We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hostel with kind of a lodge feel”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When I reached Montezuma, I needed a little break from the group dorms so myself and two new friends decided to splurge on a private 3-bed room with AC and private bath. It was heaven for $16 /night/pp.
Seemed like a quieter place, but we made some new friends there and livened things up. Very conveniently located, right in town near all the great cafes and restaurants.

The only bad things I could say is that it could be a tad cheaper all around, and that the walls are too thin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SlightlyUnruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was so great. We had an amazing room with double beds, a small fridge, a big wardrobe & beautiful bathroom.
There is a small public kitchen downstair.
The staff was really helpful and Ivonne was so lovely.
The place is clean & beautiful.

When there were some concert in town, we can hear a littlebit of noise but that's the only thing, otherwise, that place was perfect for us.

Room Tip: The rooms upstair are probably biggers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elisebernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica and I think this is the only place I'm even going to review. The room was great- large with 3 beds, AC, fridge and 2 ceiling fans and was by far the least amount of money we spent anywhere. It was comfortable and a steal. It even had its own balcony with two, that's *two*, hammocks on it. The communal kitchen is well-stocked and has everything you need for coffee including a bag of really good coffee. For serious cooking, no problem, there are two little groceries within a block and the kitchen has a full compliment of pots and pans and plateware.
But really the greatest thing about this place is the staff, namely Ivania and her sister. Ivania was barraged daily by all of my family's questions and demands and she never, really, actually never was without a smile and a patient, useful answer. She helped us find things to do (snorkeling trip!), great restaurants and trouble-shot problems in the room like finickly hot water. Most amazing of all, we ended up burdened with about two pounds of strawberries and when my Dad asked if maybe there was a blender to make "batidas" with, Iviana brought one from her home, on a bus, and her sister spontaneously volunteered to make them. She not only made excellent shakes, adding lemon, sugar and milk and ice, but bonus of all bonuses she even did all of the dishes for us. Just the sweetest, best people, I recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed there two nights. The room was comfortable, and clean. Everything was simple but correct. No wifi inside the room. The last day, however, a horrible smell invaded the court, but it didn't last long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed in a private room for 3 nights.

Great location, far enough away from the main drag so that it is not too noisy but only a 2 minute walk away from bars and beach. Unfortunately we had a room by the side of the road so was noisy in the mornings until early evening with the sound of ATVs passing up and down.

Very flaky wifi apart from by reception where all they have are a few wonky tables and very uncomfortable plastic chairs.

Showers were fine, contrary to other reviewers we did not try moving the shower head when you can see live wires so we were never shocked!

The rooms themselves were spacious with great a/c and very clean. For what it is, its great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After spending a sleepless night at Hotel Moctezuma on the main drag, my mother and I searched elsewhere for a place that matched our budget, was in a good location, and was clean and quiet. We found all of that (and luckily the last vacancy!) at Aurora. The Dutch man running this joint was great - super helpful, accommodating, and friendly. This is by no means a luxury spot, so if that's what you're looking for, I suggest going elsewhere. This is, however, one of the affordable places in Montezuma that still offers acceptable quality. Plus, can't go wrong with free coffee all hours of the day, and use of the kitchen. I found this to be a hidden gem, and a really lovely experience.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor close to reception have the best wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racheldc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Pros:
- The air conditioner was powerful (except for on the 3rd floor, which practically did not work at all)
- Proximity to everyhing was great.
- Electricity in the room
- Fridge in the room

The Cons:
- Suicide Showers! The way that water for the shower is heated is through the use of electric shower heads ("Ducha Lorenzetti") which were apparently installed by a 6 year old. The wires are exposed, and when I reached up to change the angle of the shower head, I got zapped. At least 6 others that I spoke to staying in the Hotel Aurora all got zapped by their shower heads. And the water gets backed up in the drain. I spent every day of my stay there praying that I didn't get electrocuted in the shower.
- No place to stash your stuff. No drawers, no closets, just living out of a suitcase on the floor.
- The beds are laughably hard, until it's not funny anymore. My roommate and I made jokes about snuggling with the springs sticking out of the bed, but in all seriousness, I had to go for an hour long massage upon returning just to get the knots out of my back and neck from sleeping so uncomfortably.
- They only give you a top sheet to sleep with. No blankets. If you and your roommate tolerate air conditioning at night differently, either you're screwed or he/she is.
- Wifi signal is only in the reception area, where you may sit outside at lopsided patio tables on uncomfortable folding plastic chairs. There are no electrical outlets in the reception area. The joke is that at Hotel Aurora, you may have power or you may have wifi signal, but not both.
- Only one towel per person, and they mean it. Don't even think about asking for one to use as a floor mat for your shower.
- Walls are paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the neighboring rooms. Of course they hear you as well!
- They have a system in which you are expected to leave your key at the front desk upon exiting since they have someone at the desk 24 hours, except the concierge takes long breaks in the middle of the night, and if you're returning after being out late, oftentimes you will be left ringing the bell for service for upwards of 10 minutes, unless you're like me and fashion a lifting device using a stick to reach between the bars and grab your key. (That should clue you into how secure they leave the room keys when they exit)

Room Tip: Don't get the room on the third floor, if air conditioning is important to you Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing