We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and location”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view and location”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Pros:
- Amazing location. Close enough to town that you can pop home easily during the day, but far enough away that you don't hear the noise.
- The ridiculously awesome view! It's a little obscured by trees, but it's breathtaking if you can find a good spot to peer out from.
- Lots of common space to hang out, and a big shared kitchen. It was fun and relaxing to make and eat breakfast before heading out for the day.
- Big rooms with safes provided.

Cons:
- The service varied--some staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, some didn't want to be bothered to answer questions.
- We stayed in one of the rooms in the main building, and it was not completely screened in--if we wanted air (there is no A/C--we definitely wanted air!), we got bugs too. Luna Llena is in the jungle, so I would have loved a screened-in room. The room was also somewhat dark and could have been a bit cleaner.
- The shared bathrooms, sinks, and showers are all essentially outside, and you walk though common space to get to them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Two words describe Luna Llena Hotel, its owner, the owner's family and staff ---- ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights with our daughters, ages 13 and 15. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel for many reasons.
First, the staff was incredibly accommodating providing suggestions, making phone calls & reservations, and providing us with extra blankets & directions. The staff was enthusiastic and truly cared about the patrons. Second we enjoyed our time with the other hotel guests. WE met two scientists, an educator a few videographers, students, business owner... all from around the world. Relationships quickly developed through conversations and eating meals together.
There were plenty of activities to do in the surrounding area- waterfalls, horseback riding, snorkeling, swimming, walking on the beach, etc. Very safe area. Delicious restaurants. Fantastic family vacation! This was due to all the support of the Luna Llena Hotel's staff's support.

Room Tip: Cabins are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel has a variety of private rooms with and without bath and dorm to suit all budgets. We had room 8, which is actually a free standing little house closer to the road. We liked our little home a lot, but you need the provided Mosquito net on your bed as there are plenty openings for them to enter the house. The bathroom and shower worked perfectly.
Staff were super friendly and helpful, the owner Milli and her son Luciano also were very nice. For Christmas eve Milli shared a big bottle of wine and cookies with her guests. The common area is occasionally being invaded by Capuchin monkeys trying to steal food (and sometimes successfully). The place seems to attract nice guests from all over.
One little warning - the road is very close and you'll hear trucks and cars with howling engines even late at night. Bring ear plugs!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we stayed in Luna llena for the new year`s eve. the place is located up from the village, so if walking with lot of luggage it can be a bit of a hike. our private room (for four people) was standard quality (standard rustic quality:D) and I think for four people it would have been too small (we were two). the communal areas are very pretty and comfortable and the place was tidy and well kept. we were happy with the service, no breakfast included, but there is a fully equipped kitchen available (although one of the fridges seemed to be broken). the hotel organises a bbq every thursday, but somehow this time they were unable to cater the vegetarian option. great views!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having stayed in a few places in Montezuma, I can say that Luna Llena is my favourite. Not far up the hill that leads north out of town, it's priced between the low and mid range for the area, depending on what room you get. There are inexpensive dorm beds, more private rooms with shared spaces, and at least one room with a private shower and bathroom. Since that's the room we stayed in, that what this review is based on.

Luna Llena is comfortable, clean, and terraced, with reception, shared lounging areas and the kitchen, and the dorm rooms all in the same building right up at the top. There's a great view of the sunrise through the trees, and having the lounging areas and kitchen in such close proximity makes it easy to meet other travellers, or make food and wander off to your own spot. I know that the management has little control over the quality of its guests, but when we stayed there there were several really lovely guests with who I remain in touch; the sociable layout of Luna Llena really helped facilitate our meeting.

Luna Llena does not pretend to be a high-end spa or resort, and it sits beautifully in the trees, so you should expect simple accommodations (and that is not a slight, just an observation - and why travel to Costa Rica to sit inside?) and the likelihood of wildlife visitors outside of your room. We encountered titi and spider monkeys, a coati, and a variety of birds - all at a distance, but close enough to make for great pictures. The folks at Luna Llena also hold the house rules regarding safety seriously, but that never stopped any of them from being pleasant and helpful. For LGBT* travellers, our hosts (and guests) were perfectly lovely to this gay tourist and his husband.

The hotel is also a short walk from the centre of Montezuma, its many beautiful beaches, waterfalls, and the refreshing Piedras Coloradas (on the way to Playa Grande). And though there was a water shortage while we stayed at Luna Llena, the staff went out of their way to make sure there was enough water for us to make meals and clean up.

We plan to return to Montezuma and Luna Llena. It's priced just right for what it offers and, like Montezuma itself, strikes a nice balance between rustic and manicured, busy and off the beaten track.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, get room 8 - and reserve well ahead for the high season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is really beautiful and clean. There is a barbecue. The ocean view is not as amazing as expected because we can only sea the sea through the trees (even for the most expensive rooms) As we are surrounding by jungle, we can hear and see animals like monkeys and squirrels and it's really enjoyable. Be careful if you have heavy bags,there are a lot of stairs to get to the rooms! It's five minutes walk from the beach. There is only one ATM so that it can be useful to withdraw money in another city before coming.as it was out of service during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarineHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved my stay!! I traveled solo and got a private room. The grounds are really beautiful and make you feel as if there's nothing else around. I also had a nice ocean view from my room. Hard to beat for the price. You're also just a short walk from the restaurants and bar. Yes BAR...there is only one, but it is a rather charming place. If I were going back to Montezuma I would stay at Luna Llena again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing