We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Tajalin
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First of all I would recommend to go to and stay in Santa Teresa (approx. 30 Minutes away from Montezuma). Montezuma is really small and maybe okay for a one day trip but I really do not understand the hype around this village (maybe it was "in" 20 years ago but I think that's over). The beaches are so much nicer in and around Santa Teresa, long white-sanded beaches as in a catalogue. Food and accomocation in Montezuma are over priced, Hotel Santana was okay but pretty old furniture, airconditioning was too loud and our private bathroom was in a separate room (at least on the same level). I just regret that we didn't stay in Santa Teresa instead of Montezuma (change of booking was unfortunately not possible anymore because of Easter week - everything was full).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just left Montezuma after two weeks at El Tajalin. I am normally a bit of a hotel snob but for the price that we paid Hotel El Tajalin exceed our expectations. The hotel staff, Gabriel, Jeremy, Dennis, Gina, and the rest were awesome. Very helpful, courteous and really enhanced our Montezuma experience. The upstairs common space is great. A couple of nits... The kitchen could use some updating, silverware, new pots and pans, etc to make cooking and eating in easier. Fixing the fans upstairs would also be great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Booked in for 4 days at this place they call a hotel should be a hostel and for the money you pay you can get a cleaner and nicer room and a swimming pool just round the corner.! We spent the evening out having a meal and when we got back to the hotel there safe number had been changed and the bathroom door was locked from the inside so someone must or been in the room.! As well as the bedbugs in the dirty bed (booked out the next morning)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redeye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked here for 4 nights and paid upfront! As soon as we saw the room we immediately changed our minds, it was expensive, dirty and the room stunk really bad! We demanded a refund which didn't go down well! Eventually we agreed on staying 1 nite and had the rest refunded! We decided 2 go out 4 dinner and wen we got back the bathroom door was locked?! Also the combination 4 the safe had been changed?! Not feeling very safe, some1 had definitely been in our room!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_El_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Karen,

I appreciate your review because if nothing else, it helps us evaluate how to deal with adverse situations and I feel I handled this badly when we spoke on your way out. I apologize for not just listening and understanding your point of view but to be honest, I felt insulted.

You eventually said you did not like the price you had agreed to, even though you chose a family room for just a couple. The price is higher than our standard rooms because it is much larger and has 2 additional beds (although still $20 less than all neighboring hotels with 3 bed family rooms and A/C). I agree that that was not the room for you. But when you said you didn't like the room because it smelled (which it does not) and we showed you another room of equal size and amenities, you then said that room was too dark (there are 4 ceiling lights, 2 lamps and 2 windows, so I don't believe that is the case either). At that point, it was obvious that you just wanted out. We gave you a refund for the final three nights to allow you to move to where you could be more comfortable. No worries.

Next time in this type of situation, it's best to just be honest and things will go more smoothly. But to insult and offend and now to continue slandering us because you reserved a room that wasn't right for you is unfair. I hope you can learn from this as well and treat your next adverse situation with better communication and sincerity. Best of luck to you and your traveling partner in all future endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Central location. We arrived late after 12 hours of traveling. It was cheap but the room we stayed in was very poor so we left again the next day and moved to a different hotel. Get what you pay for I guess !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The cleaners were lovely and so welcoming. They were so good at their job and had a wonderful way with towels!(the elephant sculpture out of the towel was the best!) the reception staff were lovely as well! Overall a very nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilidhElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hotel helped make the trip to Montezuma and was the favorite one I stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Centrally located and quiet, it had a/c, private baths and very reliable hot water. During the few moments we weren't hiking, surfing, or sitting on the beach - we enjoyed reading and napping in the hammocks on the huge top floor lounge. The kitchen was useful (and clean) when we took a break from eating at the great restaurants (all within a block or two). Mix that in with the fun and friendly people from La Escuela Del Sol and you can see why I'm coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PdxRyRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
0.1 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
81 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: £48 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Tajalin 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with a fully equipped kitchen for guests and cable-TV. VISA and MASTERC CARD accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing