We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquilizing stay away from home.”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Costa Rica is one of those destinations that has been on my to-go list forever and finally traveling there was everything I imagined it would be. Waterfalls, check. Jungle-like setting, check. Tons of mosquito bites, oh-boy-check! Delicious local cuisine with scrumptious plantains, check. Snorkeling, check. Beauitful beaches, check!! After getting feedback on where to go in Costa Rica, we decided on Montezuma, a hippie beach town located in the province of Puntarenas and we were very content with that choice.

I found Luna Llena through tripadvisor.com, which was my first time using the site, and I'm glad we chose to stay there. We initially booked two nights at cabina #8 with a private bathroom, but decided to stay one more night in Montezuma (waiting for AA to delivery my long lost luggage, but I won't go there)--but since #8 was booked on the third night, we checked into a different cabina nearby with a shared outdoor bathroom. We liked Luna Llena because it had that rustic, jungle feel to it (no TV in room, and surrounded by trees), but I'd have to admit that I preferred #8 over the other cabina. The #8 cabina had its own private balcony that overlooked trees, and we got to spot a gigantic lizard, gecko or whatever reptile it was and even a monkey jumping from one branch to another. We even woke up to the sound of monkeys pitter pattering on our roof.

The bed had a mosquito covering, which we used every night, yet despite that and practically drenching myself in anti-bug lotion, I was still a BIG target. The hotel service was exceptional and location-wise was perfect for us, but Luna Llena might not be for everyone. But for a traveller who likes to experience local life, I certainly did feel like a local who lived on Montezuma beach and not just a tourist on vacation for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogolizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

For an environmentally-friendly place, Luna Llena delights, however, you need to expect no luxuries: there are shared bathrooms (no paper toilettes), communal kitchen areas and no air conditioning. I stayed in room #4 and needed to take a shower before bed in order to stay cool throughout the night. The staff is very accomodating, the grounds are lush and wildlife (monkeys, agouti, spotted skunk, ctenasaurs) is always nearby - almost too close at times. The beach and town is a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlamb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My girlfriend and I recently stayed 3 nights at Luna Llena in Montezuma, and it was absolutely incredible. We stayed in #6, which was amazing and had a spectacular view of the ocean. The people we met there were all really nice and the whole place had a very relaxing, laid back feel, just the way a place in paradise should! Chris and Millie (the two owners) are very nice and incredibly helpful. If you have even the slightest interest in surfing, Chris is the man to talk to. We took a surf lesson from him and it was phenomenal. Fun and informative without being overbearing, just the way I think a surf lesson should be. Overall, an amazing experience and one I would highly recommend!!
Thanks for everything Chris and Millie!!

Jamie and Jackie

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiep04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We reserved the hotel based on the pictures and reviews on the internet. It was not what we expected it to be. We have cabin #8, the only one with a private bath which made us at least feel better. The room was too small for 4 people so our two relatives have to chek in to another hotel. Be careful with this room, we went home with bed bug bites and are still nursing them after a week. My husband had to jiggle the key and lift the door to open the room. If you like living in a tree house minus the bed bugs, this is for you.

Good thing about this hotel is they reserved a taxi for us going to the airport.

Jesse and Evelyn
Puyallup, WA USA

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I have to say the best part of my Costa Rica stay was Montezuma and a big part of it was Luna Llena. The staff Where the best Chris, Milly Inga. Personable, fun and helpful. Very clean and Eco friendly and the kitchen was well setup for anyone who likes to do there own cooking.

Thanks again,
Jimmy

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We had such a wonderful experience in our travels to Montezuma and Luna Llena Hotel during our first trip in June 2009, that we definitely had to do it again...and we did in Jan 2010. This trip we stayed for 10 days instead of just a week and the hotel made us feel like we were family. Milly, Chris and their outstanding staff saw to our every needs and made wonderful suggestions for our daily activities like our hike to the Montezuma waterfall- awesome. We even took several surf lessons with Chris and while we will not become professional surfers, we had an absolute blast!! We definitely would choose Luna Llena Hotel over any of the others offered in the town. The Deitriechs

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDimitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Years and we had a great time! This is more of a backpackers place, so it's not for people who are looking for anything fancy. We really liked the location, the vibe of the place and the people. We stayed in room number 6, which have been refered to as the "honeymoon suite". We really liked our little hut - it had fantastic views and a patio area with a table and chairs were we had breakfast every morning looking at the ocean (and the monkeys jumping around). Our hut had a sink, but no toilet - you had to share that with a few other people.

On New Years Eve the owners put together a party at the hostel and gave out glow sticks to everyone. We then had a glow parade walking down to the town center where there was a huge street party, bands playing in the street and bonfires and fireworks at the beach. It was a blast!

Pros: Great staff, great location just outside of the bustling town center, nice views, good people, great monkey watching, you feel like you live in the jungle.

Cons: Very warm at night (despite the fan), bugs (you are OK if you sleep under the mosquito net), monkeys that keep you up at night, shared bathrooms.

Over all we were very happy that we stayed at Luna Llena during our visit to Montezuma, however, after 3 nights we were ready to move on to a more quiet place with airconditioning :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandB_MPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: £18 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luna Llena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing