We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Good Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuma Tours

Zuma Tours
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Water Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Shuttle/Transfer Connections with Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Uvita, Sierpe. Also: Sport Fishing, Horseback Rides, ATV Tours, Canopy Tours, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. Tours and transportation, Zuma Tours: a reliable and professional tour company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute Good Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We used Zuma Tours for the Tortuga Island snorkeling. Professional, friendly,and very well organized. English is not a problem for non Spanish speaking folks. This was as great experience and total fun to boot. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giantmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    72
    17
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Poor visbility”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We went on this trip to snorkle. Unfortunately the visisbility was zero. According to our tourguide it had been like this for a while. I do not understand why you do not mention this to your potential customers So you have a choice. For us Tortulla Island was not the main reason to do this tour. I realise this is personal and nature does her own thing. But it bothers me that the staff was familiar with the poor visibility and charged full prize and did not mention this while booking. Staff on the boat were very nice and helpfull.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blubje72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear, thank you for your feedback, and our apologies for the bad comunication, but you know on this wavy period from swells from the south affects the Nicoya Gulf, and the water conditions change a lot in short times or from one two days to other, some days we even dont run the tour for that reason, regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Professional operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We used Zuma Tours for a trip to Tortuga Island (highly recommended) and for transport from Montezuma to San Jose via boat and van. Everyone we interacted with was friendly, competent and professional. Well run operation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly, convient, and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We took advantage of the services Zuma Tours offers during our trip to Costa Rica. We arranged for a airport transfer on our arrival in Tabor, the Tortuga Island Tour, and then the Boat trip from Montezuma to Jaco. Each time we were met ON TIME by a friendly and smiling driver. The Vans were clean and comfortable, the drivers were safe and very knowledgeable. The Tortuga Island Tour, although a bit of a tourist trap was loads of fun. Cold drinks on the boat, we snorkeled and saw amazing fish, even saw dolphins! The food prepared for lunch was delicious. be warned though, Tortuga Island is a privately owned Island and operates as a business. there is no exploring beyond the beach, beach chairs have to be rented, and if you should need to use the bathroom - you must purchase something from the gift shop first. Yes, there is a cheesy gift shop on the island. Even still, We had a great time and were very impressed with the Zuma Tours staff and boats!.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zuma Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a fantastic time with Zuma Tours. We enjoyed the Tortuga Island tour and actually did it twice within our 4 week stay. The staff was excellent and the food and service were outstanding. We also used Zuma's water taxi which I have to admit is a lot better than going on the ferry which takes quite a bit longer and involves a one hour road trip to the ferry dock.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zuma Tours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Paquera, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Zuma Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing