We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, natural place”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful, natural place”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a beautiful hostel with very friendly staff and cute lazy cats that you quickly learn to love. Its very simplistic with many cute hippie decorations. The rooms are very simple and comfortable with a mosquito net over the bed. There are hot (not really hot) and cold showers to use that are clean and the kitchen is large and well equipped to make cooking comfortable. There is wifi and a TV along with a few sofas in the lounge area. The whole thing is quite outdoorsy - the rooms as well - so be comfortable with some insects and small lizards. There are monkeys and mini skunks all around you, and it feels like a treehouse amidst the jungle. A bit of an uphill walk from the centre but the beauty makes up for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PZTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for one night which was perfect. You get a good workout getting to your room (stairs) and had monkeys throwing mangoes at us when we arrived. The room is very nice, quiet and in the middle of the jungle. If you dont mind bugs you are fine, however you still have a mosquito net to protect your core (doesnt cover the whole bed). We had a little patio outside, with a water view. We could observe the monkeys right from our patio until the tropical storm started (licked a bit in the room). The location is excellent 5min from the town (walking) and the staff is very friendly. The only thing that would refrain me from staying long term is the bugs, but you are in the middle of the jungle so cant really avoid it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costarican in San José
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Bordered by green zone and rolling hills behind, Montezuma is a heaven for local flora and fauna, in addition to providing outstanding blue and white ocean views. Experience the best Costa Rica has to offer by appreciating the sounds of the howler monkeys and yiguirro birds in the morning and fiery sunsets in the evening....this is just another amazing hotel to go and enjoy the pleasure of being a guest over there.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

An efficiently run and friendly guest house, a cut above the usual hostels. You can see why it's popular (one of my neighbours decided to extend his stay by 2 weeks) and booking ahead is recommended. Mosquito nets are provided although when I was there, the place seemed to be bug-free. The terrace outside the kitchen is a good place to meet other travellers. One of the Luna Llena's advantages is to be situated a few minutes walk away from the bustle of the town, and the only disturbance was from the traffic grinding up the hill in first gear (which amusingly, the howler monkeys protested at, as well). If you're up for it, there are some good walks along the almost deserted beaches north of Montezuma.

Room Tip: If travelling solo, you may want a double room (e.g. #3) anyway because the single rooms (e.g. #2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

What a great place ! Wonderful staff, especially Millie the owner, who creates a warm welcoming and very friendly environment. The rooms are very comfortable with nice beds and bedding, beautiful views and warm breezes. The kitchen and common areas have a calm, laid back atmosphere where, if you choose, you can get to know the other travelers and learn from each other. Refrigerators and cookware make it easy to get groceries in town and prepare your own meals and enjoy them in the lounge area. Town is an easy 5 minute walk away with interesting restaurants and beaches. Being away from town makes it much quieter too, so the loudest noise you hear are the resident howler monkeys that I frequently viewed from the porch of my room. Most highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joiedevivre14850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I loved this place ! Millie, the owner, was extremely warm, friendly and accommodating as were all of the other people who work there. They obviously care about the place and keep it well maintained. Very mellow atmosphere in the kitchen and adjoining lounge/ common area where people eat, hang out and chill. Plenty of cookware and refrigerator space. Great coffee ! The rooms were clean, comfortable, attractive and beautifully set in the woods surrounded by trees and beautiful flowers. From my porch I saw iguanas, howler and capuchin monkeys and lots of interesting birds. It was quiet, being an easy 3-5 minute walk from the " bustle " of town. That also made it very convenient for bringing back groceries or going out to eat. I most highly recommend this place !

Room Tip: Rooms #6 and 8 were great. 8 has a private bath. The shared baths and showers were fine as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYLouieLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Luna Llena for 5 days and although the room was very basic the surroundings were so amazing an the staff so friendly that i would definitively recommend this hotel.
The room and common areas were very clean and having dinner in the dinning area was one of the highlights.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing