We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Montezuma!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Downtown Montezuma Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My boyfriend and I just left the Downtown hostel and we had an excellent stay! Big private rooms, comfy beds and a well stocked kitchen. The hostel is very clean and has a nice chill vibe. The common area is shady and has 2 hammocks for lounging. Elena is an excellent hostess and was very friendly and accommodating during our stay. We were even treated to a special sangria one day! The pancakes and coffee every morning are a really nice touch. The coffee has been the best I've had so far and the syrup for the pancakes is worth staying here alone! And for those looking for their pet fix, she has a nice cat and dog!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    21
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
1
32
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Elena is a great hostess and runs a clean and comfortable hostel. She accommodated our group of three in a double room at a really fair price. Awesome suggestions for surfing, yoga, and other local activities. Good social atmosphere without being a party hostel. Added bonus: free pancakes and coffee in the mornings.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EToop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

this is the friendliest place to stay in montezuma.a great place to relax, hang out, and meet friends. everything is super clean and the rooms are cozy and comfortable. as a solo female traveler i felt very safe here with the night security guard. i also have to echo everyone else's sentiments about Elena - she is the best hostess ever and she's always there to help or just to chat. i will definitely stay here next time i'm in montezuma.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My stay at this hostel was terrrific! Elena, the owner of the hostel, was extremely hospitable and accomodating for all of her guests. She created a warm and welcoming environment, with groovy tunes playing in the background, hammocks available in the lounge area, and if you are lucky, she shared fresh fruit drinks, tahini, and fish! Elana was always enthusaistic to accomodate and assit her guests to ensure we enjoy their travels regardless of her long hours of work. Communal potluck dinners were frequent, as everyone shared their favourite flavours. Facilities and rooms were clean, and the dorms were spatious! Great value for your money and highly recommended!

Shannon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfalconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Downtown Montezuma Hostel is... well right in the middle of Montezuma. The hostel was clean and a great location to explore the area. The owner was great. She is super friendly and helpful during my stay. She even organized a group dinner for all of the guests

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winooski, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was a wonderful find. The hostel is fairly new and the rooms don't have a lot of personality yet, but the location and atmosphere more than make up for that. Elena, the owner, is always around if there are any issues (she even leaves her phone number when she goes home at night!) and seems to really enjoy meeting travelers and giving advice. The common area is the crown jewel of the hostel. Folks meet, chat and hang out, often cooking communal dinners in the always open kitchen. It's hard to have a bad location in Montezuma, but the hostel is right downtown, close to restaurants, grocery stores and of course, the beaches. This place also has, without a doubt, the BEST toilet paper I've seen in all of Central America! When I return, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbunge74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Fab little hostel with a very cosy, home-y feel and with a groovy "spirit of montezuma" atmosphere. It´s not brand new, huge or bursting with facilities but the kitchen is well stocked, the pancakes & coffee are free and the owner Elena and her cat are great hostesses. You feel as if you are not treated as a customer, but as a friend. Book ahead if you can because this place was deservedly very popular :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muaethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#2 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Montezuma Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Montezuma Hostel

Property: Downtown Montezuma Hostel
Address: across El Jardin, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing