We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Montezuma?”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed here for four nights, clean and friendly place. Room was large enogh for four (we were only two). Good location. The staff speak only spanish, they understood some English words anyway. The wi-fi did'nt work very well.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

Location is great! The guys running the hotel were very helpful. After a nightmare experience up the hill at Luna LLena, this place was a welcome breath of fresh air. Rooms are basic and clean, but the walls are too thin in some of them. My group of seven used three rooms. Even the more "pampered" members of the group had no real complaints about the place. All in all an okay place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aardvarmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights. The location is very convenient a stonethrow away from the main street. The room (no 4 on the ground floor) was clean. I found no need for the hotwater or AC which dropped the price from 40 to 25 dollars. The outdoor area and communal kitchen gives a potential for social interaction. The staff was a bit reserved but all in all I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebrun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I am a bit surprised by the amount of extremely bad reviews this hotel got. It is true that not all the rooms are terrific value, but if you have a look around the hotel, you might find one to suit your needs. I spent there four nights with my boyfriend. When I went there to have a look at the rooms, Donald, the friendly receptionist, showed me two rooms: a street view room on the ground floor for 25 USD a night, noisy and with a musty smell. The other room was on the upper floor - as far as I remember it was room # 6. It was dry, nicely decorated and all wooden. The rate was 30 USD - not the best bet you can get if you opt for cold instead of hot shower and decide not to use the air condition, but I found it o.k. in comparison to a 25 USD-room I had had a look at in another hotel. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis - in my experience this is not always the case in budget hotels in Central America. The community area at the hotel is very nice: You can chill in hammocks and sitting areas and observe birds from the veranda. There is a well-kept and well-equipped community kitchen on the ground floor, and other than some of the reviews say, it was cleaned every morning by the staff. It is closed after 9pm because there is a room right next to it; but if the room is empty the staff will leave the kitchen open until later if you ask them to.
It is true that the rooms on the ground floor have a humidity problem and it is therefore absolutely normal that their doors are open all day when they are vacant. I have seen this in many hotels in tropical areas before. I suggest you choose one of the wooden rooms on the upper floor which are not musty at all. One of the reviews mentions scorpions - I haven't seen any during my stay. What you have to be prepared to find in the kitchen are crabs, but they are nothing to worry about. Three cons: 1) WiFi is only available in the reception area. 2) The window of my room opened to the court yard just like a room the staff was using. One night I could hear their TV until late at night and could not sleep for hours. 3) I had not much contact with her, but the German manager (not the owner who lives somewhere else) was not a very charming person. She might remember you to pay your rate for the following night if you have not yet done it until midday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

where do I even start... We got a mountain side room.... but everything was bad: from the ugly smelly room (musty) for $35 a night, plus $10 for air conditioning... to the awful noise coming from the road just above the hotel.... dirty kitchen, nonresponsive staff... it's just awful! Definitely not worth a penny.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribieroise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is a absolute no go ! This place is not healthy !

The doors of the rooms are all open when you arrive there. We know why ! They have a big moisture problem in this building. We hartly could sleep that night, we even went outside a couple of times that night to get some fresh air. 6 am we packed our stuff and left. Every time when we opened our bag even after 4 days the hotel smell was still there in our luggage.

1 free parking spot
no breakfast served but I think there was a public kitchen

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen_oomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We have been staying at this hotel 2 nights, paid in advance, if not after one night we would have left. tHis hotel looks quite nice when you arrive, there is a kitchen, useful if you don't plan spending too much money, but regarding the room.. We paid 40 dollars with no hot water (not needed anyway). There was an awful smell in the room, quite disgusting, smell of damp I guess, the bathroom was really basic, some insects as well that lots of moskitos... It's a shame because as I say the outside is nice, but for that price that's definitely NOT worth it, unless you do not find anything else better really...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#10 of 18 in Montezuma
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing