We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in all the world!”
Review of Hotel El Perezoso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Perezoso
Ranked #32 of 50 Osa Peninsula B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We've been traveling all over CR yearly since 1997, and El Perezoso is by far our favorite place. We return each trip, and have cut short visits to the Osa and other spots to get back there ASAP! I could go on and on about how beautiful it is, how spotlessly clean and comfortable the rooms, how spectacular the views, how friendly, helpful and accomodating the people...
The location, on a hill overlooking the Pacific, gets lovely cool breezes. No problems with insects (and I'm always the one who attracts them!) so we left our windows and door open all night, listening to the faint sound of the waves and waking to the songs of the many birds and occasional monkeys.
The area has everything you could want, from deserted beaches and waterfalls, horseback riding, sea kayaking and surfing to gourmet (yet amazingly inexpensive) restaurants. Watching the sun set over the ocean from the pool with a glass of wine-- just doesn't get better than that!
I'm so happy we found El Perezoso, and can't wait til February to get there!

Room Tip: I always love the tower room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

my boyfriend and i were in costa rica in march. we were with another couple and their baby. we decided to spend the night somewhere in the area that was nice and could accommodate our group. we looked at a number of hotels that we didn't really like when it was getting late and we stumbled upon el perezoso. when we got out of the car and walked in the doorway we all gasped at the beauty that was in front of us. it was gorgeous! the view is breathtaking. we got two rooms and kept pinching ourselves to make sure it was real. the owner was so sweet. breakfast the next day was delicious. we were sad that we only had one day to spend there...but we will def be back!!!!!

Room Tip: the top tower room is heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curliqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

What a great place to relax and take in an outstanding view from the pool. Very friendly. And so many things to explore nearby. My husband and I visited a couple near by beaches that we nearly had to ourselves. Swam 2 waterfalls, rented sea kayaks, toured the mangroves...all the awesome things about Costa Rica and Hotel El Perezoso was a great home base for it all. They gave us suggestions of where to go, helped us make reservations, and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My sisters and my parents have all stayed in this lovely retreat of a b&b during trips to Costa Rica, and last year my husband and I finally had the chance to enjoy this wonderful place.

I studied in Costa Rica during college and had the chance to travel and see quite a bit of the country then, but mainly on the beaten path. The Hotel El Perezoso is in an incredible part of the county that is undisturbed by mass tourism. The hotel itself seems like it is usually found by word of mouth. There was only one other couple there during our stay. We called to book our stay, but I think they were updating the website at the time.

The best way to enjoy the area is to have a car. We spent most of our time hanging out on the Tortuga Beach (the closest - about 1.5 miles) or Ventana Beach (2.5 miles away with some cool caves). But this whole part of the coast is dotted of little beaches that you can have all to yourself on most days of the week.

Terry, the owner, provided great recommendations for places for dinner and drinks in the village at night. For being a sleepy, little village it has a good mix of cuisine to pick from, reflecting the mix of Tico and European ex-pat folks who live there. Our favorite was Citrus, a nicer fine dining type place.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is beautiful. Perfect for watching the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Roz and Terry are great hosts. The view from the upstairs room is spectacular!

Stayed: January 2010
Thank stefv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We booked our stay at the Perezoso via internet, just to have a place to spend the night before taking a boat to the Osa peninsula next day. But when we left, we were sorry indeed that we could not stay longer. The place is splendidly situated near the top of a hillside, with a stunning view of the Pacific - particularly at sunset. The building is quite charming, well kept in a rustic fashion by the english owners. Our room - or rooms, as we had a double one on the ground floor - was large and clean, with a bathroom in between. Undoubtedly the "best buy" during our 15 days in Costa Rica.

I doubt that the place gets many visitors who have not booked in advance, because you have to spend some time just to find it. There was no sign at the highway, so we missed it twice until we finally tried the local road to the village of Ojochal. There, on a stretch of road in (apparently) the middle of nowhere, we happened to discover a side road, and after a short while a sign announcing the presence of Hotel El Perezoso.

The area is nice and quiet, off the beaten track among forest and pastures. We were the hotel's only guests. Owner Rosa told us that this year was very quiet indeed, because the world financial crisis made the North Americans skip their holiday and stay home instead.

We did not have time to explore the surroundings in any detail, but the ornithologically minded may note that a short morning stroll around the place revealed a varied bird life, including Lineated Woodpecker, Red-lored Parrot (amazon), Cherrie's Tanager, and in one of the trees beside the pool even a bird of prey, a Yellow-headed Caracara with one of its young. A cabinet crammed with books revealed the owner's fascination for nature, and was open for visitors to use.

The kids loved the pool between the house and the lawn, from where we had a wonderful view of the sun disappearing into the ocean. Rosa told us that she did not serve dinner, but carefully instructed us how to find some of several places to eat in nearby Ojochal, just some minutes away by car. In the dark, the place seemed almost too quiet, until we occasionally found among the trees the very place where all the people had gathered - a very special outdoor pizza restaurant. Fabulous pizza, but unfortunately I do not remember the name of the place. But it seemed to be very well known among the locals and guests at the hotels in the area.

The laid-back, homely atmosphere of Hotel El Perezoso fits its name well ("the Sloth"), and the place definitely is worthy of a longer stay than our one night visit. A hidden gem - if you can find it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il y a 6 chambres toutes donnent sur la terrasse et la piscine, avec la vue sur l'ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Savasonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#9 of 11 in Golfito
29 reviews
0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
204 reviews
0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
239 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Perezoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Perezoso

Address: Playa Tortuga Ojochal | Costa Ballena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Playa Tortuga in Costa Ballena on the South Pacific Coast, where the mountains meet the sea, discover the hidden paradise of Hotel El Perezoso. Situated in a lush, tropical setting, with panoramic sea and mountain views, this charming, 6 bedroom, hilltop hotel has an inbuilt tranquility, which is why it's name perhaps aptly translates as "The Lazy One" However, we can also offer an amazing range of activities and tours including hiking, zip lining, whale and dolphin watching, turtle patroling, sports fishing, snorkeling, diving, surfing, kayaking, white water rafting and waterfall canyoning, to name but a few, that will satisfy the most energetic and adventurous of guests.Surrounded by amazing scenery, pristine un-spoilt beaches, beautiful waterfalls and rivers and an incredible diversity of plants, birds and animals, all bathed in tropical sunshine. El Perezoso and Playa Tortuga have it all!We have all the ingredients you need to make a holiday of a lifetime and you can chose how energetic or lazy you want to be! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Perezoso Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing