We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great budget hotel, perfect location in montezuma center ( all three blocks of it:) and right next to the beach, simple and clean room, but tv small and up high, and be careful of the walls, they are done in rough finish and if you touch, you may get a scratch, but not a deal breaker. Breakfast was included and had a nice variety of options (however not buffet as was listed, but rather a drink and an entree). Plenty of options for vegetarians. Best part are the people. Rafa was especially helpful with suggestions. Must visit and hike the nearby waterfall if physically able!!!! If you want to get away to a quite area, walk 15 min down beach to their sister upscale hotel Ylang Ylang. They have a great pool area with lounge chairs and hammocks and amazing happy hour food and drinks. If you are a colada fan, try their piña, papaya and banana coladas. I'll be dreaming of those for a while. Overall, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing parking lot and patio, away from main street, which could get noise when night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsEnchumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

I booked a two queen bed-room online and when we check in the manager assigned us to a super small room, with a mini double bed and a single bed.
Then we found out the shower water was nearly dripping out and completely cold, the manager came and spent 15 mins trying to persuade us all we need to do is to wait. When he was finally proved wrong, he changed us to another room, much larger with two queen beds (how lucky we were!). Not surprisingly the water is still dripping cold, and the plumber that he promised to come never showed up.
This is definitely the WORST hotel experience I had during my entire stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xujun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uumatter, Owner at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear guest,

I am happy we were able to provide you with a room change that was to your liking. Unfortunately, during your stay, we experienced a water outage in the Village of Montezuma that affected all the local hotels and as a result were unable to resolve the situation immediately.

Our maintenance chief was alerted but did not enter your room directly as the problem was the town water system in general. He reported the problem to the person in charge, Emma, who in turn called the person in charge of our town's water supply, who later discovered that one of the holding tanks located a kilometer from town had ruptured.

We do have reserve water tanks at the hotel for times like these but the amount in reserve is exhaustible.

At the moment, the Nicoya Peninsula is experiencing an extended drought and we as a town have taken steps to resolve this problem by connecting our water system with the neighboring town of Cóbano.

Fortunately, our guests at Sano Banano are welcome to use the showers and pool at our sister hotel on the beach, Ylang Ylang, where we have our own ample and proprietary water system.

We apologize for this inconvenience and would like to mention that as a hotel owner, not all things are in our control. We do our utmost to resolve any problems as quickly as possible and will go out of our way to help you in any way we can.

Sincerely,

Patricia (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was a perfect place to stay in Montezuma! Stayed at El Sano Banano (Ylang Ylang's sister hotel in town). It was a quieter place than most hotels right in town--next to a grocery instead of a bar (but beach and nightlife are still very short walk from hotel). Has air conditioning, hot water, and safe in the room--all the big necessities. One big advantage of being right in town: you don't have a long uphill hike to your hotel at the end of the day. Great food in the restaurant too. Access to the fabulous pool at Ylang Ylang (without the price) was a definite plus--great after a beach walk but without the premium prices--towels provided too. (There's not really a shuttle to Ylang Ylang--only runs at 8:30 am, but it's not a problem to take a pretty walk on the beach to get there).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SC_traveler392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at El Sano Banano for 7 nights and it was everything I needed. The place is clean, the staff is very nice and helpful. It is right in town. I was able to use the amenities at their resort, ylang ylang which was beautiful, and also took their yoga classes overlooking the beach. I would definitely stay here again:)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank chellebelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I'm not sure how this hotel managed to obtain such a high ranking. Although the staff is amazing and the food is good, the hotel itself is horrible.

1. In some rooms, there is not a single window. In other rooms, there is a window but you can't get the sun blocked in case you decide to have a nap during the day. Also, if there is a party outside, you will have a hard time falling asleep.

2. No hot water, or should I say, no water at all? This is the most frustrating part. After a day at the beach one would hope that for over a $120/night you can get a basic shower. Well, no. There is a serious problem with water pressure and if you are lucky and there is some pressure, it will be cold anyway. At some times, there was no water at all!!!

3. No room for clothes/stuff.

On the positive side, the staff is very nice and the hotel is secured at night. The food is pretty good too. There is a/c & internet. Also, when you reserve a room at Sano banano you may access the pool and the restaurant at a fancier hotel - ylang ylang. This is a good option if you're willing to walk 10-15 minutes along the beach.
Let me finish with a comment on the location that many mention in their review. Montezuma is a tiny place. Everything is in "downtown" except for the above mentioned ylang ylang resort. There is absolutely nothing special in the Sano banano's location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uumatter, Owner at Sano Banano Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for mentioning the positives regarding your stay: Nice Staff, Security, Air Conditioning, Free WiFi, the Good Food offered at our restaurant and free access to our sister hotel Ylang Ylang. It makes us happy that you noticed these very important details as they are the points most mentioned by travelers when traveling. Let me add that the hotel is clean and quiet for a hotel in an energetic little town.

Regarding your review, let me clarify a few points:

First, we only rent one room that does not offer any window, Room 11. The rest of our rooms all have windows that either look out to the Park/street, Garden or a hallway. All of our rooms have curtains, except for Room 11, which has no window due to its location and is often preferred by people who want to sleep in late as it is also our most quiet.

Second, we do have hot water in all of our rooms, unless there is a problem with the town's water supply. The in-room hot water units we offer are On-Demand heaters which only heat up the water when you open the valve to shower. Each unit has a dial where you choose the temperature. It is possible you did not notice this and the temperature was set to off or cool. On occasion the town's water supply experiences brief outages related to excessive use and/or pump failure. These likely were the issues you experienced during your stay. We do have reserve water tanks at the hotel for times like these but the amount in reserve is exhaustible.

Third, all of our rooms have shelving space and hangers. We apologize if there was not enough space for your belongings.

We believe our prices are very fair in relation to the services we offer and we do our best to keep our guests happy. It is with pleasure we serve you and hope to make any corrections we can as long as our guests let us know what is needed during their stay...

Sincerely,

Patricia (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and the staff was truly amazing. Everyone was extremely helpful and prompt in anything we asked. The food was top notch in taste and presentation. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. Great location to everything and we enjoyed movie night.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Sugarjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

El Sano Banano is in the middle of town, which is great to be so close to all the town has to offer in food, beach, and entertainment. There is A/C, which is a must in the hot, humid town of Montezuma. Every night they play a movie in the restaurant. Everyone was super friendly! They also let you use the pool at their sister hotel Ylang Ylang, which is a super awesome pool about a 15 minute walk down the beach. My friend and I were very happy with our stay. Negatives: our room had a view of a wall and a roof. Our room was above the kitchen, so we were woken up each morning to the sound of silverware clanking. You can hear everyone in the halls and yelling coming from the streets all night, but ear plugs blocked it all out enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistress_Flamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
341 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#13 of 18 in Montezuma
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sano Banano Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sano Banano Beachside Hotel

Address: | In Front of the Park Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sano Banano Beachside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sano Banano Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing