We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really recommend for a cheaper option”
Review of Vista Drake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Drake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really recommend for a cheaper option”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have to state here at the start that we took a bus from San Jose down to Palmar, but accidentally traveled past Palmar and got of at a town of Golfito. We had our room booked for the night at drake bay already and diving for the next morning so we were in trouble. We went straight to nearest bar were the bartender spoke english, since we don't speak spanish, and asked to call to Vista Drake Lodge. He did and we spoke with the owner Emilio who arranged us an alternative route to Drake Bay. Instead of going via Sierpe as originally planned we took a speed boat from Golfito to Puerto Jimenez from where Emilio had arranged a taxi for us to a town of La Palma. From there we took a bus to Drake Bay and arrived shortly after the sun went down. But we made it.

Emilio, and the rest of the staff, was very kind and helpful the whole of our 4 night stay. He took care of booking diving, snorkeling, kayaking, trekking and horseback riding trips as well as pointers to where to eat and such. The room was on top of the yard and kitchen and the walls were very thin so we missed no sounds. For us though this was no problem because we basically just slept there. In the room was 1 double bed wiht a mosquito net, 2 fans, 2 chairs and a bathroom with hot shower. Basically all necessities. Emilio also let me charge my camera from his computer and borrowed us an adapter for our Scandinavian electric plug.

Breakfast was included every day with coffee, juice, water, fruits, rice+beans, and pancakes or fried eggs and toast.

We really enjoyed our stay and I recommend this for everyone who travel with backpacks and don't care about champagne and room service. Location is also quite nice. It is not on the beach but only a minute walk from there. As some other cheaper accommodations were a bit farther inland.

Regards: Matti

Room Tip: Ours was in the main house, but in the pictures you can see some balconies and views. Ask for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diqpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    28
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
61
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Vista Drake it´s a family bussines made with a lot of love, energy and passion for what they do! We had a great time and we enjoyed a lot there with their company, Emilio is always ready for giving a good service, Elbert its a great guide, and also their father (the first guy in bahia drake) was very kind taking us for a trip with their boat and telling us how was that place before the national park was there...

We stayed in the blue tent with a great view and very peaceful... perfect for those ones who are looking for a budget option with no luxury but very beautiful still. The breakfast was very good too, and the service of fresh water and coffee it´s a good detail too!

Thanks Vista Drake!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Estefania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband booked a cabin at Vista Drake for 3 nights, we ended up there for 6 and wished we could have stayed longer. The place may still have some construction happening, as mentioned by other reviews, but I did not know it... there was no construction noise or equipment that I could see. Emilio did say that they were working on replacing some structure and adding to the existing services.

The local owned and run establishment has several rooms / cabins / tents / bungalows, all with different amenities. Tell Emilio what type and price you are looking for, and they probably have it. The rooms are clean and each is unique. Ours had polished wood floors, and a kitchen! We ended up with a large bungalow up the steep stairs.... so worth the daily hike. We had visits each morning from all the wildlife while sitting on our deck (or in the hammocks). One morning a monkey even "swung" by. The ocean is just the right distance away, and the town starts up at sunrise, but we wanted too too! Every day we just patted ourselves on the back for finding the best place to stay in the area.

A nice breakfast is served every day as part of the price, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs, cakes, gallo pinto are offered.

This is a local family who runs this business and will set you up with night tours, or wildlife tours guided by one of the brothers, Albert, in Corocovado park. We also did a snorkel tour, and took a few boat shuttles for one way hikes.

Emilio helped us make arrangements and provided us with suggestions for the rest of our trip. All in English! (I am working on my Spanish though!)

I highly recommend this place to all real travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Vista Drake is a family-operated bed & breakfast located in the village of Drake Bay. There are a variety of rooms ranging from a tent on a platform to a private cabina with a fantastic view of the bay. The owners are very friendly, and we felt very welcome. They also helped us get the most out of our Osa experience, including a great nature hike in Corcovado, a night hike in primary rain forest and a SCUBA trip to Cano Island. Since the lodge is in town, we heard some noise. At 5:00 am the locals are driving to work on their motorcycles, so that got us up in time to watch the myriad birds we could see in the treetops off our deck. If you need posh luxury and have deep pockets, look elsewhere. If you want a cost-effective, comfortable, relaxed, fun-filled experience with the locals, this is your place.

Room Tip: It's best to call and talk to Emelio or Albert, as all the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at Vista Drake Lodge for 3 nights in January, 2013. We REALLY liked the place and weren't ready to leave. Yes the place is under constructon and when you first walk up to the registration area, you wonder what you are in for. But if you overlook this issue, you will be in for a great experience. It's all about controlling your expectations. The price is very reasonable, and you get what you pay for. We took the boat over from Sierpe, which in itself is an adventure. Our guide book said that it was a gravel road from the main road over to Sierpe, but this was not true. The road was fine and an easy drive. Your water taxi will drop you on the shore (no dock) and Emilio the owner will graciously haul your luggage up the street to the hotel. The cost of the water taxi is about $20 per person and you can leave your rental car in a secure lot for for just a few dollars per day. We had an upper cabin with a balcony and hammock, with an incredible view of the ocean. You would go to sleep at night with the sounds of the waves crashing. It was VERY BASIC -- no air conditioning, poor lighting, fairly awful beds, a very simple room. Again, the comparison to summer camp. Emilio serves breakfast every morning. You'll get fruit, eggs, toast, fresh juice and coffee. There are several restaurants in the little town that are good -- particularly Marcella's. Emlio will also arrange any excursions you want to take. There are hiking trails that go into the jungle and lead to the beach that are just beautiful. Another downside is that as the town grows, more residents have acquired motorcycles and ATVs and they tend to be VERY loud. However, this stops fairly early in the evening. Unfortunately, you are also subject to being woke up by some of the local dogs barking in the middle of the night. All in all, we just loved it. We are seasoned travelers who typically prefer the Marriott type of hotels. But this just had the feel of a frontier town and it was great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin up on the hill next to the big gazebo. But remember ther will be lots of steps as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyS148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is a construction site right now with only 2 rooms.
Termites had eaten up the whole house and the owner needs to fix the house step by step.
It is a very basic place and the rooms are not nice. there is no real get-togehter area.
We would not recommend going there. Although we had the hotels already booked and paid
through Hotels.com, we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naddel_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at Vista Drake Lodge during 5 nights during christmas 2012. We had a bungalow for the family of 5 with an excellent view of the bay and with a nice breeze during evenings. Emilio, responsible of thi family owned place treated us very well and arranged our trips to Corcovado and to Isla Cano where we saw dolphins, sharks and a stingray (among all the other colourful fish). The place is in the center of the main playa, well situated with good access to the eating places of the village. The bungalow and its terrace was just the perfect place to relax. Emilio and his brothers made our stay an excellent one

Room Tip: Búngalo Drake is excellent, but Emilio is adding other bungalows as well, he mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nytorget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 19 in Drake Bay
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Indigenas de Drake
Cabinas Indigenas de Drake
#16 of 45 in Drake Bay
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 19 in Drake Bay
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 19 in Drake Bay
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
#10 of 19 in Drake Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Drake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Drake Lodge

Property: Vista Drake Lodge
Address: Bahia Drake | 150 metros este de la escuela drake, 50603, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Drake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista Drake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Drake Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing