We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Roomy Stay in Montezuma”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 14 January 2012

While the rooms are a bit sparse and the TV was totally not necessary (as it didn't really receive and channels), they were roomy, well chilled by the AC, clean, and had a refrigerator. The common areas are excellent with tons of hammocks, and the communal kitchen was a good way to save some money on food costs as well as meet some fellow travelers. We stayed in the third floor apartments, which were probably a bit more than two people needed. The main room features two queen size beds, nightstands, a clothes rack and a couch. In the next (door separated, private) room is another bed, nightstand, and clothes rack. This would be perfect for a family, group of friends, or couple of couples traveling together (or, if your like us, two people really looking to stretch out for a night or two after spending spending weeks in hostels and cramped budget rooms).

Room Tip: Not on the beach, but very close. Nothing in Montezuma is more than 5 minutes from the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholaslswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

I ended up in Montezuma on a whim and, having not done any research on where to stay, ended up getting a room at La Aurora. I stayed on the ground floor, park side. It was by far the worst place I stayed while in Costa Rica. It reeked of disinfectant, there were ants crawling around everywhere, the mattress had to have been as old as the hotel, the linens and towels were damp & musty, and the shower was ice cold. I had the worst night's sleep ever and could not wait to check out the next morning.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were here for just one night, and we stayed on the second floor in the room on the far right. Here's what we liked and disliked:
likes:
- refrigerator in room
- room was large - two double beds & private bath
- location was close to everything
- hammocks
- kitchen

dislikes:
- a bit run-down (i.e. a/c didn't work in our room)
- security: my boyfriend's EX girlfriend found us by asking the front desk person - they showed her to our room - we really didn't want to see her and didn't appreciate this
- noisy: i found it hard to sleep as the town was quite noisy at night, loud bass and ATVs
- no view (the view is of a run-down park)

Overall it was okay, but personally I wouldn't stay there again as there are much nicer places around. That said, I thought the price was good for what you got.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowballie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

La Aurora is a great value for the money. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, so I don't know how I'd feel if we got one of the expensive rooms, but they looked very nice.

The hotel is located right on the park in the centre of Montezuma, so it's extremely central. This means there's night noise from the many parties and drum circles, but the hotel can't be blamed for that. It's a fact of life in Montezuma. I took one point off the sleep quality rating because not all of our windows had curtains, so there was a lot of light coming in. Why have curtains for some windows, but not all?

The rooms and common areas were kept clean, the staff was courteous. When they noticed that our room fan was squeaky they replaced it ASAP. As others have mentioned, the common areas are nice, and a great place to meet people.

Don't be like us, though: Explore the hotel. Until our last day, we completely missed out on a pretty sitting area inside the hotel, and on the hammocks upstairs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean and a great deal. The communal areas were great for socializing. The only complaint is that the walls are paper thin so if your neighbours are up early, you are too. As well, our room was right by the road so traffic kept us awake.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdawn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed here for four nights, clean and friendly place. Room was large enogh for four (we were only two). Good location. The staff speak only spanish, they understood some English words anyway. The wi-fi did'nt work very well.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Location is great! The guys running the hotel were very helpful. After a nightmare experience up the hill at Luna LLena, this place was a welcome breath of fresh air. Rooms are basic and clean, but the walls are too thin in some of them. My group of seven used three rooms. Even the more "pampered" members of the group had no real complaints about the place. All in all an okay place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aardvarmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#10 of 18 in Montezuma
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing