We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel close to the beach”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in the dorm room at Luna Llena. Everything was great, the staff was wonderful, the common area was great too. Everyone was very friendly too. A couple of nit-picks include that the towel was a little small, espeycially to be walking through the common area to get to the showers.

Also, leave your food in the kitchen not the room, the Jungle will get into your room otherwise!

Room Tip: The Dorm room is very nice, but this is a hotel, so it gets quiet at 11 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnybrav038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This carefully maintained hostel located in the forest is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of high-season Montezuma! The lounge and kitchen areas are inviting for cooking, reading, and meeting people. The hostel offers everything you need from hot showers to WiFi. Our double room was small but clean. The friendly owner was helpful with any of our queries and made us feel at home immediately.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel offered a wonderful balance of time to myself (in a single room) and time to meet others in the kitchen/lounging area. It offers a serviceable room at an excellent rate and a kitchen for those who want to cook most meals for themselves. The staff are WONDERFUL! Every Thursday they host a barbeque (vegie and non-vegie) which creates a perfect opportunity to meet other travellers and have some delectable food (dressed with a secret Argentinian marinade). Though this trip was as a solo traveller (taking advantage of the terrific yoga classes at nearby Ylang Ylang resort), this hotel is also excellent for travelling couples and friends.

Room Tip: Cabin rooms are a little more expensive but are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic! The best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Luna llena is the perfect backpackers place; we met so many chill, amazing people. Originally we were going to stay for a week, then it turned into a week and a half, then two weeks. The common space is beautiful and very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. I really liked that there were boxes to keep our dry food in. All kinds of different wildlife visit, which is really cool and fun, but sometimes that leads to creatures sneaking into your room and night. You can hear and see the ocean from the hotel as well! Very cheerful, friendly staff...I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thousandances7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefunkchild
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This place was great! On a hill up in the jungle above the town, but very close to town. Lots of wildlife around and some really cool people. The owner and staff were super helpful.

Know it isn't for everyone. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, look elsewhere. The rooms are basic, but can't be beat for the price. That being said, there is a special kind of ambiance at this place. I won't be staying anywhere else when I'm in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefunkchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Luna Llena was the perfect place to stay in Montezuma - it seemed to fit the vibes there in the best way. I stayed in one of the single cabinas which are cute, small, basic cabins with a hint of charm, but the real appeal is the rest of the hotel. The common area is beautiful, with lovely tables and chairs, sofas and swings, all set in a rainforest/jungle setting. There were also little tables and chairs near each of t he cabinas. the bathrooms were shared, 2 with hot was, 2 without and 4 toilets as well so they were never busy. Te communal kitchen was well stocked, clean and well maintained. The staff and service was exceptional, X was incredibly helpful and all the staff are the right mix of friendly and professional. They were a real treat. It is a bout 2 blocks from town so away from the noise but close in every other regard. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Nestled into the hillside; Luna Llena exposes you to some of Costa Rica's best wildlife without paying any extra. Cabins are scattered throughout the grounds, in amongst the beautiful trees and plants. Our cabin had a double bed and some bunks, a single fan, which was enough; mosquito nets, cupboards and storage, and a safe. Shared bathrooms are a short walk up the hill, are spotless and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is complete with utensils and sharp knives, (a luxury item in most hostel kitchens) a great stove, several fridges and coffee!

The owners are extraordinarily helpful and friendly and were continually offering assistance or even just a smile. We had some great quiet nights just sitting out the front of our cabin where earlier we'd seen howler monkeys come through, then the Capuchin's, there's also a few racoons about, a few local skunks, and countless unique insects.

Add to that the chill out areas are a great place to socialise and meet new people or simply find a quiet corner and relax in the serenity of the jungle. We had surprisingly few mosquitoes as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 20 in Montezuma
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 20 in Montezuma
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 20 in Montezuma
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#2 of 20 in Montezuma
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 20 in Montezuma
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 20 in Montezuma
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing