We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Luna Llena! Staff are really helpful and friendly, the rooms are pretty nice (can be a bit pricey, especially in high season), we had ocean view so it was great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bio1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

this place was so nice. it's tucked away up the road from the main part of montezuma, which was nice for quiet. good exercise too walking up the hill! close to everything, but far away enough to relax. the rooms were great for the price. and for people who complain about bugs - why did you come to costa rica in the first place! the service was good, the communal kitchen was well equipped, and the view from the balcony of the ocean is to die for. my boyfriend and i paid $25 a night for the two of us, and i think it's well worth it. the owners, milly and chris are super nice, and helpful. everything thursday is a bbq, which was a great way to meet travelers from all over. i would recommend this place, and montezuma, for anyone who wants to chill out. perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danitravelgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Okay, I get it...you're in Costa Rica and can't expect your room to be perfectly bugless. However, at least have a mosquito net that reaches the edges of the mattress! There is about 2 inches between the wall and the slanted roof, so lots of neat little creepy crawlies get in there. We went for lunch, came back, and there were droppings on our bed. The sheets were dirty, and found several cockroaches. It was looooud because of people driving quads all night (our cabin was close to the street, ie the only one with a private bathroom). It was the second most expensive of all hotels of our one month stay in Costa Rica (after a 4 star resort) and probably one of the dirtiest. The only redeeming quality was the location was decent compared to other hotels in Montezuma. We switched to something closer (and quieter...and cheaper...and cleaner...) the following night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br00ke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

all in all a very nice place in montezuma.
its location is really cool as it really is in the middle of the rain forest and you can hear the waves from the beach at night.
the hotel staff was really helpful and organized some tours for us.

the room itself was ok. the mattress was a little bit thin and you could feel the spring but everything was relatively clean. the common shower and bathroom were clean and it didn't seem like we had to share them with too many other people.

we had a good time in the hotel Luna Llena and would recommend it to backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felix_win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at Luna Llena for 3 nights and would have liked to have seen the place before we booked it online. It is a great place for people who want to hang out with other travellers and who want a different kind of experience. The room was clean, but I wasn't thrilled to have to walk outside in the rain to go to the bathroom. Simple rooms. I thought it was a little overpriced for what you get, but overall a nice establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our experience at Luna Llena was mostly positive. The first night we arrived we stayed in a room above the common area which had a lovely deck looking out onto the Pacific. The room itself was simple, but had a desk, oscillating fan on the wall and open closet space with tons of shelves. Unfortunately the next night we were moved to the Honeymoon Suite...which, in the rainy season did not feel luxurious at all. The windows were covered by shutters, which were probably beautiful when opened in the high season (February), but in the rainy season the windows felt more like big, gaping holes (no screens, etc). The other rooms we stayed in (we moved 3 times) either had screens on the windows or were slatted windows. Overall, we had a lovely experience. The proximity to the town was great...just a short walk to the center of town. Personally, I liked the location of the hotel, but I can see how it might feel inconvenient for some.

The common area and kitchen were incredibly charming. The kitchen was the most unique we'd seen in Costa Rica, the walls were covered with beautiful blue tiles, and it was one of the most well-equipped kitchens we'd seen.

Bathrooms were clean, but none of them private. For rooms in the main building, bathrooms were easily accessible. For rooms off the main building, bathrooms were up a little path. I preferred the ceiling cover in the main building (especially in the rainy season...and it rained quite a bit!).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This little hotel was a great choice for our trip! We traveled with some of our family members and needed a clean, nice, but affordable place. We did have shared bathrooms, but it was just down the hall and there were not many other travelers. Our shared balcony with nice seating was a relaxing area to sit and watch the view. Howler monkeys would come near the rooms so you can see them up close, and one little monkey came up to the porch. The staff was great at telling us about the area and booked a nice in-room massage for me. Overall, I didn't much care for Montezuma, but if you're looking for a relaxing quiet place while there, this is it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing