We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucy”
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed 27 November 2009

very clean, cheap, great kitchen and the nicest view.
this hostel is popular with travellers so you wont be short of people to meet.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
Thank alliecoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Lucy's for a week in June. It was very peaceful. We had a choice of private bathroom but chose instead a corner room on the first floor as it had a window on each of two walls. The sound of the ocean waves were worth it alone. The hotel is directly on the beach and we were lucky enough to be there for the highest tide in years. The waves came up to the top step of the beach stairs. The rooms and bathrooms were kept spotless and were cleaned daily. We had no problems at all with the kitchen, though it was hard to keep ice frozen in the freezer with many hands opening and closing the refridgerator. We saw no signs of mice or rats anywhere. Howler monkeys awoke us several times in the early am and the many parrots and birds are better than any rooster for waking you in the morning. Lucy was very good to deal with but her afternoon shift guy had no sense of humor. We had intended on only a few days but stayed 8. The area boasts several nature walks and very beautiful beaches. There are a few nightclubs that are popular in town though we did not attend. Restaurants are predictably more expensive than other Costa Rican locations but there were a few affordable meals. We mostly cooked in Lucy's kitchen.
I would suggest taking the bus to nearby Cobano to shop as prices were a lot cheaper. Especially for liquor. We enjoyed everything about Montezuma. BTW we checked out several other Hostals in the area and this was the best bang for the buck. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Do I dare share the secrets? Let me just tell you that this little Hostel is the perfect place for me, now I cant tell you if you will like it. Its not fancy, there are shared bathrooms, cold water and no AC. But this is home for me. It was the best place we stayed in the entire trip and its the place I will definetly return to. It is walking distance to the small town center where you can party all night, yet far enough away not to hear others partying all night. The rooms where super clean and comfortable. And the people where amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innerpeaceseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

The bedrooms are lovely and clean. The location in great and it is just overlooking the ocean. HOWEVER I was disgusted when I heard that a guy saw 3 rats in the kitchen. The next night I actually saw two of them. I told a guy working there but he just shrugged his shoulders so maybe it is the norm there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We didn't book when we got to Montezuma, but Hotel Lucy had space and I knew it would be pretty good accommodations for a cheap price (approx $20 a night). We got there late around 11pm because of a snag with the ferry from Puntarenas (note that the off-season schedule is different from the ones posted online), so we got checked in by the security guard, who doesn't speak any English but is patient with your Spanish and a really sincere guy. I really trusted him.

The room that we were initially going to get was small but clean and very nice looking with its own mosquito net. We were able to switch to another room for the same price but with a private bathroom. The problem was that while the room part was the same niceness, the bathroom doesn't have a door (just a curtain), and it made the room smell sort of musty. We still appreciated the bathroom, as the shared one in the hall seemed kind of dirty (though we later concluded it must've been just a lot of dark wet sand on the floor, and it was much cleaner in the morning). The only problem with our room was that there was also a random window into the hallway, so it could get noisy if people were talking. Also, there were a few of these tiny Costa Rican ants walking the wall. I suppose we could have gotten a better room if we'd reserved or arrived earlier, but we were okay with the one we had.

Despite the room only being so-so, the cheap price and amazing other stuff totally made up for it. The location is right on the beach, and there are hammocks and beach chairs in the backyard that you can lie in to watch the waves and the sunset. From what I saw around, a lot of other hotels were slightly removed from the beach. The stars at night are stunning, and the best part is walking along the beach at night during low tide and playing with hermit crabs - they are literally everywhere, so bring a flashlight to avoid stepping on them! Also, even though you're on the beach, the town is a really close walk a few blocks away, and entrance to the waterfalls is just across the street. We went into town and did the Isla Tortuga snorkeling tour the next day.

There is also a kitchen that all guests can use with some free coffee, but be warned that it doesn't open until something like 6am, so don't leave your food in there if you leave early in the morning before that!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Hotel Lucy welcomed us without a reservation (off-season) to a very basic but clean room. The view from our window was spectacular, the ocean less than 20ft away. All night we listened to the waves. No restaurant, but plenty within walking distance. 5 mins walk to town, 5 mins walk to waterfall hike (hiking sandals recommended), 20 mins drive to Cabo Blanco Park $10/night

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SFTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

It is a gem. Very clean with baths down the hall. Some rooms face the ocean which is only about 50 m away. Lots of wood decor. It is also very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.4 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing