We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This place was really nice. The hostel is set along a hill in the forest. We were treated many times to monkeys meandering through the trees. Squirrels and Iguanas were also sighted. The open common rooms with people coming and going was quite relaxing with a great atmosphere.

All the staff were exceptionally friendly. Especially Gwen. An easy walk from Montezuma, I would absolutely return to Luna Llena.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geologytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at Luna Llena for 5 nights in the dorm room. It's a perfectly nice hotel - up the hill from the main action (which means you can avoid feeling guilty about lying on the beach all day - it's a good workout!), with some nice views of the ocean and a good-sized lounge area. There is one dorm room with 5 beds, which - at $10 per night - makes a great deal. The room is perfectly comfortable, complete with fans and lock boxes, but it is right next to the kitchen and lounge area, so it can be noisy. The hotel has a strict 10 pm quiet policy, but staff begins cleaning and making coffee *bright* and early which will disturb a light sleeper like myself. The guest at the hotel were very friendly, but because most of the rooms are private, Luna Llena lacks that true "hostel" feel, if that's what you're looking for.

I found the staff very helpful in terms of planning activities and transportation. They will offer lots of recommendations in terms of places to stay elsewhere in Costa Rica -- just keep in mind that, as always, they are usually based on a mutual agreement/commission policy.

A few things that would have kicked my experience at the hotel up a notch: breakfast (at least fruit and/or bread), hammocks (a staple for any beach getaway), and more monkeys! (Despite my near-constant vigil, I didn't see any from Luna Llena; when I went to visit friends at the hotel next door, they were everywhere!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,D.C.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location of Luna Llena, up the hill from the main intersection of Montezuma, is one of its best assets. It's in a forest, with monkeys, crabs, and birds all around. This setting makes staying there an interesting experience, as you have an opportunity to see wildlife without taking a rainforest tour. It also means there are lots of bugs. But the hotel has mosquito netting to protect you while you sleep. The rooms are nice and mostly rather basic. The cost is a bit high for the quality of the rooms, but the rest of the hotel, especially the kitchen and common areas, are very comfortable. We looked at other hotels in Montezuma, and Lune Llena had one of the nicest ambiances of any in its price range. If you're on a budget, it may not be your best option. But you're willing to pay a little more for comfortable common areas and a good setting, stay at Luna Llena.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I will always stay here when I visit montezuma - my boyfriend and I stayed three nights in room 3 and loved it!
Nice big kitchen to share, amazing outdoor showers and porches with seating on your private porch. Fresh towels and sheets each morning, big fan and screened windows and a mosquito net provided (we didnt need it). It's a steep 75m climb fromthe centre of town but it's completely manageable, even if you're tired or drunk!

I love it here

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Me and my family (2 adults and 3 children) spent about 1 week at the Luna Llena. The best spot in our 3 weeks trip. The place is really charming, has a shared kitchen, located in the forest with lots of white face and howler monkeys eating in the trees around. We were waken up every morning by a troup of howler monkeys. Bad for hangovers...but great experience when traveling with a family hoping to see wildlife. The staff was kind, helpful and sympatic. The location is great, up on the hill before Montezuma center, which makes it a little more quiet. Book exchange, few games for the kids...hot and cold showers (but who needs a hot shower in Montezuma?). We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This is an amazing hostel. The view of the ocean and the jungle is breath taking. The service is fantastic-all of the staff spoke excellent english and were very helpful in booking tours for us and advising us on things to do in the area. The hostel has an amazing vibe and the decor is cozy and charming. We could have easily stayed for weeks if our time had permitted! Book in advance-it is worth it! Make sure you bring bugs spray! Dont forget your camera for all of the monkeys you will see from your balcony!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexxx031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in February. We had #6 - with a private bath. The facilities were what we expected given the price, photos and descriptions on the web. Rustic and basic, with a super chill vibe. You are living in the jungle (don't expect Holiday Inn with AC and TV) - if you are up for the adventure - it's completely worth it. We loved our little private deck, where we could watch the wild life.

Most importantly, we experienced EXCELLENT service at Luna Llena. We were originally supposed to stay 3 nights, but had to change plans unexpectedly. Not only did Inge completely understand (and not charge any fees) but she gave us advice in choosing our next accommodation and helped us to book a complicated leg of travel when no one else would help us. Thanks Inge!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing