We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

$10 a night for a private room with double bed and private shower was awesome. I expected us all to be in dorms but four of us were in one large room each with a double bed and sofas and private shower. Plus there was a fridge in the room!
AC was $15 per night extra and made the stay even more comfortable. There is a pool table and lots of hammocks/seating area, plus wifi and a computer in reception.
Kitchen was pretty small so got crowded but there were plenty of tables to eat at. Location is good too as its just at the top of the high street. Unlike Hostel Llena Luna where are friends were, you don't have to walk up a massive hill to reach it.
Despite there being a strange smell to the place it was clean.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great location. Right in town (not up the hill) but far enough away from Chicos bar to be able to sleep. Excellent value and the owners are very friendly and relaxed. They work hard to keep the place, particuarly the kitchen clean. Great and plentiful common areas. Only problem would be no wifi in the rooms but this is pretty standard in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Rooms on the kitchen side lead out on to the common areas with wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have stayed 5 days in Hotel La Aurora. There is free internet and free coffee. Every moning I drunk coffee under the sunshade. The personal are very nice and helpfull. The recepción is day and night open. They have security cámaras. I always feel safe at Hotel La Aurora.
Thanks,
Tom

Room Tip: in the low season the have very cheap rooms downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom061972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed as a solo traveller in February and found it perfect. The location is great, room was clean and tidied daily, staff were amazingly friendly (even willing to try and learn English from me and vice versa) and I'd stay here again for definite! I felt very safe during my stay, there's always someone by the front desk and entrance to greet you. Its a very relaxing place indeed. Thanks to the staff who were fantastic during my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We found this place whilst wandering around looking for somewhere to stay. It cost $20 for a basic double room which was excellent value considering other hostels with dorms were charging $15 per person. The basic rooms include a mini fridge, fan and ensuite bathroom. Towels are also included.
The location is excellent, very close to the shops and supermarket, beach and not far from the road to the waterfall.
There is a kitchen and lots of communal areas.
Unfortunately the wifi did not work for the four days we were there and there were lots of Mosquitos in our room - if you have a mosquito net I would bring one, although there wasn't really anywhere easily to hang one from in our room. We also found a mouse dropping in our room but we never saw a mouse and there is a cat on site which probably helps to deal with these things!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I'm glad I saw these reviews after we stayed here about being robbed. We actually stayed here AFTER being robbed in Santa Teresa. We booked in for 1 night and ended up staying 2.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the price was great, especially for what is around town.
It's a nice large hotel/hostel with a good basic kitchen and the reception were always friendly and helpful.
The room was hot, but we opted for one with fan only and no aircon. You can always upgrade if you want air conditioning.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2feetwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is not a safe place to stay. Whilst we were staying here someone broke into our room in the night and stole my bag with wallet, passports, camera etc in it. Although the location is central and probably the price is fine, the experience we had here was not worth it at all.

Probably the worst was the reaction of the staff, particularly the owner, who were not only unresponsive, unhelpful and pretty unsympathetic but also complained I was 'not a nice person' because I asked to be refunded for the nights we had booked ahead but would now no longer be staying!

Having offered to come with us to the police station this offer was withdrawn, with the owner saying she lived hours away, and then turning up half an hour later and sitting on the chairs outside reception! The owner also said there had been similar incidents of robbery but was clearly in no rush to put better locks on the doors or even notices up to warn other travellers to be extra careful.

Do not stay here - the rooms are unsafe and the owner unhospitable

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomAurora, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hello, my name is Tom. Since the 1 of June 2013 I am been leasing Hotel Aurora. I have read a lot of reviews of course. I am really sorry for what happened in Hotel Aurora in March 26. I can imagine that you feel really bad and in the reaction of the employees of Hotel Aurora. I have asked, ´how did all this happen´. First, the security guard didn´t take his job serious. He didn´t saw the thieves. The next morning there was no employee present who want to take the responsibility. In this terrible situation the manager have to report the crime. The police can make an investigation and make a declaration for the insurance company.
These proceedings didn´t happened. I can´t change what has happened. Although I wasn´t the manager yet, I take the complaints serious, because I don´t want that this happen again. I have taken actions to prevent this happen again. First, the security guard doesn´t work anymore in this hotel and second we have security cameras, so we can see what happens day and night. My new staff takes safety very seriously. We have security 24 hours and with the cameras I can guarantee you that Hotel Aurora is a very safe place.
Thanks for reading my response.
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
420 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing