stay in Montezuma between Hotel El Jardin and renting a beach house. The 3 nights we stayed at Jardin were great. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. We spent a lot of time hanging by the pool, which has it share of both sun and shade. The rooms are clean and the morning coffee is tasty. We had a room by the pool and noise was never an issue. The beds were not the most extravagant, but getting a good night's sleep wasn't a problem. We also never had a problem with bugs. Our room had a little porch area with a hammock, which was great for relaxing. The girls at the front desk are very helpful. They were there to answer questions and help book local tours. I would highly recommend Hotel El Jardin.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing