We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in a jungle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful place surrounded by nature and wild life. The cabin is lovely and has everything we needed for our 4 day stay. Felt like we were in a paradise, waking up in the morning, getting a cup of tea, and just lay in the hammock watching howler and capuchin monkeys jumping around. Never wanted to leave!
Beach is only 3 min walk and Montezuma is 10-15 min drive. Montezuma is a great town situated right on the beach, has tons of small restaurants and cafés, and a bar. About an hour walk on the beach from Montezuma is Playa Grande, a beautiful deserted beach. A great place to spend a day, just bring lots of water, beer, and sandwiches. If you walk for another hour, you will find an amazing waterfall that comes down right into the ocean. Well worth the walk.
Cabuya is a short 5-10 min drive from Sol y Luna also has a store and a couple of restaurants. Also don't miss Cabo Blanco natural reserve which is only 10 min away. 2 hr hike to the beach might be a little tough in 90F but worth it.
Thank you Patricia and Simon for being such welcoming hosts and sharing a peace of paradise with us. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Perfect setting in a beautifully designed tropical property. Between busy/touristy Montezuma, and sleepy Cabuya, this feels very comfortable and well-situated. Patricia and Simon were always happy to help, without hovering. They were generous with their knowledge and suggestions, and provided lots of assistance re: travel. I HIGHLY recommend getting an ATV to explore the surrounding area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sol y Luna is a magical and beautiful place to stay. If you like quiet, remote locations, surrounded by nothing but beautiful nature and wildlife, this is the place for you. Patricia and Simon are perfect hosts and such lovely people. After a heavenly 5 nights here we moved to accommodation in Dominical, and although our new place was also stunning, we immediately wished we had stayed at Sol y Luna for our entire holiday and not moved at all. It was perfect for us. I was in two minds about writing a review, as this is the kind of place you want to keep secret (so it's more likely to be available next time you want to stay), but they really do deserve the review. My one recommendation would be that unless you want to rely on buses/taxis, hiring a car is realistically a must, as it's quite a hike to the nearest shops etc. We tried to do it once, it took a long time, and it was not easy in the heat of the day. With a car, you are close enough to everything you could need or want, but far enough away from it all for ultimate peace and unspoilt beauty. Simon and Patricia, if you read this, thank you again, and we really hope to visit your magical home again some day. Ross & Katie (UK) x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Solyluna was the perfect honeymoon. Quiet, relaxing, and a quick 5-minute walk to private beaches. Patricia and Simon was so helpful throughout the process. Getting from the airport in San Jose to Solyluna is quite the trek, but they will help you find a route that fits your style and needs. The bungalow (we stayed in beautiful Sol) contained everything you need and was perfectly styled, and Patricia and Simon helped with anything you needed! Unplugging for an entire week was exactly what I needed, and I'm forever thankful for the privilege to travel, to see another pocket of this world through the eyes of the beautiful people who take such pride in their landscape and culture. We found great joy in their simplistic lifestyle and were overwhelmed by the kindness and purity of their generous spirits - what rich lives they lead.

I highly recommend Solyluna to any traveler! Pure bliss.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eclairelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hi I stayed at solyluna back in jan 2014 and it was just perfect in every way.The cabina was clean quite set back into the jungle but felt very safe in the gated location.The wildlife was right at my doorstep and the sounds were unreal.I also traveled too other places while in costa rica but solyluna was the only place where i felt i was closest too nature.the location was Just far enough from town but not too far (I would run or bike too and from town daily).Patricia and simon where there for any ?s and were very helpfull. Dont know when but will be heading back sometime in the future. Wish I was there now!!!! OM

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 805mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Soly luna was just amazing simon & Patricia were so wonderful, they took extra time to give us a map with all the best spots you might otherwise miss. We just loved all the wildlife on their beautiful property, very private and secure. We can't wait to go back.
Monkeys everywhere!!
And Lola the cat was very sweet as well

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclipticbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We fell in love with Sol y Luna when we first visited last year and have just returned from our second visit. I doubt that there is another spot quite like it. The two secluded bungalows sit in a beautiful jungle garden. They are perfectly designed and thoughtfully equipped, with interesting decorative touches, such as a bathroom mirror framed in branches, a shell (rather than bead) curtain at one end of the deck, and a colorful hammock, We love the simplicity of life at Sol y Luna, listening to the howler monkeys and the birds early in the morning, watching the capuchin monkeys eat our fruit scraps, waiting for visits from the resident agouti and coatimundi, and being greeted at night by a roving group of small, politely inquisitive raccoons. The owners, Patricia and Simon, are wonderful hosts who will make sure you have everything you need. If you're looking for tranquility and the sensual lushness of a beautifully landscaped garden in the jungle, Sol y Luna is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#4 of 28 in Montezuma
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Between Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range: £37 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing