We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap with great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
surrey, uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and that was just right for us. The views are stunning and the location is great - close to town but not in the thick of things. The rooms are very basic and because of the humidity the sheets are damp but the proximity to the wildlife makes up for that. We saw monkeys and tree iguanas and racoons. We also did a walk to the famous waterfall which is quite hard work but really worth the effort and was one of the highlights of our three week stay. You can self cater and there is coffee available all day. Do not stay in room 7 though - the one next to the kitchen. Reall great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    100
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
18
109
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We were looking to spend under $50 a night, be in the rain forest and in a small beach town. This place was perfect. The first night we were awoken at four a.m. With the loud sounds of howler monkeys. My trend immediately got us out with flashlights and cameras. We found monkeys, ant eaters, deer, and many other wildlife all steps from our front door.

Great free pancake breakfast. Clean pool and okay staff. It was very noise one night with loud music coming from a beach bar. No police in town so we could not sleep until the music ended at three a.m. Other then that, this was the perfect place to stay for those wishing to REALLY experience costa rica and it's adventure.

For video, search bluefive5 on YouTube.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed there our first out of three nights in Montezuma. We would have stayed longer, but unfortunately we didn't have a reservation and Luna Llena could accommodate us for one night only. Given the circumstances we stayed that night in the only room available- the most expensive one ( $ 55 for the double occupancy) . Maybe its wasn't the cleanest room we've stayed in, maybe its true all about the bugs, but the beauty we saw once it was morning was the priceless. Even if you stay in you room staring at the Ocean and listening the wildlife the entire day- its a treat. We loved it and it was hard to check out.
Communal kitchen area looked clean and nice, common area super relaxing.
The cleaning lady was also very friendly and a night guard as well.
The only downer is that if you have a car and you are not the only guest with it- there is no parking space provided by the hotel. Also there is no Internet-wi fi on the premises.


--

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We love this place and return here every year to recover from a harsh NE winter. The folks are so friendly and the atmosphere so relaxing. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Luna Llena! Staff are really helpful and friendly, the rooms are pretty nice (can be a bit pricey, especially in high season), we had ocean view so it was great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bio1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

this place was so nice. it's tucked away up the road from the main part of montezuma, which was nice for quiet. good exercise too walking up the hill! close to everything, but far away enough to relax. the rooms were great for the price. and for people who complain about bugs - why did you come to costa rica in the first place! the service was good, the communal kitchen was well equipped, and the view from the balcony of the ocean is to die for. my boyfriend and i paid $25 a night for the two of us, and i think it's well worth it. the owners, milly and chris are super nice, and helpful. everything thursday is a bbq, which was a great way to meet travelers from all over. i would recommend this place, and montezuma, for anyone who wants to chill out. perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danitravelgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Okay, I get it...you're in Costa Rica and can't expect your room to be perfectly bugless. However, at least have a mosquito net that reaches the edges of the mattress! There is about 2 inches between the wall and the slanted roof, so lots of neat little creepy crawlies get in there. We went for lunch, came back, and there were droppings on our bed. The sheets were dirty, and found several cockroaches. It was looooud because of people driving quads all night (our cabin was close to the street, ie the only one with a private bathroom). It was the second most expensive of all hotels of our one month stay in Costa Rica (after a 4 star resort) and probably one of the dirtiest. The only redeeming quality was the location was decent compared to other hotels in Montezuma. We switched to something closer (and quieter...and cheaper...and cleaner...) the following night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br00ke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 20 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 20 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 20 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 3 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Property: Luna Llena Hotel
Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing