We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boys from Kentucky at the Sano Banano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boys from Kentucky at the Sano Banano”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I highly recommend this hotel, the staff is excellent and very friendly. Thanks to Emma the manager for seeing to our every need and taking such good care of us. The food was fantastic and fresh. A real bonus was the tropical pool at the Llang Llang resort a lovely ten minute walk up the beach. I look forward to my next visit. Thanks again for a great time. All the best. Alan G. Downie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    74
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
72
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

we just left from our stay at our favorite hotel. we stayed from the 12th to the 19th of may. the room was 55 dollars for the two of us as it is off season from 1st of may to 1st of december. i cant speak well enough of this wonderful friendly hotel. this is our third stay here. the staff is so good to us. they do such a good job making us feel at home. there are movies every night in the restaurant for a 6 dollar consumption charge. our room was clean and comfortable. the floors are all tiled. and it has cable tv. they are sister hotels with ylang ylang so you can walk down the beach and take advantage of the pool at ylang ylang. we love you sano banano and will be back again soon!

Room Tip: we slept like babies. for me i cant see how you can find a better value anywhere in montezuma
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiffertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Montezuma is a great place to visit, its very relaxing, no hassle, very small, very pretty. El sano banano: really nice hotel, the restaurant is nice, so is the sitting area and the garden, you can see birds, iguanas, and lots of geckos. The staff is great, very nice and helpful, the food is amazing, we had sushi, chicken kebabs with bbq, fish with a shrimp sauce, coconut soup with shrim and ceasar salad and I recommend it all! everything was delicious, so was the breakfast which is included and they serve bigg portions! the Yland Yland is beautiful, peaceful, the pool is really nice, you can see lots of monkeys, they have happy hour 3-6p, and is right on the beach, el sano banano is only a couple of minutes away from the beach and a 15 min walk from ylang ylang. Theres is a supermarket "Mamatea" very close if you need to buy something and its cheaper than the one next to el sano banano, if you want to visit cabuya and Cabo Blanco national park, there is public transportation leaving at 11:15 and 1:15 I think. The rooms are small, but nice and clean, the only complaint I have is the water, we didnt get a lot of water and it was either super hot or cold. It was the perfect time to go because the weather is still nice, and not a lot of people...I highly recommend el Sano Banano :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathe1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port charlotte, fl.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at El Sano Banano for 9 nights, We had breakfast there evey day, with many daily choices, it was allways very good. we had several dinners there also, each better than the last, which was hard to do !!! Amy, Martene, and ALL the staff we the best !! The rooms are nice and clean. Big warm shower, but small bathroom. Only one problem wifi did not work for beans.Ihad 2 smart phones & 2 lap tops, had wifi maby 3 minutes in 9 days. all else was great, especially breakfast out back, huge blue birds, beautiful red-brown squirles, and iguanas shared our food.

Helpful?
Thank ckmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YlangYlangManagement, Manager at El Sano Banano Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We are very happy to hear that you had such a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the restaurant so much!
Our internet provider was having some serious issues which took them about 10 days to repair, this only affected a couple places in town and unfortunately we were one of them. We kept trying to fix the problem internally but were not able to as it was not something we could repair...
The issue has been repaired and our internet is up and running as well as usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've been visiting montezuma since 1992, stayed at el sano banano, 6 times total, and quality price service is the best. The bed and breakfast is simple but clean , air condition , safe, the food is awesome, service is personal and they make you feel like home. The hotel is center, so you are next to the groceries, near all the action and restaurants, well isolated ( noise) The ylang ylang is 10-15 min walk on the beach, unless you are not in shape. anyway when you go to the beach as Playa Grande, or Cocalitos you still have to walk in front of ylang ylang where you can have lunch , enjoy the swimming pool, the food is pricey but delicious.

Beeing downtown is helpfull to be close to walk to the cascade, take the bus to visit around,

Now they have a galery , terrase outside so you can eat surround by trees, less noisy than front street side.

We always feel welcome and i certainly return, even if Montezuma is more crowded, comparing to 92

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_QTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I spent 5 nights at el sano banano on a girls trip with three girlfriends. The rooms arent huge or elaborate but for the price, they were great. Also, the location cant be beat. A short walk from the beach and right in the main street in the middle of Montezuma "town," with a short walk to lots of great restaurants and little shops. The breakfast every morning is included and delicious!!! El Sano Banano's sister resort, Ylang Ylang, is a short beach-front walk away and is beautiful. Nice pool/beachfront/great food and happy hour drinks. Also we saw a TON of monkeys on the Ylang Ylang property! The staff at both hotels are GREAT - very friendly, helpful, and were great with coordinating our excursions. If you are looking for price, location, good food, and excellent customer service - el sano banano is for you!!

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size greatly. We lucked out and got a room with a huge window overlooking the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

When we arrived the staff showed us to our room and it was smaller than we had hoped with just two double beds. There were three of us with big backpacks so we decided to check to see if they could give us a bigger room. They were able to accomodate us so we were very happy. The new room was much bigger and we each had our own bed. It's a no frills room but it suited us just fine since we weren't spending much time there. One night we were falling asleep and then we heard a loud chirping sound in the room. We almost had a heart attack! We all jumped out of our beds to investigate and found a gecko. Who knew they made that sound! Breakfast is delicious and I highly recommend the banana pancakes. One bird kept flying down taking sugar packets and then one of them started landing on my head. After the second time, I opted to eat inside. Dinner was delicious too. We went to use the facilities at Ylang Ylang every day and loved it. I also took salsa lessons there and the teacher was excellent. The monkeys came to visit the pool every day so we got some great shots. One of them almost got away with one of our bags though! He helped himself to our potato chips instead. The last day we left at 6am and they provided us tea/coffee and fresh banana bread for breakfast. We want to send a special thank you to Martin for all his help during our stay there. The only problem is the aforementioned bird tapped on our window every morning at 7am! She was a serious pain in the ...but we are very happy we stayed here. Great value when you use the facilities at Ylang Ylang.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the top floor in the back and that is where the bird liked to visit early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 18 in Montezuma
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
247 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Property: El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing